We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reykjavik City Centre Hotel Exceeds All Expectations!”
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our first visit to this amazing country so naturally our first stay in Reykjavik. Most definitely made more enjoyable by this no frills city centre hotel. The rooms were clean, the bathroom more than functionable and the bed very comfortable!
I have attached some snaps of our room so you get the jist.
We arrived early due to flight times and the receptionist was helpful in mentioning we could store our luggage (FOC) and pop off to explore the shops.They did allow us earlier than normal check in as our room was one of the ones finished ahead of schedule.
Initially we were disappointed as the small room had twin beds but after a quick trip back down to reception ( they have a lift which made things much easier) she found another room, a double, and it was lovely.
Larger than average double bed with stunning views out to the coastline. Loads of hot water, naturally, and warm individual duvets.
Room was supplied with a kettle and a mini bar fridge but watch those prices as nothing in this beautiful country is cheap.
The hotel offers a happy 2 hours with local beer at 500 ISK ( about £2.50).
Breakfast was between 7am thru till 10am so ample opportunity of early get up and go or leisurely lay in. It was continental style offering: fruit juices, water ( dont buy bottled water!! Their tap water is a 100 times better than any shop bought stuff from anywhere!!), tea or coffee or even hot chocolate!
Cereals were cornflakes or muesli with natural yoghurt or milk. Lots of different freshly prepared cut up fruits or prunes and bread for toasting plus small poppy seed bread rolls. Cold meats were ham and salami along with cheese slices. Also on offer was pickled fish, beets, gherkins, tomato, cucumber so lots to choose from.
There was also hot boiled eggs on the first day but this changed to cold sliced eggs after that so I dont know what happened to them.
Not being a great fan of continental style breakfasts I was happy enough with juice, cornflakes and toast with jam.
Dont go expecting a full English cos it isnt going to happen.
Eating area was kept clean and we never found it full no matter what time of day we went down. Tables cleared quickly, wiped down and ready for the next guests. Efficient service.
The receptionists were helpful and eager to look anything up which may be a little of their wide knowledge base. You can book all sorts of excursions and trips at the hotel for pick up from the door!
We decided to hire a car on our second day and do "The Golden Circle" under our own steam... no pun intended but the whole country is geo-thermal so LOTS of steam.
We went everywhere the coach tour went but without the 20 minute stops to see the sights business. Our adventure was leisurely and I can thoroughly recommend this no matter how you do it. Via the coach tour it takes about 8 hours but we spent as much time as we wanted at each destination and loved every minute.
Price wise for the coach you are looking at 9500 ISK per person (about £50.00 each) or for the car for 24 hours and freedom £52.00 plus fuel. We spent the whole day from 10am till 6.30pm and we only put £10.00 back in to return it.
The next day we decided to venture much further to see the glaciers so this entailed hiring a 4x4. Lots on offer but we plumped for the Dacia Duster which more than comfortable did the job.
Bear in mind that if you decide to drive, the roads in Iceland are not like ours. Most of the main routes are fully tarmac'd however the lesser roads and this means the ones you have to drive in order to see a lot more of the natural beauty of this country are just volcanic ash and gravel.
On some of the more out of the way roads, the usual family car is not permitted to go (unless you pay the extra and very costly insurances with the car hire establishment so go for the 4x4 vehicle as your car of choice.
We were very lucky to get the Dacia for an incredible price of just £87.00 as we had hired from them the day before so dont forget to either book online for 10% discount or use your best smile and haggle...lol
I would thoroughly recommend to anyone visiting this amazingly diverse and totally incredible country to get out there! See what has made Iceland and is continuing to make Iceland! The natural beauty and vastness will blow you away!
Anyway, I digress:
The Centrehotel Klopp is great value, and yes I would stay there again the very next time I visit this truly magical country.
Please see my other reviews to get a feel for what's available either via coach or by driving plus places to eat etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank The_Golden_One
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

628 - 634 of 981 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

The hotel is much more nice than the picture above shows. Rooms are just so comfortable - we had the super saver price but had an amazing view of Esja. The room was very small - bed was literally squeezed between a wall and the windows, but it was charming! It was super cozy after a few windy cold days. The bed was lovely. Breakfast was good - coffee was not so much. But you are one block from the main street and EVERYTHING is there. You are close to a few museums and places of interest. Tons of parking available and its cheap - especially the parking garage one block down. Overall if you are looking for a good mid-range hotel it is really wonderful and I definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The higher up you are the better view you will have
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 122Courtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Hotel just off the main shopping street. We had a street view room and it was very comfy, clean, enough room, wifi, KETTLE (you dont get them often in hotel rooms in Island), did not notice noise from street below. Breakfast was good. Staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Trollskagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Given the price of this hotel I give it a high rate. Nothing fancy or luxurious about it, but everything was above expectations. Great service. Nice After Work-prices for a bear, good enough breakfast, fast and included Wifi. Room big enough, bed amazingly nice! Would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DinksFromSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a central location in the heart of the city rooms quite small rear elevation rooms have s horrible view over run down skate park .breakfast was of continental style with a good selection happy hour at hotel bar between 5 and 7 which was good value ie 500 old for 500 'm draugh beer

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scott186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Our stay at the CenterHotel Klopp was made extra special by the friendly and informative service we received from the lovely front desk attendant. Her insights and recommendations helped us to plan our day just right. The rooms were a little on the small side, but were cozy and modern. I would recommend this room to a couple who aren't bothered by spending time in very close quarters.

Room Tip: Would have preferred a room not facing the skate park in the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The location of Centerhotels Kopp is great - right next to the main street and walking distance to everything. This can also pose a problem if you like quiet accommodations, as you're close to bars, hostels and other hubs of activity so expect very loud and drunken screaming until the wee hours of the morning. Our breakfast was nothing special, served in a very small and cramped dining area. Rooms were very small, with a small bathroom (your shower is basically touching the toilet). Service was hit and miss - the nighttime hotel clerk was curt in checking us in despite our questions about where we could find dinner at such a late hour. The morning clerk was much more helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julio D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 55 in Reykjavik
708 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,017 reviews
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 55 in Reykjavik
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Baron
#39 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,809 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,181 reviews
Miõborg
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
Centerhotel Arnarhvoll
#29 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $157 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing