We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”
Review of 101 Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
101 Guesthouse
Ranked #85 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 20, 2014

This place was just great! Everything was clean and neat, rooms were perfect size and nice and warm. We had everything we needed in the room, bed lights, mirrors (3 girls - its needed) cupboard for coats etc. Bathrooms were always clean. The staff were great, very friendly and helpful. We easily got a hair dryer and made booking and confirmed bookings. Location is also good, directly on the 'shopping street' or main street. Added bonus the restaurant/bar downstairs does an amazing hot chocolate and waffle special at a great price..

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TiffNisbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 131 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

101 is a very basic and practical guesthouse, although maybe should be renamed Hostel. The rooms are clean and tidy, however noisey with traffic on main street. Amenities are good but could do with a little care and maintenance. The location was perfect for our stay in the capital with the the town on the doorstep. Staff are very accomodating and always willing to assist and help in any problems. as expected water does smell very strongly of sulpher which can be a little overcoming at times.

Room Tip: expect the basics that your paying for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Billy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The boss could speak Chinese!
Don't expect any fancy stuff there, it is a clean and quite formal place. There are not so many rooms, so I felt that it's just open for us.
Really good location, could walk directly to the shopping center and there are a supermaket (open until 24:00H) across the street!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank QYZhang2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

First of all, this is a guesthouse. This means that bathrooms and kitchenette facilities are shared. Essentially, it is a step between a hostel and a hotel/inn. Another important thing that travellers to this or any other place in Iceland should be aware of is that the hot water smells strongly of sulphur. This is normal (and actually good for the skin) due to the

The guesthouse is located on the third floor of a building shared with the 4th Floor Hotel and I think a dentist office. When we arrived, the staff was very friendly and our room was very clean. There was no daily room service, which is fine, but the bathroom facilities were cleaned every day and we never had to wait for the bathroom or shower.

The room is very basic, no entertainment system but it does have free wireless internet even though it is a bit spotty at the end corner rooms. Not that you need an entertainment system seeing as you're a 20-minute walk from the very centre of Reykjavik and on a weekend there is always something going on.

We did not get a chance to check out their breakfast. There was one on the main floor for 1,800kr, which was not bad, but we decided neither of us ate enough in the morning to warrant the price and we went for croissants at 10-11 (just across the street beside the Phallological Museum) instead.

The only thing I didn't like was the bed. I have chronic back pain and the bed was very soft, which is not ideal. Overall, it was a very good stay, especially for the price and location.

Room Tip: If staying during a weekend, you'll want a room facing away from the street as the Reykjavik nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WanderingElla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

we arrived direct from the airport in the morning and was able to leave our luggage before official check-in time. It was as described, a basic place to stay for the one night we wanted in Reykjavik. The rooms are spartan with no amenities. The bathroom/toilets were clean. Breakfast was available but a kitchenette allows you to make your own sandwiches and drinks. very close to the bay and a pleasant walk to the habour area. Would stay again if it was for one day, but not as a base for a weeks holiday

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lcfcabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

It wasn't anything super good or bad.. The rooms, showers and toilets are fine. The wifi was excellent and free. The bread at breakfast was only edible if i toasted it. Also they only had cheese, jam and one type of meat for the bread or crackers, not much choice... I could also hear most of what my neighbors were saying/doing..

Room Tip: The rooms on the right side of the hotel if you stand in front of it, are lighter and bigger for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganxxxxx O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This was my least favourite place we stayed in Iceland although it wasn't terrible. The location was good, being right at the beginning of the main downtown street. The main floor had a great breakfast buffet with tons of variety which we used daily 1,800kr. The rooms themselves were large enough but didn't seem all that clean. The beds were not very comfortable and it got extremely hot and muggy on the third floor and in our room. They offered a cheap breakfast for 6 Euros but we never used it as it was pretty basic. The bathrooms were decent but the one shower wasn't all that clean and the spray all over the place. It was 50/50 shot if you got a good temperature-either too hot or too cold most of the time. We were lucky as we timed the parking spots well and it wasn't busy season but the hotel boasts parking which really means 3 lousy spots that are almost always full. Free parking off the main street was easy to find though and not far from the hotel. I'd probably stay here again as it was one of the cheaper options and the value wasnt bad, but again, wasnt the nicest place I stayed on my trip by any means.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cfeist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
398 reviews
Heida's Home Center
#15 of 109 in Reykjavik
91 reviews
Miõborg
Grettir Guesthouse
Grettir Guesthouse
#28 of 109 in Reykjavik
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skolabru Guesthouse
Skolabru Guesthouse
#59 of 109 in Reykjavik
136 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
Reykjavik Rental Guesthouse
#52 of 109 in Reykjavik
37 reviews
Miõborg
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
Central Guesthouse Reykjavik
#14 of 109 in Reykjavik
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 Guesthouse

Address: Laugavegur 101, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range: $101 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — 101 Guesthouse 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Guesthouse 101" is located in the City Center of Reykjavik. We offer friendly and personal atmosphere with modern, fresh, and spacious rooms. Choose from single, double, triple or family sized rooms, all with wash-basins and comfortable beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 101 Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Guesthouse Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing