We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“30th birthday celebrations” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hansen Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hansen Apartments
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“30th birthday celebrations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I have just returned from Iceland where we celebrated, as a family, my youngest daughter's 30th birthday.
We stayed at the Hansen apartments for a long weekend (Fri-Mon).
The place was spotless, very close to central Rekyavik and easy to find and access.
Our host was extremely helpful and friendly, helped us out with good restaurants open on easter weekends. The kitchen was full of everything we could possibly need to get us going.
I would have no problem in recommending this place to anyone.
Thankyou.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Max6053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a long weekend. Really perfect place for us - family of 5 adults. It was cost effective compared to hotels and located 10-15 mins from the city centre. Some things were even closer, including sites and restaurants. The apartment was spacious, clean and perfectly prepared - many key things including some food were provided. We bought supplies at Bonus. The shower was hot and rainfall style. The owner was friendly and helpful but discrete. The phone pre-arranged to dial his mobile with any questions was a lovely touch. Easy parking for free. Great quality free wifi. Big flat screen tv with many uk channels. The sheets were lovely and soft and the place was always warm!! Really couldn't think of anything else that might have made it better. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
294 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

What a delightful place to say. Great location, great service, great amenities, great hosts. Can’t say enough about it. Tryggvi is the owner/manager and he was wonderful to work with. Responsive to our e-mails in the days leading up to our stay and just a delight to interact with while there. We told him about the various activities we had planned and when we told him about our trip for the Northern Lights, he brought us a weather forecast and update on the prospects of seeing them. The icing on the cake, he brought us a box of Icelandic chocolates on Christmas Eve.

We had the lower level or garden apartment. Very spacious. Wonderful kitchen amenities. Dine in kitchen. Everything you need to cook as much as you wish. I love to cook and had all of the utensils and appliance. They even stocked a few things like orange juice, some tea and cereal. We replaced what we used as a courtesy. Great living room space. The bedroom was fine, but the bed was a bit soft for me and I woke with a backache each morning. Minor inconvenience. Bathroom is a bit tight for two, but tub and stand-up shower combo work.

The location is perfect. Away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but easy walking distance to everything. And we walked everywhere!!!! If we were to return, we would definitely stay here and I recommend you do as well.

Room Tip: The garden apartment was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were in Reykjavik with Christmas 2013!
It was great to be there with 2 families, both families with 4 people.
Xmas @ Reykjavik is beautiful and relaxed. Every where there is lit up decoration!
To make your stay comfortable and pleasant, we do advice Hansen apartments!
The apartments are spacious, well laid out and have all the utilities you need for a great place to stay. We stayed on the 1st and 2nd floor and the apartments are identical.
Spacious living and dining rooms, two double bedrooms with more than enough room in a huge closet and space for your suitcases. The kitchen is well equipped and well thought of on what is needed.
The location of the Hansen apartment is perfect! Just a 5-minute walk from the main shopping streets, many restaurants and pubs of Reykjavik. To go from the apartment to the other side of town, going by all kinds of great shops, ranging form Iceland style clothing, jewelry and other shops, is a 20-minute walk.
The apartment is also close to the main roads of Reykjavik: day trips can be made easily (by car)
Many of the great Iceland attractions are just 40-60 minutes drive (Pingvelliir, Blue lagoon, Glymur, Selfoss & international airport). Kev & Geysir are @ least 2 hours away. All really depends on the weather conditions and the effects on the roads.
Very shopping can be done close to the apartment at a local supermarket, just a few minutes away, at the beginning of the shopping street. It is our advise to go to the larger supermarkets by cars: Iceland is not a cheap place to do shopping and the bigger stores have everything and the price is a little better than the local store.
The apartment has free Wifi, a great satellite 40" TV, comfortable couch and easy sitting chairs.
The dining table can sit 8 people easily!
The shower is spacious and has a regular showerhead and a "big stands 2 people" shower head. The heating throughout the apartment is comfortable and well set up.
We plan to go back to Iceland in summer and for sure will stay @ Hansen Apartments again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJJr1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

We chose this apartment based on previous reviews and we were not disappointed. The owner was extremely helpful and accommodating, ensuring that we'd got our bearings and recommending good places to eat. The apartment was spacious, light, clean and well equipped. It was well placed in a quiet area but close to shops, bars and restaurants. We would certainly stay here again and highly recommend this accommodation. The flybus and excursion buses pick up/drop off at Eric the Red, just up the road. Perfect really.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineAnne_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We saw reviews and decided to book. We were not disappointed. The apartment was excellent, clean, spacious, and well equipped. The owner was fantastic and the location is perfect. You are 5 mins walk from the main shopping street. We will recommend it to everyone.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adamogpernille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a great stay at the Hansen Apartments. It was easy to get into even without someone letting us in, as we were given a code. The property is lovely and well maintained, and we loved our one bedroom apartment. There is free wifi, which is a bonus! The owner is super nice and we couldn't recommend this place highly enough!!! It is very close to the bus station and, if you don't have much luggage, you could walk. Taxis are very expensive in Iceland - in fact, everything is! We were able to walk into the town centre, and the main street, where you'll find the stores, is just up the road, literally a few minutes walk. If we went to Iceland again, we would definitely stay here. We booked our trip to see the northern lights at the bus station and we were picked up at the hotel (and dropped off). The people are very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karuk777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Eric the Red Guesthouse
#3 of 105 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Opal Apartments
#6 of 98 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Hostel B47
Hostel B47
#54 of 98 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Miõborg
Guesthouse Sunna
Guesthouse Sunna
#6 of 105 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
Smaragata
#38 of 105 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hansen Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hansen Apartments

Property: Hansen Apartments
Address: Eiriksgata 17, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hansen Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing