We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,049)
Filter reviews
1,049 results
Traveler rating
453
359
140
51
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
453
359
140
51
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main street hot tub recommend room street noise central location great apartment top floor self catering excellent location coffee maker kitchen area bars and restaurants the bus small kitchen the heart of the city northern lights bedroom
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
771 - 776 of 1,049 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We had an amazing time in Reykjavik, partly down to staying here. The location was excellent, right in the center of town, and though our room overlooked the street and was close to some bars we didn't have any problem with the noise. Being self catering was a great advantage as Iceland can be quite expensive so we cooked some meals and made lunch for the trips. The room was fantastic, bed was really comfy, good kitchenette and tv and dvd player. The bathroom was also really good. There was free wifi in the rooms and also a computer and printer down in reception which was handy for booking trips. We'll definitely stay here again when we next visit Iceland!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010

These apartments are everything you want from this type of accommodation - clean kitchen facilities, comfortable beds and lounge and close to supermarkets. The building is right in the middle of town, and parking facilities are available around back (although there is only enough free space for about 6 cars, parking on the street is roughly £5 a day). Only problem with being central is being close to the restaurants that on weekends become thriving dance hubs with music and drunken debauchery occurring until 5am. So unless you plan on joining the fun, bring some earplugs if you are staying over the weekend!

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryan_knapton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

We returned from holiday yesterday 13th September 2010 after spending 3 nights at the Room With A View Apartments.

Location
Its ideally situated on the main street a short walk away from the Hallgrimskirkja Church and many lovely restaurants and shops. There are also a number of bars in the immediate area catering for all ages. There is a bus route and also a taxi stand not too far away.
Accomodation
On our arrival the reception staff were very efficient and friendly.
The apartment was spotlessly clean, very modern and well appointed with everything you would need for your stay (crockery, cutlery, cups glasses etc) the bed was very large and comfortable. Housekeeping comes in every day to make the bed, clean the floors and bathroom etc - I began to think that she was invisible as we never saw her, it was like your room cleaned itself after you went out!!! I had read on Trip Advisor some reviews about a noise problem at this particular hotel, I did email them in advance and they told me that it wouldnt be a problem as we were on the 4th floor (Room 403)...Oh how wrong they were!!!!! There are two restaurant / bars in the side street and the party gets into full swing at approx 1am and goes full belt until about 4.30am, the windows dont keep out any of the noise, at one point it was like the party was in our room. This problem only seems to occur on a Friday and Saturday as Sunday night was quiet. If you're a party animal, then great, but if not, we would still definatley recommend this accomodation as its excellent value for money, but only Sunday to Thursday. When we were leaving and checking all the drawers to make sure we hadnt left anything, a pair of ear plugs rolled from the back of one of the drawers and they werent ours!!

Overall we loved Iceland and we loved Reykjavik and cant understand why more people dont go there, yes, it was expensive to a point, but no more expensive than London or New York, shop around for meals and drinks. We found the Bjarny Feld Sports Bar on the main street reasonable compared to a lot of establishments in the area, great beer (2000 Kronar for 1.5 Litres - and burgers as big as your head for approx 1700 Kronar - at £7.50 per glass and approx £25.00 a bottle, it may be an idea to give the wine a miss though!) The Icelanders are very friendly and helpful and everyone spoke English better than we did!!! So, to sum up we are definatley going back but would as it would again be a weekend trip, as good as the apartment was, we may stay elsewhere next time.

Date of stay: September 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alwaysowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2010

I was really impressed with Room With A View. The apartment itself was in a block across the road from the main hotel but had everything. 3 double bedrooms, 2 relativel clean bathrooms (although one toilet had a funny smell about it), a well stocked kitchen, a dining area and a huge TV with a huge sofa to match. I was mainly worried about being able to make a joke about the view but when I looked out of the window of the room I was sharing with my girlfriend, there was a clear view of the harbour and the mountains. It was beautiful.

Date of stay: June 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raziqrauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Having read all the previous reviews I feel I should mention the noise issue from the start. We had researched these apartments and had booked apartment L-152, which is actually across the road from the main building. Our room still looked out over the main street, but it wasn't opposite "Vegemot" which is a cafe which turns into a nightclub in the evenings and is down a side road which runs down the side of the main building. The main road was still noisy on the Friday and Saturday nights, but the windows in our apartment were solid and drowned out the majority of the noise. My husband is an extremely light sleeper but he slept well all week.
The apartment itself was fabulous - it was spacious and furnished with high quality furnishings. It was cleaned once a day - with the bathroom lightly cleaned and clean towels provided. You are responsible for the kitchen area yourself.
The apartments are centrally located - which is just fabulous.
The staff were all attentive and helpful, and even allowed us to check out slightly later at no extra cost.
We used the free wifi everyday with no connection problems.
If you hire a car, there is a free car park available behind the hotel.
We absolutely would revisit, we had a superb time.

Date of stay: August 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen_Eastbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews