We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good 3 star hotel”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A good 3 star hotel”
Reviewed September 25, 2006

We stayed in Fosshotel Baron room 410 (double, standard) for 2 nights.

GOOD POINTS. Location was very good, an easy walking distance from all the main attractions. Local shops were just around a corner. Our room was spacious and quiet. The breakfast was good and freshly baked pancakes were delicious. We were able to book our Blue Lagoon trip easily via reception. Staff were helpful.

BAD POINTS. Not many. We had a prepaid voucher where we requested a double room with an ocean view. Upon our arrival they had no record of us and gave us a twin room facing graffiti wall (room 421). Upon our request this was rectified right away and we got the largest room (I think) on our floor with a nice view. The beds were little too soft but my partner didn't seem to mind that. The water smelt of sulphur. By the way this is normal on this island with so much geo activity going on.

OVERALL. This is a good 3 star hotel and we felt happy to have chosen it.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Mr_B_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    829
    345
    75
    29
See reviews for
243
786
103
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2006

I stayed here two nights with a stopover in Reykjavik from Europe.
Hotel staff is very helpful and friendly. Convenient location with breakfast buffet. Internet access available with fee.

  • Liked — Location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank texasredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2006

The hotel is wonderful- clean, with a great location and an outstanding staff. The breakfast room is a little small, but the staff kept the buffet table well stocked. I realized several days after our stay that I had left a bag of souvenirs and a video tape of the first part of our trip in the room. I called and the receptionist went into the room to check, but, alas, could not find the items. Nearly a month later I received an email from that same receptionist. The items had been turned in, just mislabled. She sent them to me in America! What great service! We will most definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanlittle48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
218 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed for 3 days at the end of May. Arrived at 0130 after a short while someone came to the reception desk, and check in was fine. However, the room was a disappointment, in spite of its size as the bedroom curtain was half hanging off its rail. This must have been obvious to the cleaners so we were surprised for it to be like this. Although we were on the first floor the rear car park was level with our window, so we weren't too well pleased. Luckily being resourceful the cutlery was used to effect a good repair to ensure privacy. In spite of mentioning this defect, it was never repaired during our 3 days, has it been now?
The room was large with comfortable beds, lounge/kitchen and shower/toilet - a bit battered in places but fine.
The continental breakfast buffet was good and was constantly topped up, on odd occasions it was a bit chaotic pre 0900. There is a small car park out front, but plenty of spaces to the rear. The reception staff will assist in phoning car hire/tour companies for you, and theres plenty of leaflets in the reception. Within the local area theres 2 24hr supermarkets and a Domino pizza takeaway. Usefully for afternoon departures theres a left luggage room.
You can walk along the shore or via the main shopping street into the town centre within 10 minutes.
Overall a good hotel at a good price let down by a basic flaw in the bedroom, not remedied by their staff.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2006

We loved this hotel! We were able to check in at 9:30 am, they have free attached parking and we were upgraded to a bigger room. Employees were friendly and breakfast the next morning was delicious. Great location for exploring Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2006

The staff were so helpful! They got us great reservations, sketched maps, confirmed excursions, and were terrifically helpful. The buffet breakfast was high quality and Scandinavian in nature. The hotel was well situated next to the harbor with a grocery store, main shopping district, restaurant, and bus station near by. Clean, convienent, and comparatively low cost. When we return, it will be to the Foss Baron.

Helpful?
7 Thank travelbugNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2006

We spent a long weekend at the FossHotel Baron along with a group of friends. The staff was very helpful and efficient. A pleasant buffet breakfast was included with the room. The dining room is small and it is often necessary to share a table with strangers which yielded some delightful conversations.
Some rooms include a separate sitting area and some of those include a basic kitchen set up. The standard rooms (without the sitting area) are rather small. The best rooms are those facing the water giving a great view of the midnight sun.
The only negative thing was that our party included 2 single women and the hotel could not provide a room with two twin beds; the best they could do was a room with two beds next to one another with no space between them. Due to the size of the room the beds could not be separated.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDhereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,083 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing