We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Fosshotel Raudara(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$328
$267
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$440
$400
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Odinsve(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$293
$273
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$279
$254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$280
$202
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$326
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$485
$403
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$451
$393
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,889)
Filter reviews
1,889 results
Traveler rating
398
948
411
94
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
398
948
411
94
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerbreadthe main shopping streetdomino's pizzanorthern lightssea viewmake your own waffleshot waterhappy hourpaper cupstwo blocksthree starblue lagoonbreakfast buffetherringsulphur smellexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
723 - 728 of 1,889 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2015 via mobile

My husband and I visited Iceland for our honeymoon and stayed at the Fosshotel Baron. Upon arrival we were given the "honeymoon suite". It was a spacious room with a microwave, fridge, and stovetop. The attached picture is the view from our balcony. The bathroom was rather small with a standup shower, toilet, and sink. Barely enough space for two in there at the same time. Each morning a hot breakfast was provided in the restaurant. It was delicious and a great way to try some local favorite breakfast treats. The staff was very pleasant and spoke excellent English. Always willing to point us in the right direction and provide us with great recommendations. The hotel is next door to a Dominos pizza shop (although slightly different than US Dominos) and a fast food place. It is also close to the main shopping streets, Skólavörðustígur and Laugavegur.

Stayed: October 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Emily I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2015

We stayed for 6 nights at the Fosshotel Baron. We have 3 children, age 9, 7 and 1. We took the 2-bedroom family suite (which has an efficiency kitchen, small dining table and sofa in a central room). It was a good value, with free Wifi, free parking, and had plenty of space, as we put all three boys in one bedroom (with baby in a crib providing by the hotel), and my husband in the other. We returned late from airport/sightseeing on several evenings, so it was VERY convenient to have the supermarket at the end of the block for a quick, easy dinner in room. It was also nice to have snacks and milk in the fridge for the baby and the kids. The room and furnishings are very basic and a bit worn out, but given the value and space provided, I didn't really expect more. I was able to bathe the baby, despite there only being a shower, in the bottom "well" area of the shower basin because there was a plug provided. The hot/warm water has an unpleasant sulfurous smell, which isn't unusual for Iceland, but some places are lucky not to have it - depends on the water source. I wish there had been more drawers to put clothes away. There were very few; mostly closet space with not very many hangers. The hotel breakfast buffet was terrific, with a waffle iron, lots of meats, salads, fresh fruit, breads/pastries, coffee/juice, yogurt, cereal, etc. Very nice. Every evening, the parking lot was full so a few times, we had to park on the street. Because we left early, it wasn't a problem and we didn't need to pay at the meters (you pay only during business hours, really). Overall it was a good value; sufficiently roomy and clean; convenient... definitely not fancy or luxurious, but the breakfast buffet was much above average. And, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KidsOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015 via mobile

This hotel has great beds, large and clean room and lots of variety at breakfast! The staff is friendly. The style is a little 80's, but very clean. Our room had a nice view on the lake Tjornin, but the wi-fi wasnt working. It is well located from Reyjavik centre!

Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Msophi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2015

The hotel was disappointing, especially having experienced the Icelandic accommodation outside of Reykjavik which was so good. The rooms were small and tired. The shower was a shower base with a curtain on 2 sides. The TV had limited channels.

The rooms were quiet and the location was very good for the main street. Parking outside the door was a bonus.

I would have given it a rating of 2 but the breakfast was very good with hot and cold choices. Probably the best we had in Iceland.

So very much a mixed review.

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Colin_Guernsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2015 via mobile

Central hotel with fab breakfast

We've got a free upgrade and excellent customer service by the manager Liliam and Frans from Austria.. professional and very warm service

The nicest people and perfectly located

Stayed: May 2015, traveled solo
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews