We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Do not miss this wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Inside The Volcano

Inside The Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
$441.72*
and up
Inside the Volcano: Small Group Thrihnukagigur Hike and Tour from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Journey towards the centre of the earth. Descend 120 meters into the dormant Thrihnukagigur volcano in Iceland.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Wymondham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Do not miss this wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

It is the only one in the world where you can see the wonderful colours of the rocks as you are lowered very smoothly and slowly to the bottom of the volcano to explore the magma chamber, and to touch the rocks. It is a "WOW". A great experience.
Firstly let me re-assure everyone you have a knowledgable guide with you at every stage of this adventure.
Guide 1. It takes about 50/60 mins. to walk across the flat, but uneven lava field with brief stops. One stop lets you walk or jump across the 2 tetonic plates (straddle is best for photo). Great fun.
Guide 2. Serves tasty lamb soup and coffee. (toilets on site)
Guide 3. Kits you out with harness and helmet.
Guide 4. Takes you uphill to the opening of the volcano and clips your harness to rails of the bridge.
Guide 5. Harness you to cradle/lift and descends with you.
The first guide is with you inside the magma chamber.
Expensive. Yes, but worth every krona as it is a unique opportunity to see and appreciate our world below the earth. We are in our late 60s and loved every minute. The joy of doing this trip stayed with us for days..

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Audrey787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,031
    148
    30
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unforgettable experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is truly a unique opportunity as Thrihnukagigur is the only place on earth where you can go inside a magma chamber! In fact, I was told that more people have been into outer space than inside a volcano (although I’m sure statement will change in a few years as more people book this tour).

The walk to the volcano takes at least an hour – you are walking through a lava field and at one point you cross the continental divide (which was amazing!). Since you’re not walking over a flat surface it’s recommended to wear comfortable and sturdy footwear. Also, if you’re a bit of a slow walker don’t worry – the guides won’t leave you behind… while waiting for you to catch up they will use the opportunity to tell facts about the volcano, Iceland, etc... which allows others extra time to take pictures of the beautiful landscape. Also, about the walk: I’ve read some reviews about how the hike can be difficult, but during my tour there were several people that looked like they could be older than my own grandparents – heck, Yoko Ono was able to make the journey, and she’s 79.

In addition to a camera, you might also want to bring your cell phone, because when you arrive at base camp there’s free WiFi! I actually used the opportunity to do a FaceTime call with my father, and he sure thought it was neat to be able to see what I was seeing in real time – the views are breathtaking. I was also able to “check-in” on Facebook which was cool, because, how many of your Facebook friends have ever checked into a volcano? Probably none…

Not everyone descends into the volcano at once – they take you down in groups of four (one group enters, and another group leaves), and everyone gets time to explore/take pictures. I’d recommend taking as many pictures as possible – and don’t be afraid to ask one of the guides to snap a pic of you so you can have proof that you were inside a volcano. Something else to note about picture taking: there was water dripping down, so you might want to invest in a rainsleeve if you have a DLSR camera that you don’t want to get wet (I actually got a sleeve off of Amazon for fewer than 10 bucks).

When you exit the volcano make sure to grab yourself a bowl of Icelandic Soup that’s waiting for you at base camp – the soup can give you a bit of energy for the hike back. Plus it was very good!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina0875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“The trip was extrordinary, magnificent and adventurous.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Despite the really bad weather, rain and fog, we had a great adventure visiting the volcano! The hike gave us a feeling of the landscape, although we did not see more than five metres ahead. It was wonderfoul to arrive at the base camp, getting a hot soup and preapering for the unknown. The descendance down into the cave was extrordinary and amazing. The shapes and the colours were beautiful and surprising. It was a peak experience on our trip to Iceland.
Lise (50) and Ask (14)
Norway

Helpful?
Thank Liseho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, fascinating and breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Heard about this opportunity by chance and decided to go for it. It was absolutely amazing to enter the volcano and be guided by excellent guides. So professional, so smooth and a memory for life. Iceland got a new dimension when you can move from watching the volcanos from the outside to enter one of them and study it from the inside. Wonderful and exclusive experience that I can highly recommend. One more reason to go to Iceland, and maybe the best reason.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank everdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“You must do this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Yes, the walk to the volcano is difficult, but they are planning upgrades.
Yes, this is moderately overpriced, but once you are in the magma chamber, it is all worth it!
staff was excellent, stew excellent.
This is once in a lifetime, you must do it!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Inside The Volcano also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Inside The Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing