We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best view in Reykjavic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Room With a View Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Budapest
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best view in Reykjavic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to get the penthouse apartment with a rooftop balcony and the best views I have ever seen anywhere in the world (and I have travelled around Africa, Asia, America etc). Mountains, sea, city - 2am in the morning with the sun and moon lighting up a deep blue sky..... and the rooms were great too. Modern and well equipped. The water is natural water so is bound to smell as a previous review mentioned. The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful as we had messed up our booking and they were fully booked the night of our arrival they found us a similar room in another hotel and sorted everything out for us which meant we didn't waste a minute of our break. I cannot praise them highly enough! As people had commented on the noise we took earplugs but they weren't needed over the weekend.

Room Tip: The penthouse was fantastic, large bedroom, Lounge and kitchen/diner. Small private bathroom but lar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisN111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    288
    107
    30
    34
See reviews for
140
323
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
164 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

If you want a conveniently located real apartment (hot plate, microwave, frig, kettle, toaster) plus a table to sit and eat at (cutlery and plates included), the studio option at this hotel is a reasonably priced choice. Our room was comfortably furnished and large by European standards.
Although it is an apartment, there is a real hotel front desk, manned 24 hours.
A minor disadvantage was the late night street noise from rowdy drunks--both Saturday and (surprisingly to a lesser extent) Sunday nights. Weeknights were very quiet and the location is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seed37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stayed in apartment 801 for 7 nights 200 mts down the road from the main hotel so no noise at all from the street or the clubs even at the weekend. Apartment quite large an newly refurbished. Hot water smells foul and the TV only worked on two channels and some noise from the apartment above apart from that all good. Would stay again

Room Tip: If you don't want the noise from the clubs and the street stay in these separate apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

This is very convenient as it is right on the main shopping street in Reykjavik. However the pick up for the airport is 2 blocks away, not so convenient if you have a large case and it's pouring with rain. Its great if you wish to self cater as it’s a large apartment with a kitchenette. The double bed was really comfortable and it was very quiet so far as hotel noise went, however being so central there is some street noise. I was in room 405 which I don’t recommend as the bathroom is across a public hallway. I didn’t meet anyone but going to the loo at 4am is rather irritating, locking and unlocking doors. Also the bathroom is one of those which has the shower in the same room as the basin and toilet, I believe its called a wet room which is exactly what it is – I find it a juggling act when all I want to do is wash my hair and I need to exit with dry feet. I really don’t know who thought it would be a good idea in such a tiny room – also the sink is really tiny about 6 inches wide, quite challenging to clean your teeth in. One final mention, there is a large mirror but you can’t use it to see to dry your hair as there is no plug near the mirror. However the room is very good value for Reykjavik as single rooms really don’t come cheap.
The staff are nice and I was offered an extended check out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fourviolets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed in room 512, which did indeed have a lovely view.

Pros: Excellent location (on the main street in town, so easy access to shopping, restaurants, bars, and excursion pick-up locations), comfortable bed and roomy shower, great service.

Cons: The bathroom design was the major con for this room. There are two windows in the bathroom without shutters/blinds/curtains, and there are glass blocks in the wall between the bathroom and the bed, and also in the door to the living area. This meant that 1) all of the light from the bathroom windows streamed into the bed area and the living area, so the hotel never got dark and 2) there was zero bathroom privacy, as the glass blocks give a perfect view of the person on the toilet, in both the living area and the bed area.

Overall, our stay was wonderful, and the bathroom design wouldn't stop me from staying there again.

As others have noted, the proximity to bars does cause a bit of noise, but only on Friday and Saturday nights. Any other day of the week is fine, and my husband (who wakes at the sound of a pin drop) had no problems.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stefanie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
204 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

While the room was beautiful, bed comfortable, and service excellent, the hotel was located "too close" to town. In other words, the sheer noise of the "party people" on the street prevented us from getting a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel fronts Laugavegur, and the west side runs along Vegamotastigur on which sits a bar, known as Olstofa Kormaks og Skjaldr ("Kormaks and Skjaldr's Alehouse"). This is not an ordinary bar, with a few people milling about in front. First, the bar is open to the outside. The back wall is a piece of corrugated steel and the side "wall" is a piece of plastic that does not reach the roof. You can't see anyone, but you hear everyone. Second, this is a place were people go to get drunk; hooting and hollering, yelling and screaming, well into the wee hours. I was there Sun -Tues. I can't imagine what weekends are like. I was up on the 5th Floor and it was loud. Shutting the windows helps a lot, but does not eliminate the frequent outbursts of revelry. And it make the room too hot. Very difficult to get a good night's rest.

The kitchenette was well equipped: small sink, two burner stove, mini-fridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, pots and pans, utensils and flatware, dishes. I didn't use any of it except the mini-fridge. There is a small Bonus supermarket a few blocks away

The small elevator does not have an inner cab door-- never saw this before, safe if your careful, but I didn't like it

The fire escape directions were strange. My instructions during a fire was to take the balcony; there is an exit sign above my window with a arrow pointing down. Problem is there are no balconies anywhere in the hotel, nor do the windows open. There is a center staircase, which must be the fire exit.

I got a room with my private bathroom in a separate locked room across the hall. This was more of a pain than I anticipated, dealing with two key entries (they do give you a bathrobe). I should have splurged for an en suite bathroom. The bathroom was quite small; no separate enclosure for shower, just one room with a floor drain. Tiny sink that you cannot wash your face without getting water on the floor (no an issue since there is a floor drain)

Laugavegur is the main shopping street. Very good location for shopping and restaurants.

This hotel is manned 24/7, but sometimes no one is there. This is a code for the outer door.

TV (virtually all in English) worked fine and decent number of channels but not HD

Room Tip: Do not get a room facing Vegamotastigur.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomCNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 53 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 945 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 905 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Property: Room With a View Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 98 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing