We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sometimes you eat the bear, and sometimes, well, he eats you.”
Review of Lebowski bar

Lebowski bar
Ranked #72 of 483 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Come grab a beer, delicious burger, milkshake or try our specialty 'White Russian'! Happy hour 4-7 pm. #LebowskiBar The weekly Movie-Quiz always on Thursdays from 9-11pm. Bottom line Lebowski bar is a great mainstream bar where you can meet fellow travelers and have a drink with locals. We welcome groups up to 300 for food and drink. We have four different areas that can accommodate any group size. Please inquire us with email and we will respond quickly.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sometimes you eat the bear, and sometimes, well, he eats you.”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

To lovers of the film: a place where everything IS Lebowski, from the fixtures to the drinks, DOES exist!

Had an absolutely smashing time here with friends. Great crowd of locals, the best White Russians, glorious tunes and, the coup de grace, Big Lebowski constantly on the silver screen.

While you can't hurl your bowling ball down the lane (as it's on the wall, rather than the floor) take your chances on the spinning wheel behind the bar. Maybe you'll win a round for the lads...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afnowak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    507
    166
    28
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best ever cheese burger !”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Don't be put off by the exterior, happy hour was 5-7 pm it's 2-4-1 on wine and beer. In Iceland that makes the price much more reasonable. We had burgers and chips, honestly they were the best burger. Give it a go.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank tjaWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun bar”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

When I saw this was a Big Leboswki themed bar, I had to go in.

I can be a bit crowded on the weekends, but the service was decent.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KimKimmah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

It may have been the staff that evening, but we walked out after 5 minutes. Staff seemed uninterested, bar was eerie feeling, and our menus were dirty and covered in sauce. we walked up to order our food, and the staff literally looked at us, and walked away from the till .Such a shame as we read good reviews here, and in the WOW air magazine, but would never return after this experience.
So many more welcoming places with excellent food within a stones throw of this place. I would pass it by.u

  • Visited December 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Fantastic find.”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

On the main street in a great location. Happy hour fro 4-7 every day. Cost around £5.50 for a beer and a wine. We had two drinks and a burger and fries each and bill was only about £20. Great music. Would recommend a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IJMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lebowski bar also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Lebowski bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing