We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 19, 2007

Arni and Omar are two of the greatest hosts anyone could ask for. Despite a slight bit of confusion on the reservation [all my fault] they were able to put us up for an unplanned night with no hassle. The apartments are great and even though some are located on the street that parties all night in Reykjavik, they are very quiet. Our studio apartment was very spacious and well designed with great art everywhere. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked and the bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub. Our unit had windows that looked out onto the Laugavegur which is where all the action happens – great people watching. All this and parking!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brodyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

725 - 731 of 873 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2007

We had a wonderful time at Room with the View. It is centrally located and we were able to walk almost everyone in centraol Reykjavik. The beds were warm, the rooms was warm. Lots of candles were provided which was very romantic. The IKEA furniture fits the flavor of the country. It was a little worn, but nothing to complain about. Kitchen was really useful - as we were able to budget better by purchasing food at a grocery store close by The hosts were extremely kind. Would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJBNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2007

Stayed in Room with a View for 3 nights in May / June 2007 (601 for the first 2 nights, and 603 when we returned after driving round Iceland).

Would very highly recommend to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Reykjavik.

A few key points -

1. Wonderful central (but peaceful) location.
2. Amazing views from the 6th floor apartments over Reykjavik, out to sea, and over the mountains.
3. Incredibly well equiped with everything you need from kitchen equipment, to CD and DVD players, to CDs and DVDs, to toiletries.
4. Incredibly helpful and friendly owners (even lent us their own book to take with us when we travelled round Iceland).

All in all one of the best places I have ever stayed.

And the hot tub on the balcony was one of the most memorable experiences I had in Iceland - sitting in the hot tub on a cold and windy May day sipping a Mojito was truly fantastic!

Try the cafe / bar next door to Room with a View (Vegemot) for brunch or lunch - great food and a great atmosphere!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClareWLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We returned to Arni's Room-with-a-view-Apartments after having stayed there for the first time in 2005.
Having booked a comfortable room for two with ensuite facilities we were upgraded to the same room with jaccuzzi access we had got two years before. Besides the bedroom it had a sleeper sofa in the living room and a kitchen with refrigerator. Arni, Sigi and Omar were exceptionally friendly and happy to provide any assistance during our stay (they also booked the return bus to Keflavik airport for us).

The location, in the middle of the main shopping street Laugavegur, is perfect. You do not need a car to explore the most common sights in Reykjavik. During weekends Laugavegur is crowded all night with partying locals and tourists. Feel free to join in!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locotraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed in apartment 301 (3-beds) over Easter. The apartment was an excellent size with three large double bedrooms, two family bathrooms and a large living space. The furnishings are all of very high quality which makes for very comfy beds and chairs and the kitchens and bathroomsare well equiped. Before going we were worried about it being cold in the apartment, but we needn't have it was toastie warm all weekend despite it being below freezing outside.
The location of the apartment is great for touring the city. Being on the main shopping street you are very central for touring the city by foot. There is only one downside to the central location, as the apartment looks out onto the main street there can be a lot of noise from 12am to about 4am during the weekends when the city nightlife if in full swing. This however, did not spoil our enjoyment and we felt that you have to expect noise if you stay that central.
The owners were extremely helpful and provided local information on request and even went out of their way to help us in our search to see the Northern Lights - their recommendation for a viewing point was spot on!

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank manxcat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2007

I and six of my friends had a 3 night trip to Reykjavik, and we could not have asked for more in terms of lodging then Room with a View. Our apartment was both clean and stylish with state of the art electronic equipment (ipod compatible). Hot tub was running, cocktails were flowing. Arni, Omar, and Siggi were also incredibly helpful in educating us about the local customs and the best way to spend our time while there. I encourage you to invite them in for a pint or two as well. Overall a wonderful experience. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank rmfitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2007

I stayed at Room with a view with 3 other friends for 5 nights and the hotel was fantastic. The staff arranged our transportation to and from the airport. They also provided good insight on places to go while in Iceland.

Payment for the hotel was very simple too and there were no logistical problems that came up at any time. The rooms itself were well kept and the staff did a great job of cleaning the rooms during the day.

The location is also a plus since it is in the middle of the nightlife and all the great restraunts in Reykjavik.

To not stay here would be a mistake if you went to Iceland!!!

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,028 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $153 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing