We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Ranked #41 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 7, 2014

This hostel is situated within a short walk of Reykjavik centre. I booked a single room for 4 nights and it was the size of a prison cell, but fairly modern with a radio/cock/alarm and mini-fridge. It was fairly quiet too but I heard it can be a little noisy at weekends as there is a popular nightclub down the main street. I stayed in the annexe building at number 5 Flokagata. The shower was ok but again no room to swing a cat. Also no kitchen. Its an ok place nonetheless if you want a rock bottom budget stay. Be aware that the reception closes at 4pm sharp and there is no way to book-in after this time.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (514)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 514 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

The rooms are good enough,well-equiped (ours came with a working kitchen).The toilet/bathroom despite being shared,were in good condition.Staff keep them clean.

I had two issues during my three days stay here.
First of all,the reception are never around when you need them.
They're in from 8 to 5,i think.
We rarely get to see them to resolve a problem considering the day trip that we booked picked us up at 8 and send us back to the hostel at 6 or later.

Second of all,they didnt even provide us blankets.During our first night there (we arrived late,around midnight) they left us keys with instructions to our room,which was located two buildings away (Floki 5).
We had to sleep in our winter coats because the room wasnt even heated.
But the next night,the heater started working and the room was toasty :)

Apart from the two problem,our stay was good.
Breakfast is fine.Served in the dining room at their main building (Floki 1)

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aisyakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HostelVillage, Manager at Reykjavik Hostel Village, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Aisyakay

Thank you for your important review.
We do value all feedback for us to improve.

All our room types do have bedding included except for the dormitory rooms, which are sleeping bag accommodation. They are our lowest rates and nearly only cover the breakfast which is included in the price. You did book a dormitory room and when you booked the room you got that information about the bedding not being included. We are sorry that there was some misunderstanding concerning that.

Even though the reception closes at 4 pm we always have back up personnel to help out when guests need service. You can contact that person by pressing the doorbell.

Thanks ones again for your feedback and hope to see you again in Iceland.

Warm regards,
Silla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hostel is in a good location and has large but fairly basic rooms with a fridge, sink and we also had a balcony. The bathrooms were shared but in good condition. The staff on reception were very helpful with organising tours and with general enquiries.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nelsonlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Reasonably priced private rooms, friendly staff and we'll placed to walk the town. One of the best value establishments with good amenities including a fridge in the room. Also laundry is available. Rooms are a good size but it is a shared bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ADS20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked 2 beds in a 6 bed dorm and it was full. Unfortunately most of the people within the 6 days we stayed there stayed only 1 night, so we've had a lot of new people in our room and a constant mess because of the luggages. There was the possibility to cook sth., a kitchen was in the room, also a big table. The bathroom was directly opposite to our room and was cleaned every day.
The center is reachable in a 5 min walk. There are a lot of little shops and cafés and other nice things to see. In the opposite direction (from the hostel) you can walk to the ocean, also in 5 min. I walk quite fast so maybe other people need 10 minutes.
The hostel staff was really nice and helpful, they booked some tours for us and helped immediately with any problem.
Breakfast was okay, it's a hostel, so don't expect a 5 star menu. There was a lot to eat but unforntunatley always the same - bread/toast, cheese, jam, croissants, cornflakes, coffee, tea, juice etc. I would say the "basic" hostel breakfast. Also it was quite early, we've had to eat before 8am.

If you want a hostel in near proximity of the center/ocean, you should book a bed/room in this hostel =)
The price was not that high, because we booked in advance. We have been there in August 2013, I think it's the main holiday season, so the prices were a bit higher than usual. You should consider that as well if you want to book a room.

Definitely a good place to stay for your holiday, if you are outside exploring Iceland all day long, it will be fine to book a bed in a 4 or 6 bed dorm ;) (Simply talk to your roommates and reach an agreement about "sleeping time", for example from midnight to 7am - so that eveybody is quite and considerate and can get enough sleep).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

the hostel is very near the main street, about 15 min walk and you are in the center. the beds are comfortable and breakfast is more than enough with a selection of breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea, cheese, tomato, cucumber and jams. the only complain is that there is no common place to hang around with other travelers and the reception is only open 8-16. However if you need anything they will sort it out for you as it happened to me when the tour did not pick me up. The rooms are warm and safe but please bring your sleeping bag or pay for the bedding+towel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It is a very nice and well organised hostel, very clean, confortable rooms, the shared bathroom was as if it was only ours. Wi fi (almost) always working, breakfast ok. They offer many tours and staff is vey helpful. Hostel is less than 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
138 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#19 of 110 in Reykjavik
313 reviews
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bus Hostel
#10 of 110 in Reykjavik
369 reviews
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
425 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#3 of 110 in Reykjavik
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $43 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing