We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth paying more for the larger apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luna Hotel Apartments
Ranked #15 of 109 Reykjavik B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth paying more for the larger apartment”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I originally booked the studio, but when we saw it, it was so tiny! Fine if you're in your teens or early 20s, or like it cosy, but we were offered a chance to (pay to) upgrade to the a larger 2 bed apartment, and although we only needed 1 bedroom we were happy to pay extra as it was much nicer for us as we like a bit of space to stretch out! Elllert (and everyone we met) was lovely, we'd definitely stay at the Luna apartments and not even think of looking around next time we come to Iceland, the apartment was a few minutes from a basic supermarket, bus route, a lovely restaurant and some nice places to go out, also it was very warm and well equipped, what more could you want?

Room Tip: Don't pick the studio unless on a tight budget, on your own or a fan of confined spaces!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ispy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    69
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
90
140
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were welcomed after midnight by the owner's brother-in-law. He was friendly and helpful. We stayed in the well-equipped studio with two comfortable beds. It was cozy for two people, but had everything we needed. My only suggestion would be to replace the glass bedside table with a nightstand with drawers to allow a bit more space for clothing and luggage.
The best thing about the Luna was its location. It was close to a supermarket, a bakery, restaurants, shopping, the tourist office, and an easy walk to downtown.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emappeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent stay, the owner made us feel very much welcome, and his recommendations were spot on. It was very central in Reykjavik, and details of what the apartment contained had been well thought out. It was so nice to be able to make meals,too, there is a gorgeous bakery and a supermarket round the corner-which kept costs low.The beds, duvets and pillows were so cozy and we slept well.

Room Tip: Even though it was downstairs facing the street, the room was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a beautiful, spacious and very clean appartment on the 2nd floor. It was a one bedroom with 2 beds facing the back (very quiet) and a living room/kitchenette in the front. The studios are on the semi-basement floor and are smaller but ideal for one person, all equipped also and very clean. The maids come in and clean the appartment every 2 days and they do a great job. The owner was very nice, was there to meet us in the morning of our arrival and was very accomodating and answered all my questions very quickly over Emails before our arrival. Location is perfect and parking is easy in the streets nearby. Will go back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingfrenchman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I whole-heartedly recommend Luna Hotel Apartments. We stayed for 5 nights. Ellert is very helpful and kindly upgraded my son and I to an apartment on Amtmannsstigur with a double room and a fabulous sleeping loft. My son adored the loft. The apartment was very clean, warm and comfortable. It truly felt like a home from home. The kitchen had everything we needed for self-catering with a cheap (for Iceland!) supermarket and superb bakery immediately around the corner. Everything was in easy walking distance and easy to find. If we ever have the chance to go back to Iceland, I will definitely be booking Luna again. Reykjavic is fun for all ages and Iceland rocks so if you haven't been yet, book now!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We have just returned from 4 nights at the Luna Apartments. We stayed in the top floor 2 bedroom apartment in the main building. Ellert was very helpful on arrival pointing out points of interest and giving us our bearings. He also went out of his way to make arrival and leaving as stress-free as possible. Can't fault the apartment. It was clean, comfortable and well-equipped. There's a handy supermarket round one corner and a bakery round another. All the main tour operators will pick you up from outside the building

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsT251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Upon arriving exhausted in Iceland we were welcomed warmly. We stayed three nights and were upgraded to a spacious, light-filled apartment (much larger than needed) in the auxiliary building. The location is excellent with just a short walk to the main activity of Reykjavik, but on a side street meaning noise was limited in the evening. There's also a nice market just around the corner. Since we were on the top floor the narrow stairs made carrying luggage a bit awkward, but the modern decor and views from the apartment were great. An excellent choice and good value if you're looking for a well-equipped, comfortable apartment in the center of the city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Noah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
970 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum
#20 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Hotel Apartments

Property: Luna Hotel Apartments
Address: Baldursgata 36, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Luna Hotel Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna is a luxurious fully equipped apartment hotel, conveniently located in the heart of Reykjavík, in a quiet, charming, older residential area free from downtown traffic and noise, but in walking distance from the city center and Laugavegur, the main shopping street. It is also within walking distance from all major restaurants, bars, cafes, clubs, public transportation, museums, embassies and other activities. Luna is ideal for both short and long term stays. We offer studio, one bedroom, two bedroom, three bedroom and four bedroom apartments. All apartments are elegantly furnished with a private bathroom, fully equipped kitchenette, free internet connection, satellite TV, radio and other small things to make life easier. If you want to enjoy your vacation or business trip then Luna is the right place for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Luna Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing