We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Quality stay in Reyjavik centre”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of GrayTower101

Seating for eight in dining room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Seating for eight in dining room
Baby chair in dining room The open dining room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
69 reviews
Seating for eight in dining room
Baby chair in dining room
The open dining room
Lovely seating area
The kitchen with all appliances
View in living room
Living room with sofa beds
Living and dining room
Balcony with view to the sea
View from living room window
View from balcony
The largest bedroom (beds can be joined together)
Bedroom (beds can be joined together)
Larger bedroom with baby crib
Laundry room with washer and dryer
Smaller bathroom with shower
Larger bathroom with separate shower and bath
Bathroom
Bathroom
The apartment building
The surrounding of the Black and GrayTowers apartments downtown Reykjavík
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Reykjavik, Capital Region

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 69 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
NetnPete
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quality stay in Reyjavik centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Perfect location and top quality spacious apartment in Reyjavik.

3 comfortable bedrooms with facitities for a little person (under 2).

Top quailty kitchen.

Great TVs and other down time relaxing areas.

All put together with the guest in mind.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The space and quailty
Liked least: only stayed for 3 nights
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
We have tried to do everything we could think of for our guests as we want them to be as comfortable as possible and your comments tell us that we are on the right track!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EB12
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful apartment in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We had a wonderful time in Iceland and loved our stay at Graytower101! We were three adults (two sisters and our mum) and found the apartment spacious and well laid out. The kitchen is well appointed and the bathrooms clean, modern and functional. The location is fabulous - easy walking distance to lots of great restaurants, a grocery store, and everything else you could need. The owners were super helpful as well - they were able to accomodate our early arrival and sent us the keys ahead of time so that getting into the apartment was easy (which was must appreciated after an over-night overseas flight).

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
Indeed the location can´t be beaten! Thank you for taking the time to comment on our apartment, we really appreciate all feedback from our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fo2graf
Kirkenes
1 review
“My Students and I...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

The school trip with my students this year went to Iceland. Our starting point was Reykjavik.

Gray Tower 101... What a wonderful place to stay. The apartment was perfect and so was the location, with easy access by car, and walking distance to the city center. We really enjoyed the stay.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Wonderful apartment, perfect location.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2013
So happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to make our guests feel welcome and at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryW30
Wigan, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“High spec, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We were a party of 8 (including a baby) and the apartment was perfect for us. The decor is modern, it is comfortable and warm. Exactly as advertised.

Very good location too. It is a 2 minute walk from Laugavegur (which is a lively street of shops and restaurants), and it is less than 10 min walk from Austurvollur (which would probably be regarded as centre of Reykjavik).

Also the apartment has free Wifi which is useful.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2013
You are quite right about the location,you can easily walk to almost anything you would want to explore in the city.

Thank you for your nice comments on the decor, we have tried to do our best so our guests feel at home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petra D
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
“Home abroad at a perfect spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in the apartment with 8 Persons. It fitted perfect, even the foldout sofa for sleeping was comfortable. The second bathroom is really small, i.e. if you shower the whole room incl. toilet is wet. But it was still good to have a second bathroom with 8 persons ;o)

The kitchen had only one big, one small pot and one pan - which gave us quite a bit of a challenge to cook for 8 people.

Apart from that, the apartment was perfect!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Very nicely done up apartment
Liked least: Shower in the second bathroom and relatively few pots to cook for 8 persons
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We have bought more pots and pans after your comment as we want our guests to be as comfortable as possible.

We agree on the smaller bathroom! But we decided to put in the shower even though the space is a little tight as we find it very useful when many people are staying there.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnneinVT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great, homey apartment and quiet yet accessible location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Stayed here with my kids and we truly enjoyed it. The owners were sure to keep contact and make everything easy for us, even when we screwed up the cable tv! Very comfortable apartment and very well equipped. Decorated lovely. Can't think of anything we would improve upon.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Lovely apartment. Cozy and stylish yet very comfortable.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2013
We are only too pleased to assist our guests in any way, screw up or not! So happy you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise P
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very comfortable apartment in great location with accomodating owners.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Very comfortable apartment in great location with accomodating and well organized owners. Would love to go to Iceland again and would certainly rent this unit.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, two bathrooms, modern appearance, Sandholt Bakery.
Liked least: Unit could use a set of good cooking knives.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 27, 2013
Thank you for writing your review and we welcome you back anytime.

You are quite right, the location of the apartment is great, within walking distance to practically everything worth exploring in the city.

There is also ample parking, free of charge.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing