We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice for families, excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed March 9, 2007

Great place to stay, centrally located. We are a family of 6 and found that the extra space is better than a hotel. A previous occupant seemed to have used the kettle to boil milk in so it was unusable but that was the only gripe. Very comfortable beds. Arni was very helpful, Reykjavik Excursions pick you up from there, and it is 2 mins walk along the street to the Tourist Office, 5 mins walk to whale watching ships & the renowned hotdog stand visited by Bill Clinton (yummy sauce). Noisy on Saturday nights mainly due to the noise of car tyres on the cobbled street but better than staying somewhere dull. Will stay there again if we go back.

Stayed: April 2006
2  Thank Virtualadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (873)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 738 of 873 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2007

We booked direct with Room with a View and basically got a reduction on the third night that meant that we only paid for two nights.

We stayed in room 411 which is very spacious and the whole place was clean and tidy. The view from the window was superb!

A great place to stay if you want to be in the centre of everything, but it is an apartment and not a hotel, so no bar or restaurant. The people that own the place are extremely friendly and very trusting.

We did find that the hot tub was not that great and you can really smell the sulpher in the water. When we were there they had construction work taking place in the room next door, but we were out and about, so we were not disturbed.

Arriving in Iceland, I would advise going to the Duty Free on arrival and getting alcohol and food. Prices are expensive here!

The FlyBus takes you from the airport directly to your hotel or lodgings and I would recommend using it. There is a transfer at the bus depot called BSI, so don´t get worried when they drop you off and ask you to transfer. It does seem that they are dropping you in the middle of nowhere and you have to fend for yourself, but this is not the case.

Top tips: go to the National Bank in the main shopping street. As I said, food and drink is expensive. If you go to the bank to change money you can also get a free drink, doughnuts and check the internet! There is no commission for changing money - it is in the rate.

Tours: Be careful here as the trips in the town centre are not that great. They make it sound better than it real is. HOWEVER, the Golden Circle tour is well worth doing. Go for the cheaper tour - it is far better. We also stayed at the Blue Lagoon, so check that review for the details of who to book your tour with.

The Northern Lights - AN ABSOLUTE MUST SEE. It is not guaranteed, but try, try, try and if you still don´t see them, try again!

Buses are easy to use with a flat fare, but remember to ask for a change ticket if you plan on switching buses on route to avoid having to pay again.

Overall, we would say that it is worth coming to Iceland, but only for a long weekend (City break) unless you want to travel extensively and you are happy just chilling out and taking it real slow.

WARNING: The Ice Bar - avoid. Enough said.

Stayed: March 2007
5  Thank Malachi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2007

We stayed in apt. 402, a one bedroom, from 16-22 Feb. and enjoyed our stay tremendously. The hotel is wedged in between a bookstore and clothing shop, the entrance a bit grungy but opens into tidy clean hallways. The apt. is clean and neatly furnished, the bathroom small but modern, bed comfortable, linens and towels good quality. Having a kitchen in the living/dining area with enough implements for simple cooking and a decent sized refrigerator makes for a much more comfortable and economical visit to this costly city. Places to buy food and coffee beans are nearby. Location is great, walking distance to opera and museums, and our hosts were friendly and helpful. Will happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gimpel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2007

We arrived on 1/13 very early and left in the afternoon of 1/15. We stayed in room 501, which was 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom. We had plenty of space. On the last day Siggi told me that they were going to put down new floors, which will make the apartment look nicer. They are also renovating the apartments on the top floor. RWAV is really centrally located, but be aware that come Friday night our apartment had a lot of the street noise from down below. It is really load and doesn't stop until about 5-6 am. That is the one negative of the place. If you are a light sleeper, try an apartment perhaps in the back of the building. Reykjavik is a great city.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doctoradler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2007

My husband and I stayed here from 1/2 through 1/4 - a quick Icelandic stop on our way home - and had a great time! The hotel was great - must better than we anticipated (I am always a bit weary of hotel pictures and trick photography - but this hotel did not disappoint at all! Exceeded expectations!).

The apartment was quite spacious, beautifully decorated and extremely convenient. The location is just perfect. We stayed in Room 313 which was an upgrade since our originally booked room wasn't available (we had no complaints - this room was fantastic). The only even vaguely negative thing that I can say is that we didn't really have must of a view from this room - although there is a gorgeous wall of windows in the living room, you need to crane your neck over the balcony in order to glimpse the mountains - otherwise you are looking at houses and a small street. But believe me - the room itself is so great that you don't miss a 'view' and this did not concern us in the least.

The kitchen was very well stocked with appliances and necessities and we very much enjoyed beign able to have breakfast in the room (finding local restaurants that opened before 11am was a bit difficult). Also, the owners are great!! Arni even called our room on our last night there to let us know that the Northern Lights were strong and we could even see them from the Hotel RoofDeck (which is very large and has a 10 person jacuzzi!)

We very much appreciated the hospitality and are looking forward to a return trip. Enjoy!!!

4  Thank HappyTravelerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

Have just returned from a wonderous New Year's vacation in Reykjavik, Iceland. Room with a View was an incredible value in the heart of Reykjavik and will continue to be our first choice for accomodations when we return to Iceland.

Room With a View is conveniently located downtown. It's a little quirky to find when you first arrive but the lack of a formal "lobby" is more than made up for by the friendly, helpful and warm welcome we received. (The bus driver from the airport showed us exactly what entrance to use so don't let this insignificant detail deter you.)

The apartment was spacious, very clean and much larger than we anticipated - the high ceilings and wall of glass in the living area made it seem even larger. The kitchen facilities were so complete that we had breakfast at "home" almost every day and even cooked a lobster dinner on New Year's Eve! The bathroom facilities were magnificent; two of us easily (and happily) lounged in the room's spa almost every night covered by mountains of bubbles. (Every light switch is a dimmer so it was easy to change the mood to suit our whims.)

If you have no interest in cooking, or even making a pot of coffee, this is still a venue to consider - there are restaurants, coffee houses and shopping EVERYwhere.

Arni and Omar were both incredible. They made us feel like part of an extended family, looked after our best interests and helped us to find our way around town with no muss, fuss or bother. They are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OneLuckyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2007

We stayed at the Room with a View apartments from 27 December to 30 December 2006. We found the apartments through looking at reviews on Trip Advisor. The location of the apartments is superb, very central, close to bars, shops and major attractions in the city centre. It is one of the hotels that the Flybus will drop off at which was extremely useful. We travelled with Iceland Express airline at a very good price, the flight and service were excellent-when arriving in Iceland, we went straight to the Flybus desk, bought two tickets and got on the bus which was waiting outside(they coincide with the flight arrivals) They took us to the main bus terminal where we were transferred to a minibus which dropped people off at various hotels around the city. The cost of the bus from the airport was approx £8.00 each one way, much cheaper than a taxi whixh was in excess of £50 each way. It was also very easy to take the bus and you can pay by credit card. (We did not take any Icelandic currency with us so this was useful-we just used the cash point to get money out as we needed it and this worked very well.)
Once at the apartments, we rang to speak to the owner/manager, who appeared within minutes. We were disapppointed to find out that they had given our apartment to someone else, and had 'upgraded' us to a bigger room-I had booked a room with a double jacuzzi as this was what I had wanted but we were given a bigger apartment with two bedrooms. This wasn't what I had asked for and I didn't class it as an upgrade as it was of no use to us to have an extra bedroom! The apartment itself was very spacious, with kitchen lounge, dining area, two bedrooms and a bathroom. (room 505). It was modern and light and an ideal base. I do agree with an earlier review which sid it could have been cleaner-the kitchen area was not especially clean and the floor was a bit dirty/dusty. As a clean freak myself, however, I didn't find it too bad. The view was great, looking out over the city. Opposite the apartement was a club/restaurant, which was very nice and we ate there one night. Beware however that if you are a light sleeper that the noise from the bars around was absolutely non-stop and very loud, especially on a Friday and Saturday night They were still queuing to get in at 5am! We were glad we stayed here but on our last night we did not manage to sleep at all.
There is a Bonus supermarket down the street from the apartments, just turn right onto street and walk a little way-it is on your left. Well worth stocking up on milk/tea/coffee/bread and butter etc so you can at least make breakfast as it is very expensive to eat out.. A phrase book would come in handy as some of the items are not obvious as the language is so different. I asked someone for skimmed milk and butter and they were very helpful but had I not of asked we would have ended up with buttermilk! We were here for two and a half days/three nights. We used the Rough Guide to Reykjavik which was really good. We followed the walking tour of the city and this took in the major sights of interest and made a good days sightseeing. We also went to the blue lagoon at night time and this was a really good trip. We rang the Flybus company the day before and they came and picked us up from the hotel. We did the same for the Golden Circle trip, which took in Geysir, Gullafoss waterfalls and the National Park. It was a really good trip and a day to remember. A video camera and normal camera are a must to capture the force of the waterfalls and the erupting Geysers.
We ate out at Vegemot, which is opposite the apartments on the side street, Solon, which is a very popular bistro by day, club/bar by night and a couple of doors down at Hotel 101 restauarant which are both just a five minute walk away-would advise booking this as it is very busy.
The city itself is vibrant, hip, interesting and quirky. We would definately return and would use the apartments again, although next time I will double check that we will be given the room that we have actually booked.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Louisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#18 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22 Hill Hotel
#24 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,028 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#13 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $153 - $390 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing