We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 53 Hotels in Reykjavik
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
197 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed for 3 days at the end of May. Arrived at 0130 after a short while someone came to the reception desk, and check in was fine. However, the room was a disappointment, in spite of its size as the bedroom curtain was half hanging off its rail. This must have been obvious to the cleaners so we were surprised for it to be like this. Although we were on the first floor the rear car park was level with our window, so we weren't too well pleased. Luckily being resourceful the cutlery was used to effect a good repair to ensure privacy. In spite of mentioning this defect, it was never repaired during our 3 days, has it been now?
The room was large with comfortable beds, lounge/kitchen and shower/toilet - a bit battered in places but fine.
The continental breakfast buffet was good and was constantly topped up, on odd occasions it was a bit chaotic pre 0900. There is a small car park out front, but plenty of spaces to the rear. The reception staff will assist in phoning car hire/tour companies for you, and theres plenty of leaflets in the reception. Within the local area theres 2 24hr supermarkets and a Domino pizza takeaway. Usefully for afternoon departures theres a left luggage room.
You can walk along the shore or via the main shopping street into the town centre within 10 minutes.
Overall a good hotel at a good price let down by a basic flaw in the bedroom, not remedied by their staff.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daveashuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    310
    796
    331
    75
    27
See reviews for
237
757
98
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Michigan, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

We loved this hotel! We were able to check in at 9:30 am, they have free attached parking and we were upgraded to a bigger room. Employees were friendly and breakfast the next morning was delicious. Great location for exploring Reykjavik.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2006

The staff were so helpful! They got us great reservations, sketched maps, confirmed excursions, and were terrifically helpful. The buffet breakfast was high quality and Scandinavian in nature. The hotel was well situated next to the harbor with a grocery store, main shopping district, restaurant, and bus station near by. Clean, convienent, and comparatively low cost. When we return, it will be to the Foss Baron.

Helpful?
7 Thank travelbugNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2006

We spent a long weekend at the FossHotel Baron along with a group of friends. The staff was very helpful and efficient. A pleasant buffet breakfast was included with the room. The dining room is small and it is often necessary to share a table with strangers which yielded some delightful conversations.
Some rooms include a separate sitting area and some of those include a basic kitchen set up. The standard rooms (without the sitting area) are rather small. The best rooms are those facing the water giving a great view of the midnight sun.
The only negative thing was that our party included 2 single women and the hotel could not provide a room with two twin beds; the best they could do was a room with two beds next to one another with no space between them. Due to the size of the room the beds could not be separated.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MDhereandthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2006

This hotel is great for families. We stayed here for 3 nights in January, and for $150/night (good for Reykjavik) we got a 1-bedroom apartment with full kitchen, including a separate fold-out bed in the living room for our daughter, and a full, tasty breakfast (meat, cheese, bread, DIY waffles, fruit, juice and hot drinks). The staff was REALLY helpful, and arranged trips for us as well as answered a billion questions and gave advice on how to get places and do things. The hotel is also very central - two blocks from either the Hlemmur bur stop or Laugavergur (main shopping street).

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kipinmadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2005

Arrived at Foss Baron at 8am after overnight transatlantic flight. reception was manic but cannot fault reception staff. Extremely helpful and made a room avilable to me immediately when the most I was hoping for was to be able to leave my bags somewhere. Room was basic but comfortable and WARM !
Staff very helpful.
great location and price - 1 block from main shopping drag.
would stay here again.

Helpful?
10 Thank mike007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2005

My wife and I stayed at the hotel in late February 2005. We found the service to be impeccable. The reception desk employees all spoke perfect English (as do most Icelanders) and were exceedingly helpful. They will gladly confirm a reservation, check prices or provide directions. The hotel is just off the water with great views of Mt. Esja and just two short blocks from the main shopping street. A few blocks up on Baronstiggur is one of the city pools - worth the expericence. The breakfast buffet is very good and the hotel is clean. The room was well apointed although a little spartan in a Nordic style. Definitely a nice hotel!

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,156 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#25 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 53 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#14 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing