We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel for the price”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Lancashire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fab hotel for the price”
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel located slightly out of the centre but only a 5 minute walk to shops etc. We had a large clean room (upgraded at a reasonable charge with huge balcony from which we saw the Northern Lights every night of our stay) with good bathroom. Smell of sulphur in the shower slightly off putting but this is everywhere - top tip, don't close your bathroom door when out for the day as it just gets worse!!
Breakfast was a little hectic with no one to seat you so we ended up sharing tables with people just to get a seat. Good choice of food though and we made up cheese and meat sandwiches to take out with us for the day so we didn't have to buy much on our excursions.

Staff at hotel great - helpful and speak perfect English.

Ate in a few places and had a Dominos from just a few doors down. Expensive for food and drink but again this is Iceland for you.

Highly recommend this hotel :-)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tinkertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Tinkertraveller,

Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts on your stay at Fosshotel Baron.

Hope you enjoyed all that Reykjavik has to offer and hopefully you will have a chance to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    834
    351
    77
    29
See reviews for
246
792
107
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The location of this hotel is excellent and the breakfast is also good. The rooms are pretty basic though and our curtain didn't close properly. Felt a bit run down and drab.The bathroom was tiny with just about enough room for a shower. If you want something that serves solely the purpose for sleeping and you're not looking for anything special then this place is fine but it could certainly do with updating. The decor is depressing.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the shabby chic ones. These looked much better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_BBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Charlie_BBP,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We really appreciate your feedback and I am happy to read that our location was suitable and that you enjoyed our breakfast.

Some of our rooms are in a need of refurbishing and this is something which is scheduled in the near future. Nevertheless I hope you did enjoy your stay in Reykjavik and at our Hotel.

Thanks again for your review
Best Regards
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were looking for a centrally located hotel close to the main drag but also convenient for the many driving day trips we took. Fosshotel Baron is very convenient to the major highway and a short walk to the main street where all the shops and bars are. It was very easy to get around to all of the sights we wanted to walk to and also to drive to the more distant locations. Parking was easy. The room itself was nice, not luxurious but a good size and very clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for convenience, low price, and nice service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Ann A,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback on your recent stay at Fosshotel Baron.

Hope you managed to experience everything Iceland has to offer during your stay.

Best Regards and thanks again
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 14. The hotel is located about 5 mins away from the main shopping street and looks to be in an older building. We were given a suite room with a view of some construction going on at the back. I found the room to be a bit dark, it could have used an additional ceiling light near the bed.

The breakfast food was good, with much more variety as compared to other places. The staff was also extremely helpful when we mixed up our reservations and arrived at the hotel one night before our supposed stay. They let us put our luggage in their luggage storage room while we packed the essentials and went back to another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

There are three beds possible... Two singles and a double sofa-bed... Do not lay in this as is a terrible excuse for a bed... Food in my opinion was not up to much... Amenities were very good though with a great bathroom and there was a microwave, cooker fridge, sink and cutlery and crockery, great location.. 2min walk from Reykjavik high street and 10 min walk from Reykjavik cathedral
In my personal opinion.. There were probably better hotels for the same price

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack_Da_Lad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
521 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for five nights on our first trip to Iceland. As we arrived at the hotel in our rental car, we noticed street works out the back of the hotel. When we checked in we were told our room faced the back. Given we didn't want to take the risk of being woken by machinery, we asked for a room at the front, which they had available, though we paid for the upgrade. It was a corner room with a separate bedroom. Perfect. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was terrific, the wifi was free and didn't drop out once and the parking was also free provided you parked in front of the hotel. All in all I'd recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went to Reykjavik in May to celebrate my partners birthday, and booked the "historical room" for 3 nights. The room was a bit small, we could barely pull out our suitcase to find clothes, and the ceiling, as we knew really, was low over the bed. The bathroom was a bit worn out, the showerhead especially. For the rest it was okay. It is very sentral, and thats the biggest reason we chose to stay at this hotel. They also had an okay breakfast with croissants and fruits and you could make waffles. I enjoyed it very much, partner didnt. He thought it lacked fresh bread.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Line F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Line F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and this is a great tool for us to see where we can improve. I am glad our location was suitable and that at least you enjoyed the breakfast, I am however sorry our breakfast disappointed your partner.

You are right that our historical rooms are quite small and some of the shower heads needs to be replaced, which is something we are working on. Even though your room did not meet your expectations I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Thank again for posting your review and hope you have a great summer.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,291 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,090 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing