We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - worth the extra cost” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 101 hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added 101 hotel to your Saves list
101 hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland (Miõborg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic - worth the extra cost”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I took my sister here for her 21st birthday and we loved it, a nice treat. The service was fantastic, the staff really helpful with recommendations for places to eat and the best tourist attractions.

The bar appeared to be the place to be seen when we were there, heaving with beautiful people partying into the early hours. The restaurant, like the rest of the hotel is beautifully furnished/

The location was perfect for exploring Reykjavik and we had a nice view of the port. I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londonbornandraised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    143
    44
    21
    15
See reviews for
41
195
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I'd looked forward to staying at 101 Hotel for over ten years. Unfortunately, that's probably when this hotel was at its best. Since it was way too expensive for me during my first visit to Iceland before the 2008 economic crisis, I was excited to stay there during my second trip. We booked a King room for our first night in Iceland and arrived pretty late in the evening. Since everyone else must have been checked in for the night, I thought perhaps we'd receive a complimentary upgrade to a room with a tub, or just a nice room in our category. It wasn't a fully booked, high season kind of night. Instead, our room was at the back of the hotel and had view of the inner courtyard, which is to say of a grimy, aging art wall and heating/cooling facilities. The room was small and felt spartan instead of chic. Everything felt a little cheap. The hallways are dim and dreary/dingy, not dark and sexy/mysterious. No breakfast, not even a cup of coffee in the morning, was included. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed in on a ten day trip to Denmark/Iceland and it was the only place we stayed we didn't like. I think I would try Center Hotel Thingholt in the city the next time I go back. Or just drive in from the Blue Lagoon Clinic each day, it's amazing out there.

Nothing horrible happened to us and I don't doubt that the people who give positive reviews here had a great time. I don't want to make it out any worse than it is or complain about nit-picky details. This isn't a temper tantrum or a revenge review. But 101 Hotel has the reputation of being one of Reykjavik's (Iceland's) best hotels and nothing about it lived up to that reputation to me. We had an average/below average experience at a place that commands a premium. We also stayed at Hotel Budir, Hotel Egilsen and the Blue Lagoon Clinic during this trip and all of them were less expensive and far superior experiences.

Room Tip: Just book the cheapest room and ask for a King bed at check in. Paying more for a King room technica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trrricky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Had a great stay there and the staff was accommodating. Loved the design of the property and the public areas are beautiful. Would have liked a little more service but then again the Nordics have their own way. Over all a very satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddakhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The location is very good, and it is a small modernized hotel.
Pretty good service where the breakfast has a very small selection and is not included.
The rooms are small and without a separate bathroom, so not much privacy in these rooms.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stylish and hip yet calming and comfortable at the same time. The hotel is in a great location, and immediately upon entering, you notice the trendy, minimalist style. The front desk staff is incredibly helpful and friendly. Rooms are very nice, showers are spacious, and beds are comfy. This ranks up there with some of the best boutique hotels I've stayed at around the world.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank go12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights and really enjoyed this hip, stylish and comfortable hotel. It is centrally located and the front desk was very helpful with planning sight seeing, restaurant reservations, and generally just very friendly and welcoming. The room was beautiful -- simple, all white with some black accents, contemporary. A few nit picks: 1 bar of soap (requested second for shower and got it), breakfast buffet is just OK, not great. Still, loved the overall experience!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Pros: clean and hip. included breakfast. convenient location within the city with walking distance to everywhere. (less than 5 min walk to Baejarins Beztu Pylsur)

Cons: bathroom design was somewhat unusal. the floor was wet after showering. parking is not available so you need to park up the street in an overnight garage if you are renting a car. it's close but still an inconvenience.

Verdict: nice, chic hotel in center of town but definitely not a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bug52001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
CenterHotel Thingholt
#18 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 1,313 reviews
Hotel Borg by Keahotels
#25 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 stars 868 reviews
Miõborg
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
Apotek Hotel by Keahotels
#10 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Holt
#11 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#5 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Miõborg
Radisson Blu 1919 Hotel, Reykjavik
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 101 hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 101 hotel

Property: 101 hotel
Address: Hverfisgata 10, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Reykjavik
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
#19 Luxury Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 101 hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
101 Hotel is located in the oldest postal code of Reykjavik. Though the exterior will reflect the strength and character of its Icelandic history, the interior will be of refined elegance. Those who enjoy a balance of body and mind will appreciate 101 hotel's proximity to the business district, night life and geothermal pools, as well as the attentive amenities and services. Whether you are drawn to Reykjavik for work or play, 101 hotel is purely about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your 101 hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
101 Hotel Hotel
101 Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing