We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Super Convenient Location!”
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
101 hotel
Ranked #45 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed July 29, 2014

If you are looking for a super convenient hotel, this hotel will be perfect for you. Only one block away from the main shopping areas and most importantly the famous hot dog stand! The rooms are very well decorated and comfortable. Didn't try the food as I opted for other local food instead so can not comment. As suggested by previous reviewers, we requested for a room on a higher level and facing away from the street for a better peace of mind.

Room Tip: Request a room on the higher floors facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joowick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 487 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is a great hotel, super rooms and divine bedding! Very modern, glass walls around toilet a bit too much for me, but otherwise great! Breakfast delicious and ambiance in the evening very warm. Location is super with our favourite stores just around the corner.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natascha C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Part of the Design Hotels affiliation, the Hotel 101 is centrally located about one block off the main shopping district and nearby to the harbour.

We had one of the Junior Suites and it was quite large, with both a shower and a separate freestanding tub. We had a decent view of the harbour and plenty of light, especially when we were there during the Summer Solstice. The one negative might be the hallways, which are quite dark and can make the stairs a little tricky when coming in from the light.

Overall the room was excellent, the lounge is very convenient, the service was on a par with other experiences in Iceland and the location is tough to beat. Like many of the higher end hotels in Reykjavik, the hotel is not cheap by any standard, but if you are looking for something with a little panache, the Hotel 101 is a nice choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Unless you will be happy at these prices for the location alone, I suggest you look elsewhere. Under-lighted hallways and hip music alone cannot make a good hotel.

Front desk help is nonexistent. Most of the time, you have to call out to get someone to help you. And I underscore the comments of the previous reviewer about the attractive female front desk staffer who is never there and seems more interested in preening than being helpful. There's no concierge and other front desk staff weren't all that knowledgeable about the basics in the city.

Food is good, service is terrible and slow. Even the buffet breakfast struggles because it was understaffed.

And for a hotel aiming so high, the mattress was not what you would expect.

Disappointed and would not recommend 101 Hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
4  Thank elg145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is not the best hotel I ever stayed in - but it was a very good choice for a short stay of 2 nights in Reykjavik. It is not a five star, so no one rushes out to help with your luggage, and the service at breakfast is basic. It is within the context of this particular city and the nature of this trip that my rating is 5 rather than 4.

However - here are some serious pros:
It is in an excellent location - easy to get to all sites and easy for getting in and out of town. Not that this is an issue, this is a very small city.
It is beautifully designed, very tasteful.
The room was spacious enough, light and bright, bed and beddings comfortable.
Front desk staff super-helpful and nice - they gave us excellent restaurants advice, booked us on a tour we wanted, and were extremely helpful when we needed some technical help.
Plenty of magazines on the shelf in the relaxed lobby - a nice touch.

OK:
Breakfast buffet OK, has enough for most people to eat, coffee OK too, mostly self service (decent but not brilliant)

Cons:
Not enough cupboard space
Toilet arrangement not the best (there is a glass door, but the bathroom is semi open space)
Shades/block screen on windows not entirely perfect (an issue in summer when it is light all night). Pack eyeshades!
A bit of street noise (maybe only our room/that side - we had 207) - but, be warned, make sure there is no event taking place in the public area around the Harpa (concert hall), as in summer they do have them weekly, we were told, and they are incredibly loud. I assume it affect most hotels, though. So if there is something going on I'd advise booking as far from it as possible.

Room Tip: Ask not to face the street if possible (not sure it is) - from noise point of view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capetonian14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The 101 Hotel is smack in the middle of downtown Reykjavik one block off of the main walk street. There are a variety of restaurants and pubs in the local area as well as the headquarters for bus tours around the island. The hotel is modern but the interior is painted black and the hallways leading to the rooms are dark. Parking is available close by. The buffet breakfast and dinner were good but pricey. The staff were helpful and professional. A bar is located across the street from the entrance so be aware that night time revelers go on until early into the morning and are loud if they have parked just outside a side room. The windows fog up when showering and opening a window may let in flying insects and allow the street noise to enter the room. We were there two nights and both nights there was substantial noise outside our window. With the window closed there is minimal noise but then the room remains hot. The room was clean and the closet space sparse. The hotel is expensive and breakfast and dinner is not included in the price. Wifi worked very well.

Room Tip: Request a room off of the street for reduced noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobWE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

One of the best features of this hotel is it's central downtown location. It's only a block away from the main shopping street with lots of restaurants. Also, if you're interested in taking any organized tours, the Grayline office is down the block. The room was fairly large with a comfortable bed and plenty of storage. The bathroom setup is a bit odd. The large shower is part of the bedroom and is fully visible as the walls are clear glass. However, the shower works very well. The room is well stocked with plenty of towels and toiletries and is clean. The hotel restaurant serves an excellent buffet breakfast. We also had dinner there one night and it was also quite tasty. However, the menu is fairly limited. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only negatives I can list is that if you open the windows for cool air it is quite noisy on the street below since there are lots of bars in the area. Also, the hallways are quite dark so it is difficult to see. Lastly, it's rather expensive compared to other hotels n the neighborhood. Although the hotel is a bit quirky in its decor, we would consider staying here again because of its superb location.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#23 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,144 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
413 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Reykjavik Marina Residence
#46 of 54 in Reykjavik
31 reviews
Miõborg
Sandhotel
Sandhotel
#29 of 54 in Reykjavik
47 reviews
CenterHotel Thingholt
#14 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#22 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $311 - $576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing