We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed August 23, 2006

Just completed a stay at Room with A View and it is a perfect place to stay in Reykjavik. Not sure why you would want to stay anywhere else. It is centrally located, very clean, very nice rooms with kitchens and inexpensive. Would recommend to anyone coming to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank north726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (892)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 771 of 892 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2006

Room with a View its an excelent option in Reykjavic given the sky rocket prices of other locations. Its centrally located and has a friendly staff.

We stayed in Room 512 which was perfect for a couple. Good size , well equiped and a nice view. Kitchen is extremely helpful for those who want to have a decent breakfast saving a few $$$.

Dont expect a hotel treatment in terms of reception desk or any kind of services. The staff is limited and therefore they have a lot of work to be done rather than provide luxury services to their customers.

Free parking can be easily found a few blocks down from the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mengo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

We honeymooned there in April and can't tell you how much we loved this place!!!!
The front entrance belies what's up the stairs. We can't fault it in any way. We're afraid to tell too many people - can't risk it becoming mainstream!

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank salsa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2006

We stayed in Apartment 603 for 3 nights and had a fantastic time. Despite arriving two hours late the pre-ordered taxi driver was waiting and Arni welcomed us (together with a few other partying residents of Reykavik in the street - it was only 3 am).

The apartment was very well equiped and the views over the town, harbour and sea amazing. There is some noise on a Friday and Saturday night from the street but this is the only downside of the very central location, and it didn't keep either of us awake partly due to the very comfortable beds.

We hired a car and had no problem parking in the street which is free between 1800 and 1000 hrs. With two supermarkets nearby breakfast was easy and cheap - so although some things are expensive in Iceland by staying here money can be saved.

Overall, friendly; central; comfortable - why look elsewhere?

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2006

My wife, child (2 year old) and I stayed here first for five days, then, after a quick trip out of the city, for two more days. For us, this was the perfect place. The location cannot be beat: it is in the heart of the city and an easy walk to everywhere. I attended a conference at the university, and it was a 20 minute walk to there. There are restaurants and bars scattered throughtout the blocks in every direction.

Given the expense of Reykjavik, having a kitchen was a tremendous cost savings. There are two supermarkets within a few blocks, so we could stock up on breakfast and lunch food, saving our restaurant meals for the evening.

Arni and Siggi were tremendous hosts, with great knowledge of the area. They even did a good job calming us down after a run-in with the local constabulatory (suffice it to say, at least one Reykjavik cop thinks taking a jet-lagged child for a walk around midnight in an attempt to induce sleepiness is clearly an illegal activity).

The area is not quiet on the weekend nights, and the street drunkeness is a little over-the-top. But that is the price you pay for being in the center of things. We felt very above the melee, nicely settled in our spacious, well- and interestingly-furnished apartment. We would not stay anywhere else in the city.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike in Pittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2006

I would recommend Room with a View - location wise it is central, close to bars, resaurants, the big church (I will not attempt the spelling just now!), tourist info centre etc, staff wise - friendly and helpful, room wise - will meet all your requirements, plus, having a kitchenette allows you to save a little cash for a trips etc rather than dinning out every night.

When we arrived we had been upgraded to a better room with a nice bottle of champagne on ice awaiting our arrival. Sigi and Arni are great hotel managers/owners - they helped sort out our hire car and gave advice on driving in Iceland. parking etc. Arni also got out of bed at 5am to sort out alternative travel to the bus centre when the Flybus let us down. Very impressed by their laid back professionalism and easy manner.

Pricewise - you couldn't beat it with a big stick and the view is pretty nice. When we return to explore the North of Iceland we will be staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chips&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2006

We have just returned from Room with a view where we stayed for a week for our silver wedding anniversary. All the other reviews are true-this place is fantastic. Arni and Siggi are a great help with suggesting trips, restaurants and booking transfers etc. Siggi also let us take some of their towels to the Blue lagoon to save us renting them. Location is perfect and although the street can get busy as we were in room 603 on the top floor, and with all that fresh air we had every day we slept like logs. Even the 24 hour daylight didn't stop us. Iceland is a fantastic place and trips like Whale watching, Geysir, Gulfoss and the amazing Blue Lagoon make it a very special holiday. Yes it is expensive but you just have to accept that. We took duty free with us to keep cost down but always ate out as the food there is superb. Loved it!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 55 in Reykjavik
3,927 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,104 reviews
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Laugardalur
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
Grand Hotel Reykjavik
#26 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $175 - $457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing