We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Not special. Well located”
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed July 4, 2010

The location is great. We are close to everything but not on the busiest street, and therefore the noise level is better. We had great views of the ocean and the tops of the building, so request higher floors if you can. The room and bathroom are average, nothing special. There is a computer in the lobby for checking emails which was great. The breakfast buffet was good. The staff was not as knowledgeable or friendly as other hotel staffs in Iceland. Overall, it was okay

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lulupitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 954 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2010

CenterHotel Klopp is within walking distance of anything and everything you would want to go to in Reykjavik. My family travelled by foot to almost everywhere we went! The front desk staff could have been more helpful: they weren't very friendly and didn't offer much assistance. The provided breakfast was adequate. The rooms are extra teeny, but quite clean! All-in-all, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glambert_forever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

The Klopp is a nice hotel but nothing fancy. Room was small by North American standards but not cramped. Furnishings were minimal and a little Ikea'ish. Location was good. Easy walking distance to 'downtown' Reyjkavik. Lots of restaurants, bars and shopping nearby. Staff were friendly and helpful. Complimentary continental breakfast was a bonus.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

We stayed at Centerhotel Klopp for 3 nights in June. They are conveniently located about a 10-minute walk from most sites (like the harbor, city pond and church) and only a block from the main shopping thorofare. The hotel is very clean and quiet with a mature clientele (no kids that we saw, anyway.)
The room was an acceptable size for two people with a small bathroom, fridge, tv, desk and closet. The blackout curtains helped keep the midnight sun out of our eyes. An alarm clock (or any clock) would have been appreciated!
Across the street is a bar that features music, but they always stopped by 11pm. Around the corner was some sort of hangout that played loud music during the day but they too stopped long before we went to bed. Saturday night the crowd outside the bar was loud, but we were too tired to care.
All bus tours pick up from this hotel, which is quite convenient. It was easy to make those reservations with the hotel front desk staff.
The internet was down the entire weekend but early Monday morning was finally fixed. It is free in the lobby but not free in the room.
The breakfast was sufficient with nothing fancy. Cereal, bread and cheese, coffee, juice, etc.
The front desk staff was always friendly and very helpful. They spoke perfect English.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suerocks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2010

The hotel is right in town so walking distance from all restaurants and nightclubs in Reykjavik. Staff is kind and helpful and rooms are clean and comfortable..good value for money!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alcafi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2010

This hotel was a great base of operations for our 2 and 1 night stays in Reykjavik (start and end of trip). We could walk to all the main sites in the city center, and there are tons of close restaurants, shops, and cafes. Tour companies and the airport flybus can pick you up here as well. Our front desk person arranged the flybus pickup for us.

We stayed in both a 'standard' and 'superior' room. Both times we asked to be in a quiet room away from the street. The rooms were relatively quiet, however things were definitely noisier on Friday than on Thursday or Tuesday nights.

The standard room was small, with closet, desk, tiny bathroom, and two twin beds (a little hard) pushed together. Bedding was European Style (fitted sheet + duvet in cover) The superior room had one king bed, one twin bed, a closet, and a slightly larger bathroom. There were more windows and the room felt a little airier, but there still wasn't a lot of room if you wanted to walk past each other.

All rooms have a small minibar/fridge, and an electric tea kettle with instant coffee and tea. The hot water has a slight sulphur/iron smell, which is normal for Reykjavik (due to the geothermal heat source). The cold water does not smell and is great drinking water.

There is free wireless internet on the ground floor only... so our standard room got reception and the superior room on the 5th floor did not. However, the wireless internet was broken for our last night. There is a computer in the lobby that guests can use for free.

The cold breakfast buffet is quite good: there is a selection of bread and rolls (and a toaster), butter, jam, ham, chesse, hard boiled eggs, pickled fish, cereals, milk, juice, and a small bit of fresh fruit. There is also coffee and tea.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mle99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

This was a perfect central hotel and ideal for exploring Reykjavik! The front desk staff member on early Saturday afternoon was the friendliest hotel check in clerk I have ever met. The facilities were clean and modern and the breakfast was a bonus. We were able to get a 49 euro rate as well which was an absolute bargain.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrAndyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
405 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#29 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $143 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing