We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Iceland in Summer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #14 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Iceland in Summer”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

After shock of 24 hour daylight. Hotel is great and really helpful staff. Street is great for shopping and eating out. 10/10 for location. It is noisy due to the clubs and pubs downstairs. It needs a paint and a bit of maintenance. UK TV on large flatscreen. Kitchen is great for early starts for tours

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mysha_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    301
    112
    35
    34
See reviews for
153
334
35
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent a week here in January. Brilliant price-point. Second time in Reykjavik, awesome location, loved having the little apartment with the kitchenette. Meant that for a longer stay we weren't having to eat out every night and having it for breakfast before doing early day tours was great.

Only downside was the name of the hotel, while there are many rooms with a view, ours was not one of them. This, naturally, leads to a slight sense of disappointment, but in my opinion the large bathtub, LCD TV, kitchenette, couch, chaise longue, large bedroom, coffee table, breakfast table more than made up for it!

The staff were brilliantly helpful and understanding.

Room was cleaned every day to a high standard. Coffee and tea replenished. You had to buy your own milk, but that's hardly a negative.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altahoorbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Came to this hotel for Memorial Day weekend with a few friends from the US. We had rented a two bedroom apartment on the fourth floor for 4 people. The location of the hotel is perfect...it’s right on the main strip and close to all the bars, restaurants, the harbor and everything else. The apartment itself was nice and clean with great amenities like a fridge, TV, music system and all the dishes and kitchen utensils we needed. The staff were very friendly and helped arrange a few tours for us, gave some restaurant recommendations and provided fresh towels on request. The beds were small and the mattresses were hard...not unexpected in a European hotel. We did use the Jacuzzi which was clean and could fir 4-5 people comfortably....it’s located on the 4th floor which is where the deck is.

Overall this is a great place to stay while in Reykjavik. I only have two complaints....first one is that the water pressure in the shower is really low so it takes longer to shower. The second and biggest complaint is about the noise. I don’t know what was going on in the apartment above us but the noise was constant at all hours. There would be loud banging, sounds of someone playing drums, constant footsteps....this was going on at all hours of the night so it made it difficult to sleep. My recommendation would be to get a room on the very top floor so that you don’t get this noise.

Feel free to message me if you have any questions about my trip or are looking for recommendations.

Room Tip: Stay on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Went with family to Reykjavik and stayed here and absolutely loved it. The apartment was modern and clean, and we all loved the outdoor jacuzzi as a way to relax at night. Our balcony had a great view of the main street and the sunset. Great location, right on the main street with restaurants and a supermarket within walking distance. The owners let us leave our bags while we waited for our room to be ready (we arrived around 6am) and we explored the town. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mogi14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Great hotel that is centrally located. I checked in at 1am and the man at the front desk was great at helping me find a place to eat. My one room apartment was huge and had a nice big bathtub. Super clean. It was nice to have a kitchen that I could stock with snacks. The best part of this hotel is the location. It's right off the main street and in walking distance to tons of bars, restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Laura50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We could not fault Room With A View. It is located right in the centre of the city and surrounded by lots of great cafes, restaurants, bars and shops. Our apartment was clean, spacious, modern and the bed was really comfy. The service was also a big plus point. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly - going the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable by phoning restaurants and booking busses and trips for us. We would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a 3 night stay 16th-19th of May. We had previously read the reviews about the noise and were quite worried ( my boyfriend is an extremely light sleeper), we e-mailed the apartments a week before we went asking for a room with the least noise.

When we arrived we were pleased that they had put us on the top floor and away from the street room 512.

Overall there was still a bit of noise but that all comes as part of staying right in the city, if you cant deal with it then stay somewhere of the main road.

I would definitely recommend the apt for a weekend break.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lara81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
996 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,640 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Property: Room With a View Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 106 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing