We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thor to the rescue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Room With a View Apartments
Ranked #16 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Thor to the rescue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

My two friends and I rented a two bedroom suite for a long girl's weekend and found the space to be perfect for our home base. The location was great, and by far, the concierge was the value add.

We required some help.. the best time for reservations, how to get to the Blue Lagoon, could we get more towels, HELP we locked ourselves out of the bathroom...the combo of lack of sleep and too much partying...the service was always met with a smile and solution!

Pros: Service and Location
Cons: Sulfur smell of water (get used to it, you're going to Iceland!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarryOnOnly_CJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    291
    109
    31
    34
See reviews for
144
326
34
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmadi, Kuwait
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2011

Check-in was a little concerning as our room was not available. However, the Desk Manager offered us a better room, but it was unclear what the issue was and I’m not sure what would have happened had we not wanted this alternative as the Hotel was fully booked?
The room itself was a Studio on the top floor with excellent views of Reykjavik, it had decking to two sides with a Hot Tub. However, the Hot Tub leaked and constantly needed to be topped-up, additionally it was rather irritating at night, as the pump was constantly cutting in and out. Another irritation was the lift being located just outside the room which was rather loud, regardless of what floor it stopped on. Many of the lights didn’t work in the room, and it looked like the general repairs had fallen behind. Several other items were either broken or missing, which was a shame as the whole feel and concept of the place was very good.
All that aside, the location was great, and you walked out of the front door into one of Reykjavik’s busiest streets, and only a few minutes’ walk from the Bars and Restaurants. The street noise was a little loud at the weekend if in the Apartment, and went on until 4am, but during the week it was quiet.
The Hotel Staff were very helpful in organizing trips and made all the local calls for us, giving lots of advise on who does what best. There was literally no need to go anywhere else to find the info, and the prices were exactly the same.

Room Tip: away from the lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dingbat-Ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

A lovely set up. Great location and very thoughtful with supplying high chair and cot.
HOWEVER, on check in we were given ear plugs (not a good sign). Night clubs on 3 sides and no double glazing. Music starts around midnight and on first night stopped at about 4.40am, Drunks continued to smash glass and yell until about 5.40am. We went to check out early and they offered to move us to the 'quiet side'. The receptionist said... we've never had a complaint from this side. (Clearly complaints all the time from everywhere else). We moved (should have forgone our money and moved. Again music started at midnight. Slightly quieter but still very very loud. You can feel your heart thumb with the bass. It did however stop around 3am! Yay..... Unless you are there to party all night - and sleep during the day. Find somewhere else! Rooms are clean but do not look like the internet photo!

Room Tip: Ask for the quiet side....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

We had two separate nights at Room With A View in April. Nice hotel, the rooms are comfortable and having a kitchen is very handy in a city where it's expensive to eat out. It's very centrally located on the main street and you can get picked up for tours easily.

The only bad points I'd say is the rather unfriendly staff (a smile isn't hard?) and the noise. My god the club next door is loud - seriously loud! I stayed in 305 and my mate had 402 I think. Both kept awake all night but the horrendous noise. Even with earplugs in I barely slept. So if you stay there ask for a room away from the side street. Howver during the week it was fine, just on saturday nights it gets incredibly noisy.

Room Tip: Get one away from the side street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robot3021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2011

I hope that this will give anyone a realistic account of the hotel...
The negatives - When I booked, I clearly read that there were saunas. I saw no sign of any sauna anywhere either in my room or on any other floor. I think the information also leads you to believe that if you stay in a penthouse suite, that you get your own jacuzzi - you dont. The jacuzzi was shared by any of the 3 rooms on the 6th floor, but remained broken throughout our four days. There is another jacuzzi on site, but everytime we went to use it it was full. So these two things are quite small negatives, but worth mentioning because when I booked, I chose this hotel over others in a similar location because the facilities sounded amazing.
Postives - you can´t get a better location. It central, and fantastic. The views on a clear day are awesome. We didn´t have any noise problems, but we were on the 6th floor, and because of other reviews I slept with ear protectors in! Staff are lovely, and super helpful.
I would recommend that if you are staying here, save some money and jump on the fly bus - get an onward ticket because it will take you straight to the hotel, and saves you loads of money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tanewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

The rooms are nice but not well maintained. Several things were missing/broken in my apartment (e.g. shower head broken, jacuzzi not on, furniture broken). Fully-appointed kitchen is nice, with coffee maker and coffee, but no coffee filters or milk?

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericbogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kouvola, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

We spent our honeymoon in Reykjavik and stayed seven nights in this hotel. The room was excellent and we loved it.
The staff was really helpful. Location was great but the noice coming from the clubs and bars were very loud during weekends.
We did use the jacuzzi almost every day and it was a really nice extra.

The only thing we didn't quite like was the breakfast that was very expensive.


All together this hotel is worth every penny.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ir0nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#17 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Room With a View Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Room With a View Apartments

Property: Room With a View Apartments
Address: Laugavegur 18, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Room With a View Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Room With a View is an Apartment-Hotel in the centre of Reykjavik, Iceland. We have a wide range of apartments, from small studios upto 5 bedroom apartments. Our apartments on the top floor have spectacular view over the city, ocean and mountains. Sometimes you can even see the Norhterns Lights from our balcony in the winter. Iceland is a great country to visit all year round. We welcome you to Room With a View.Free WiFi ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Room With a View Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Room With a View Apartments Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing