We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #16 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I arrived in for a weekend in Iceland and were delighted with room with a view.
First we arrived in at 7:15am and they said don't worry at the front desk your room is ready for you.
Both the Nightman and the day staff were on as it was change time and we got to see and realize how great those staff were. Very helpful on sharing their knowledge of their homeland, the city, bars and restaurants. They were also fabulous about booking the day trips we wanted to go on.
Our apartment was ideal. It was clean, warm, modern and the perfect place to call home for a few nights. Coffee maker, kettle, microwave, toaster and all the glassware, cutlery and plates we needed were stocked in the room.
We could then go to the shops and live like a local! The bed was incredibly comfortable, tv , dvd player, and excellent shower in a modern and very warm bathroom.
The apartment was off the main street up 2 flights of stairs and across from the main building. The rooms were very warm and toasty and modern and cleanly renovated. The view from the back windows opened up onto a courtyard that was under some construction but in the distance you can see over the rooftops and to the mountains covered in snow.
We both loved the central location. Fabulous stay for couples who just want a clean modern place to sleep that is in the heart of the action. Next trip back I won't need to find another place to stay this place will win no questions asked.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank karlconnolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Room With a View Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 855 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

I live in northern Iceland and hadn't heard about this hotel until I needed a room at the last minute and decided to give it a try due to the location that suited me very well. It was tricky to locate the entrance and the lobby is very narrow but beautifully decorated by Rax photography. The room or studio apartment was big, very good space, the bed was great, shower excellent, very clean and the internet connection great. Strangely enough the room is better than the lobby which is not often the case but of course more important for the guest.

The hotel is down town so it is noisy around but with closed windows it didn't bother me. Would choose it again.

Room Tip: I might ask for a view to north next time on the top floor if it is above the houses on the other si...
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaStef42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Room with a view is in a great location. Everything in Reykjavik is easily in walking distance. Like other reviews state, the staff are really friendly and the experience is very efficient. Again, like other reviews, we had two nights in four that were interrupted because of some rowdiness in a bar across the road. This is probably to be expected based on the location but good to be prepared for and certainly shouldn't put you off booking.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights (Thursday to Sunday) in January. The room (501) was fantastic, very well equipped, warm, spacious and with a fantastic view over the bay. Jessica on the desk was very helpful via email before we got there, recommending tours etc. The location is perfect, within walking distance of everywhere in the city centre. The only negative was some rowdy revellers in the small hours on the Saturday night, we could hear noise but with a bit of cotton wool in our ears and being on the fifth floor it wasn't a huge problem.
We would definitely stay here again especially as the cost was so reasonable.

Room Tip: Room 501 has great views and is far enough away from the street to minimise noise levels.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in August, the room "with a view" was pretty hilarious, our view was over a vacant lot.
The location is second to none and the rooms are really tidy and well kept (albeit filled with some bizarre furniture, you'll understand when you get there).
The communal rooftop was nice and would have loved to have used the massive spa up there but we never managed to find the time.
I would definitely stay here again if I came back to Reykjavik, we loved it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susannah83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our three bed apartment was reasonably priced so we very pleasantly surprise to find an apartment that was very spacious and well appointed. It resembled an up market Ikea showroom. This was certainly a room with a view ! It overlooked the bay and the snow capped mountains. The kitchen was well appointed and had tea, coffee sugar and all cleaning products you would need.

The location was brilliant, right in the centre of the main shopping street. We were surrounded by lovely independent boutique shops, bars, restaurants and even a small supermarket.
Parking was available in the hotel car park or outside the property from 6pm until 10am.
The reception staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants and tours.

On the down side, it was quite noisy in the front bedrooms on Friday and Saturday nights. But what else can you expect with such a brilliant location.

Unfortunately we didn't see the Northern Lights so we will be returning to Iceland and will definitely stay at Room with a view.


Bev

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the opposite side of the road to the reception. These rooms have the best vi...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bessiemaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were a family of three couples and recently had a really enjoyable 3 nights in room 412.
Room with a View is in an ideal - great location... right on the main street and you can walk everywhere you need, very easily.
There is also an excellent small bakery shop and supermarket just a few minutes up the street where you can buy all the food you need.
It is very well equipped, modern, clean and has 4 bedrooms.... 2 with on suite bathrooms and the other can access a separate bathroom across the the lounge.The excellent equipped kitchen had all you needed and a large comfy lounge had a large modern TV,music centre, DVD player etc.and plenty of space for us all to enjoy in between our busy visit.
the only downside is the bar noise from the street....,and if you are staying during a weekend come prepared with earplugs and you will be fine.
All in all, this apartment worked out really well for us, was great value.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parks1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 108 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $160 - $432 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing