We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in good location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We booked the hotel for a city break based on the previous Tripadvisor reviews and overall we were pretty pleased by our choice. The best feature of this hotel is its location being easy walking distance to the centre of Reykjavik and close to the harbour. We stayed in one of the historic rooms which looked nice on the hotel web site but we were a bit disappointed by the small size of the room, I don't know if the other types of room available are bigger but I overheard the receptionist telling someone else the historic rooms were probably the nicest. The hotel room was clean and had a TV and free wifi but no tea or coffee making facillities.

Given it was a pretty cheap hotel I was impressed by the breakfast that was included in the room price, the selection included the usual cerials yoghurts etc but also had a good range of fruit, breads, cheeses and for the adventurous cold fish.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,737)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,416 - 1,422 of 1,737 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2010

Room was a bit grubby and tired - crack on wall and paint knocked off in places - ok I suppose but not 3 star - some staff a bit offhand but enjoyed Iceland - internet was n t working

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harwichgirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights as part of an IcelandAir package. The location is very good, at one end of the main street, so restaurants and shops were within easy walking distance - a real plus point. There was free wi-fi access, which is very convenient to check up on restaurants, museums etc. We found the staff very helpful - they checked up on excursions for us, and made restaurant bookings. We wanted a hotel that included breakfast, as we had heard of the expense of eating out. In practice we found a good range of eateries, from budget to fine dining. But the breakfasts were fine, with a good cold selection of hard boiled eggs, various herring based dishes, cheeses and cold meats, fresh vegetables and cereals. Our twin bedded room was OK, and had a desk and chair. It is more travelodge style, rather than any grander pretensions. The hotel had no restaurant, or lounge area. But the breakfast room doubled as a bar area, and the friendly barman would make a decent espresso for us in the evening. I don't think the hotel would claim to be a vibrant venue during the day or evening. But it worked very well for us. We went on many excursions, and ate out every night. At the Iceland air package price this hotel is excellent value - we would without hesitation stay here again. Note that this hotel is on the pick-up list - so the Flybus Plus and excursions will pick you up from here, and set you back. Very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, it is in the perfect location for walking to the shops, cafes and restaurants but far enough away not to be bothered by street noise late at night as Icelanders like to party late. We had a sea view room which was basic but comfortable and clean. Breakfast was buffet style and there was plenty of choice. The gentleman (name escapes me for now) on receiption was very friendly and informative and spoke good English which made booking trips, etc very easy. The lady on reception does have a tendancy to come accross as unpolite and stern (perhaps just her way). Our departure flight was early and the hotel laid out buffet breakfast for us at 0430hrs which we thought was terriffic service.

Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
Thank Alastair B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

If you plan to have any fun in Iceland do not stay at this hotel. Although it is a great location, walking distance to the city centre, most of the staff were rude and unhelpful. No one was forthcoming with information. We felt unwelcome and insulted throughout our stay. Furthermore my husband and I were treated like students away at boarding school, not adults visiting our friends in Reykjavik. The rooms are small and uncomfortable, similar to a dorm or a hostel. When we wanted to bring an Icelandic friend whom we were visiting back to our room, the night women insulted her and screamed at her in Icelandic. However, I did not read a "no outside visitors" clause in our contract. Some rooms did have a great ocean view, but ours did not.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

Really good hotel in a great location. Main shops only five minutes away. Had a large room, with sofa and kitchenette at the front of the building. Breakfast plentiful and transfers two and from airport prompt.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucksMysteryVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

I returned from a three night stay after booking a package with Icelandair-there were a few hotel options but I'm very glad I chose Baron as the other hotels seemed to be very far from the '101' district where all the action is.

The hotel is cleam and right by the harbour-which is about a 1minute walk from the 101 street where all the nice shops, restaurants and bars are. The rooms are very nice-top tip that I read on tripadvisor was to email the hotel before visiting to request an historic room. I did and they gave us a spectacular room with wooden beams, four poster bed and skylights!

Breakfast is very good-you have to make waffles which there is certainly an art to but I am proud to say I was able to master during my stay.

All the tours pick up from Baron and the reception is very helpful in assisting with bookings plus there is a computer with free internet access so you can book tours online which will often be at a discount.

We did the Blue Lagoon and Gran Circle tours which I would say are a must if it is your first visit to Iceland. We really wanted to do the Northern Lights however there were snowstorms during our visit so visibility was zero.

Also the zoo is really, really good and very cheap only £2.50 entry!!! We got to stroke animals such as sea lions, horses, cows, pigs, goats plus there are reindeers and minke!

Iceland isn't as expensive as you think-drinks were around £3-5 each so no different from London prices and food was similar. One restaurant did a special whale steak menu which came in at £30 for three courses which was really tasty but ofcourse it is still possible to eat for £5-10 if you're on a stricter budget.

All in all, I really miss Iceland and when [not if] I return I would stay at the Baron again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrJV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,142 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
972 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
918 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,293 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#32 of 54 in Reykjavik
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $136 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing