We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, comfortable, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Reykjavik Hostel Village
Ranked #43 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Reasonably priced private rooms, friendly staff and we'll placed to walk the town. One of the best value establishments with good amenities including a fridge in the room. Also laundry is available. Rooms are a good size but it is a shared bathroom.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
Thank ADS20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (509)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 509 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2014

We booked 2 beds in a 6 bed dorm and it was full. Unfortunately most of the people within the 6 days we stayed there stayed only 1 night, so we've had a lot of new people in our room and a constant mess because of the luggages. There was the possibility to cook sth., a kitchen was in the room, also a big table. The bathroom was directly opposite to our room and was cleaned every day.
The center is reachable in a 5 min walk. There are a lot of little shops and cafés and other nice things to see. In the opposite direction (from the hostel) you can walk to the ocean, also in 5 min. I walk quite fast so maybe other people need 10 minutes.
The hostel staff was really nice and helpful, they booked some tours for us and helped immediately with any problem.
Breakfast was okay, it's a hostel, so don't expect a 5 star menu. There was a lot to eat but unforntunatley always the same - bread/toast, cheese, jam, croissants, cornflakes, coffee, tea, juice etc. I would say the "basic" hostel breakfast. Also it was quite early, we've had to eat before 8am.

If you want a hostel in near proximity of the center/ocean, you should book a bed/room in this hostel =)
The price was not that high, because we booked in advance. We have been there in August 2013, I think it's the main holiday season, so the prices were a bit higher than usual. You should consider that as well if you want to book a room.

Definitely a good place to stay for your holiday, if you are outside exploring Iceland all day long, it will be fine to book a bed in a 4 or 6 bed dorm ;) (Simply talk to your roommates and reach an agreement about "sleeping time", for example from midnight to 7am - so that eveybody is quite and considerate and can get enough sleep).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuleWe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

the hostel is very near the main street, about 15 min walk and you are in the center. the beds are comfortable and breakfast is more than enough with a selection of breads, croissants, cereals, yogurts, coffee, tea, cheese, tomato, cucumber and jams. the only complain is that there is no common place to hang around with other travelers and the reception is only open 8-16. However if you need anything they will sort it out for you as it happened to me when the tour did not pick me up. The rooms are warm and safe but please bring your sleeping bag or pay for the bedding+towel

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristinagps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

It is a very nice and well organised hostel, very clean, confortable rooms, the shared bathroom was as if it was only ours. Wi fi (almost) always working, breakfast ok. They offer many tours and staff is vey helpful. Hostel is less than 10 minutes walking distance from the city centre.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samesame2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay.
We arrived, and although the reception was closed we got in with no problems by ringing the bell and being let in via the intercom system.
The room was large, warm (underfloor heating and a powerful radiator) and had good facilities. The toilet and shower were clean and we never had to wait to use it.
The reception staff were friendly and assisted us in booking on all our excersions throughout the holiday.
The location is excellent, with a Fro-Yo cafe across the road and only a 5-10 minute walk to the main shopping/restaurant street!
The breakfast was great, including the coffee!
I would recommend this place to anyone, great value for money and good accomodation!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pilski186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This is a great place to stay! The breakfast was great and the people are very nice. The location is perfect if you like to walk. I will be returning to Iceland and will stay there again. Warm room, fresh towels, wifi worked well, and comfy beds. I was expecting a more bare-bones establishment, but was pleasantly surprised by this hostel.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem nicer than the basement rooms, but all the rooms are decent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IAMarineMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed for three nights and are pleased with our stay here. Staff is really nice (but keep in mind they are only there from morning to 15.30), breakfast and location is good, and the rooms are warm. Though we are satisfied there are a few things to pinpoint: our sheets had stains (but were probably clean) and the bathroom solution could be better. It's not the hostels fault that visitors walk all over with their dirty shoes on after taking a shower, making the floor pretty gross to walk on if you're the next one in the shower, but the staff should make sure it was cleaned more often, or at least given a solution to the visitors to easy wipe dirt/water away after use, or a simple sign: "no shoes in bathroom".

You definitively get what you pay for (and maybe even a little more).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LineHj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hlemmur Square
#9 of 110 in Reykjavik
1,144 reviews
Bus Hostel
#11 of 110 in Reykjavik
359 reviews
Laugardalur
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
Reykjavik City HI Hostel
#17 of 110 in Reykjavik
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Loft HI Hostel
Loft HI Hostel
#5 of 110 in Reykjavik
413 reviews
Reykjavik Downtown HI Hostel
#2 of 110 in Reykjavik
488 reviews
Oddsson Hostel
#14 of 110 in Reykjavik
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Reykjavik Hostel Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Reykjavik Hostel Village

Address: Flokagata 1, Reykjavik 105, Iceland (Formerly Hotel Floki Guesthouse)
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $42 - $243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Reykjavik Hostel Village 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reykjavik Hostel Village is a family owned hostel located downtown, in the heart of Reykjavik, at a walkable distance from the main shopping street, from all touristic attractions and places of interest. The 45 rooms are set across 3 residential houses and offer all kind of amenities for a comfortable and convenient stay. All of the houses have a big garden that is ideal for BBQs and outdoor recreation. Play Areas for kids are in two of the gardens and a green public park can be found in the next street. Reykjavik Hostel Village is ideal for single travelers and pairs, but perfect for families and groups as it offers Triple and Quadruple Rooms. Other accommodation option are Single, Double, Twin and Dormitory Rooms, and Apartment. Breakfast Buffet is served every morning. WIFI access is free as well as parking. Bathroom facilities are shared except for in the apartments, which features a private fully equipped kitchen and a large balcony. All rooms include tea/coffee facilities, a fridge and a working desk, and some do have balcony as well. The Tour Desk is at the Reception where guest can obtain tourist information, arrange car rental, tour excursions, airport shuttle, dining reservation, etc. Reykjavik Hostel Village is situated only 6 min walk from Reykjavik's main shopping street (Laugarvegur) and 300 meters away from Hallgrismkirkja Church. Opposite of the road is Sundhollin, which offers an indoor swimming pool, steam baths and typical Icelandic outdoor hot tubs. Restaurants and Supermarkets can be found in the same street and close by. BSI main bus terminal is in a 12 min walking distance and the Domestic Airport only 5 min driving distance. The Airport Shuttles take you straight to Reykjavik Hostel Village from the International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Reykjavik Hostel Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floki Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing