We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a single thing that needs improvement.”
Review of Hotel Hilda

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Hilda
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't think of a single thing that needs improvement.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We took a bit of a chance with this one as there weren't many reviews online but it was fantastic. We arrived early and got into our room right away and was offered (free) breakfast! The hotel is in a quiet neighbourhood but only a few minutes walk from the main part of town where the tourist info centre is and also a few minutes from the old harbour. The hotel has been recently renovated and everything is clean and new. All the staff we met were incredibly helpful and friendly. Breakfast was "continental" but had a good selection of meat, cheese and salmon as well as cereal and fruit. I really can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthernKat01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    55
    21
    3
    3
See reviews for
23
71
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woolwich, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Beautifully restored traditional house very near the Marina on a small street. Close enough to walk for shopping and restaurants. Rooms are small but wonderful simple Icelandic style. The staff were absolutely delightful. The first night we arrived at 1 am and a wonderful young woman was there to welcome us, and on the day we left on a 6am bus, a delightful couple bundled us off with hot coffee and a fresh packed breakfast for the ride. We felt at home and like we had new friends.

Room Tip: The upper floors are great, very quiet, the last night we had a basement room which did have some st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crowmire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

A nice small hotel in Reikjavik centre, excellently located and with a extremely kind service. I've been twice there this summer, in different rooms, and both of them were small but very comfortable, immaculate clean and looked brand new. The two receptionists I met are so kind and helpful that you'd spend all the morning talking with them (we were a mother and a child and they wanted to open the kitchen by night to prepare something for him). I loved it, and I can't wait to go back to that wonderful city to sleep again in Hotel Hilda. Iceland rules!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barcelonaconnection
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed here June 2012 for 3 nights when the other location we had planned to stay was overbooked at the last minute and were very happy with our stay. The hotel is newly renovated (parts of it were still being renovated when we were there), bright, and clean. The staff were very helpful and friendly, recommended places to eat and reserved a table for us nearby. Located on a nice quiet street a 5 minute walk to lots of restaurants and shops.

The only negative for us was that the breakfast room was a little small and cramped. However it does look like they are finishing an outdoor patio and may have other plans to expand it once renovations are complete, so this could be a non-issue in the near future. The breakfast itself and coffee were both very good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike9632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#19 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,747 reviews
City Center Hotel
#29 of 52 in Reykjavik
777 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centerhotel Midgardur
#11 of 52 in Reykjavik
571 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#13 of 52 in Reykjavik
378 reviews
Eyja Guldsmeden Hotel
#5 of 52 in Reykjavik
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hilda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hilda

Property: Hotel Hilda
Address: Barugata 11, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hilda 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Hilda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing