We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent, stylish small hotel located in the heart of downtown Reykjavik.”
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #45 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms are spacious and well-designed. The bed is extremely comfortable. It has all the necessary amenities a frequent traveler would want - free wireless internet throughout, a very good workout room, a comfortable bar/restaurant, and a great location. The staff was friendly and helpful. We went to Budir for one night and they stored our luggage for us, putting us in the same room on our return. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to this great city.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MemRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 502 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2009

I was unsure as to whether we should book this hotel as it's expensive and the reviews were quite mixed but we decided to treat ourselves and booked in for 5 nights. As the hotel wasn't very busy - and I suspect because we were staying for quite a while - they upgraded us to a deluxe room which is always a nice touch.

The room was nice and although not tiny it felt quite claustrophobic until we rearranged the furniture a little! Once we'd done that, it felt much more comfortable.

Plus points: Great bed, free internet, a bath in the bedroom in addition to a separate shower and wc.

Negatives: Very little space for clothing - a rail instead of a wardrobe - and a relatively small tv in a cupboard. I guess we expect a modern flat screen tv in a design hotel!

Breakfast was quite expensive as is the case in most of the hotels in Reykjavik. The buffet was pretty good but the only hot food included was some very unpleasant scrambled egg that had been standing around for a while.

The location of the hotel is great... right by the main walking street and although reviews mentioned noise, we didn't really hear anything although that could be because we were on the 4th floor at the back. There's no parking but you can park free of charge a few streets away which is very easy.

There's a lovely fireplace and some wonderful art in the hotel plus the staff were really nice and helpful which actually was one of the reasons I think the hotel really grew on us over the 5 days.

It's definitely a nice place to stay although I can't say it's great value for money if you don't get a deal on the room.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gunner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

I wanted to stay in the most luxurious hotel in Reykjavik. This seemed to be the best choice.

I stayed in room 401, which is a Junior Suite.

- Free internet access in rooms. Worked perfectly.
- Very clean.
- Large choice of merchandise in the mini bar. Almost like living in a shopping mall.
- Room service was fast, and the hot chocolate was the best I've ever had.
- The bed was very comfortable! One of the best hotel beds I've ever slept in.
- Staff was good, except that they couldn't find my reservation, and wanted to know if I was sure I had come to the right place (there is a 101 Guesthouse as well, which is much cheaper). I found that a bit rude.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2009

If you want to splurge in Reykjavik, this is the place. If you get one of the rooms with a balcony, I think its the best you can do, and thats saying a lot in a city with some great hotel options. Ive stayed in many hotels in Reykjavik and loved them all, but 101 is near perfection. I didnt give it a perfect rating only because it is so expensive. Its in a great location (right off the main street with some great restaurants nearby and the bay is a 3 min walk). The rooms were very clean with hi-end toiletries, an ipod deck, and cable tv. Service was friendly and check-out was easy. The hotel also had free wi-fi and a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Triplet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2009

Staying at hotel 101 has been perfect! The first stopover in Iceland, we extended our stay for a day, then we made a stopover on the way back just to stay again. The staff helped us plan our sightseeing and restaurants. They truly made Rekjavik shine. I strongly suggest staying here if at all possible.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
1  Thank thefidget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

Seldomely you can find Hotels like this nowadays for the following reasons:
1. Great Location , next to the main shopping street and next to the Cafe to be ( Solon Cafe)
2. Great Personnel: From the girls at the reception who can arrange everything concerning your trip, restaurant bookings and flights, to the smiley guys of the breakfast who can make the day start in a great Icelandic way.
3. Great rooms, with nice furniture and nice practical touches like a cleaver mini bar with things more than the ones you would expect to find ( DVDs, CDs, Books, Condoms, Hats, Warm socks etc etc). Room 101 is maybe the best room in town.
4. Nice living-room with a fireplace and a great decor.
5. Small but existing Gym and Spa
6. Great restaurant
7. Great design.
The only thing which could have been different is the general remote control of the TV/DVD....it's a pain, otherwise one of the best Hotel experiences which can make your stay in Reykjavik unforgettable.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

Don't be put off by the drab looking hotel exterior. Inside is an outstandingly designed funky oasis of Nordic style. Public areas are smart and trendy, the rooms are beautifully minimalist and luxurious. Staff are super friendly and couldn't have been more helpful.
We went by the previous reviews and skipped the buffet breakfast. We had breakfast in our room the first day - choice was very limited. The following days we went to some of the many excellent coffee houses & cafes nearby for breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank carolesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,194 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#18 of 55 in Reykjavik
432 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#12 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Marina Residence
#46 of 55 in Reykjavik
34 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Miõborg
Sandhotel
Sandhotel
#17 of 55 in Reykjavik
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#23 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $404 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing