We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but free breakfast makes it worth it!”
Review of CenterHotel Klopp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
CenterHotel Klopp
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 6 days/5 nights the week before Easter. The hotel was nothing but friendly/accomodating - the front desk would offer to call to confirm or book tours, make reservations for us, etc. They have a room downstairs where you can store baggage if you don't want to pay for early checkin/late checkout, and plenty of brochures/visitors guides to help plan your stay (some helpful coupons too!). The rooms are small/basic but we didn't spend too much time in them so they were fine for us. The bathroom is small (bring flipflops since the whole floor will get wet when you shower since it is "washroom style") and there is limited storage for your clothing (no dresser, just an armoire, etc) but again, it worked for what we needed and we were very happy with it. The free breakfast is a definitely PLUS - fresh bread, meats/cheeses and coffee etc every morning which saved a lot of money since Reykjavik is EXPENSIVE to eat out! I didn't have any complaints about noise, although we left before the weekend "partying" began. I would definitely stay here again - it is very central to everything and an easy walk everywhere. Thank you Centerhotel Klopp!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sofiapotier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (894)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

583 - 589 of 894 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

We arrived at the Klopp about 11am in the morning after a very early start and feeling a bit
bleary eyed and tired. The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly and on checking booked
us straight into an available room. The room was small but had everything we needed and plenty
of storage. It was very clean comfortable and warm, we sometimes turned the radiator off and opened the window for night time fresh air.Breakfast was very good with a choice of cereals,
fruit, cheese, eggs, bread etc and everything was very fresh and nicely presented. If you have
an early start on departure you can order an early breakfast which is a nice touch. Our room
overlooked the skate park. We heard no noise whatsoever at night and we slept really well.
The Klopp is in an excellent position for sightseeing, lots to see within walking distance which
to me is important when you are only staying for a few nights.We booked our trips before we left the UK but reception are very obliging to book any tours for you and also can check that tours
are still running according to the weather conditions. All in all a great little friendly hotel, we cannot find fault with anything. PS My husband said to mention the happy hour at the bar - Draft Viking Lager 500 IKS for a large glass !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Klopp is perfectly situated in the old city. We walked to the Port, Maritime Museum, National Iceland Museum and to all shops and restaurants. This is a small hotel and just right. They have a very helpful front desk staff and housekeeping. We found twin beds in our room, so they had the housekeeper remake the bed into a double. The windows open for fresh air. The food at breakfast is delicious, nutritious and varied.
The room is small but well-appointed. It just took us a while to work out how the master light switch and others work. The heat is radiant, water, and easy to adjust. Plus, the windows open, which is always nice for fresh night air.

Room Tip: We got a room over the street on the second floor, but the street was very quiet at night, so we had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mauri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As four ladies who regularly travel together we found this very centrally located hotel excellent value.The rooms, though not large, were kept spotless and the heating was very efficient as we even had the window open on a freezing cold night!Breakfast was plentiful and varied enough to please everyone-cereals,fresh fruit,yoghurts,rolls etc.We made use of the free hot drinks supplied in the lobby during the day.
We dined at the Icelandic Fish and Chip restaurant on two evenings as the fish was so good-all organic so healthy too!Food and drink was not as exorbitant as we expected although certainly not cheap.We did a full day trip comprising of half a day at the Blue Lagoon and half a day Golden Circle.Blue Lagoon well worth visiting and the Golden Circle very interesting with fab photo-stops.Northern Lights trip disappointing as we only saw a faint green light and it was a long evening as we felt we were taken too early,7.30,to see them and were not back until 1am due to a silly mistake by the guide of miscounting people on the bus.
Reykjavik itself very walkable with plenty of coffee shops with gorgeous cakes to guzzle en route.We enjoyed walking around the lake and exploring the small shops.Another must is to take the lift up the Hallgrimskirkja church to take in the fantastic view of the city.
Would like to return to see this "other worldly" country in the summer-time.Maybe take the husband next time!!

Room Tip: We had a quiet stay midweek but noticed a live music venue opposite our room which may be noisy at w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Good things: Great location in center of town. Easy walk to shops, harbor, restaurants.
Staff is generally very helpful and accomodating with a few glitches.
Decent filling breakfast- breads, eggs, meat and cheese, tasty granola you can mix with skyr and brown sugar, juices, coffee and pastry.
Exceptionally comfortable bed (stayed in room 407) and little street noise during our stay of Sunday through Tuesday.

Bad things: On arrival, broken glass and vomit all over sidewalk just outside does not bode well for weekend visitors.
No early check-in if hotel is full, so when you arrive at 8 or 9am from the USA, you must find something to do until 2pm check-in. Luggage can be stored in a locked room until then.
Not much is open in town on Sunday mornings, which led to our big staff glitch. Arriving red-eyed and jet-lagged, we asked the young woman at the desk where we could get coffee and breakfast. She casually waved her hand toward the street and said, "Oh, the main street." We walked and walked all over the main streets finding nothing open anywhere. Finally we came upon a 7-11 type convenience mart and got coffee. The next day, we walked the opposite direction from the hotel and found just 1/2 block away a cafe that had been open the previous morning according to their posted hours. That the hotel receptionist didn't tell us about this place and direct us to it was inexcusable.
Finally under bad things, the shower had extremely low pressure and went from hot to cold without warning.

In general, we were pleased with this hotel and would stay here again. The nicest thing that happened was when a staff member had my coat laundered after I spilled coffee all over it and told me they would not charge me for that.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at the CenterHotel Klopp with my husband, son and mother on an extended weekend trip to Iceland.

This was a nice hotel in a great location in Reykjavik. It's right on the "main" street for bars, restaurants and shops. The location was great for walking to things and feeling like we were in the center of the action. The down side is that there is a lot of street noise, particularly on the weekend. The bed was very comfortable and I was able to sleep, even with the noise.

The room itself was small, but not unbearable. Just about what I expected for a room in a European capital. The bathroom was fine and my husband (6'7" tall) didn't have any trouble in the shower.

The free breakfast was nice. There was quite a selection (different cereals, breads, fruit, cheese, meat, hard boiled eggs, coffee, tea, juice). I had limited interaction with the staff, but what interaction I did have was pleasant.

I booked the room with a discounted rate on Expedia and thought it was great value for the money. I've seen what they charge for weekend rooms on their website, and at that price I might not have felt so good about it.

Overall, I was really pleased with the hotel and would definitely stay here again for the price I paid.

On a side note, parking in Reykjavik is really easy. We rented a car to see the sights on our own (really easy to get to the Blue Lagoon, Gullfoss, Geysir, Þingvellir, etc.) I was worried that it would be hard to find parking and a hassle to deal with the car in Reykjavik. Not at all! Parking was easy to find, the only time we had any trouble was around 8pm on Saturday and even then we only parked about 4 blocks from the hotel. Parking is free from 6pm to 10am and on Sundays. That covered almost all the time we were parked. There are meters that take credits cards for the times you do have to pay, but I think it only worked out to about $1 per hour.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gailberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Nice, clean hotel surrounded by the bars and restaurants. 5 mins walk to the centre of town. Our room was small, but had everything in there we needed, just wish it had a bath instead of a wet room style shower. Iceland excursions were at the end of the road and I have to say that all of the trips we did with them ran very smoothly and they are so punctual I would recommend using them for your excirsions, transfers etc. We did see the northern lights on the 10th, you do need a clear sky however, would also recommend the horse riding and blue lagoon. One tip for staying in Reykjavik, take plenty of money as you maybe shocked by the prices.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dawnie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#40 of 54 in Reykjavik
639 reviews
Fosshotel Baron
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,704 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,131 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,750 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CenterHotel Klopp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CenterHotel Klopp

Address: Klapparstigur 26, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $135 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — CenterHotel Klopp 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your CenterHotel Klopp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centerhotel Klopp Reykjavík
Centerhotel Klopp Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing