We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Baron
Nearby Hotels
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$225
$191
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$261
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$332
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$329
$291
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$299
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$497
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
393
935
403
91
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
935
403
91
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerbreadthe main shopping streetnorthern lightsdomino's pizzasea viewhot watermake your own waffleshappy hourpaper cupsthree startwo blocksblue lagoonherringbreakfast buffetsulphur smellexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
952 - 957 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in May 14. The hotel is located about 5 mins away from the main shopping street and looks to be in an older building. We were given a suite room with a view of some construction going on at the back. I found the room to be a bit dark, it could have used an additional ceiling light near the bed.

The breakfast food was good, with much more variety as compared to other places. The staff was also extremely helpful when we mixed up our reservations and arrived at the hotel one night before our supposed stay. They let us put our luggage in their luggage storage room while we packed the essentials and went back to another hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

There are three beds possible... Two singles and a double sofa-bed... Do not lay in this as is a terrible excuse for a bed... Food in my opinion was not up to much... Amenities were very good though with a great bathroom and there was a microwave, cooker fridge, sink and cutlery and crockery, great location.. 2min walk from Reykjavik high street and 10 min walk from Reykjavik cathedral
In my personal opinion.. There were probably better hotels for the same price

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Jack_Da_Lad19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here for five nights on our first trip to Iceland. As we arrived at the hotel in our rental car, we noticed street works out the back of the hotel. When we checked in we were told our room faced the back. Given we didn't want to take the risk of being woken by machinery, we asked for a room at the front, which they had available, though we paid for the upgrade. It was a corner room with a separate bedroom. Perfect. The staff were friendly, the breakfast was terrific, the wifi was free and didn't drop out once and the parking was also free provided you parked in front of the hotel. All in all I'd recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We went to Reykjavik in May to celebrate my partners birthday, and booked the "historical room" for 3 nights. The room was a bit small, we could barely pull out our suitcase to find clothes, and the ceiling, as we knew really, was low over the bed. The bathroom was a bit worn out, the showerhead especially. For the rest it was okay. It is very sentral, and thats the biggest reason we chose to stay at this hotel. They also had an okay breakfast with croissants and fruits and you could make waffles. I enjoyed it very much, partner didnt. He thought it lacked fresh bread.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Line F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear Line F,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback, good and bad, and this is a great tool for us to see where we can improve. I am glad our location was suitable and that at least you enjoyed the breakfast, I am however sorry our breakfast disappointed your partner.

You are right that our historical rooms are quite small and some of the shower heads needs to be replaced, which is something we are working on. Even though your room did not meet your expectations I hope you nevertheless enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Thank again for posting your review and hope you have a great summer.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This hotel is wonderful to stay in. We were there for a week and found the staff to be friendly, very helpful and extremely efficient. The room was a attractive and beautifully cleaned every day, with a minimum of fuss - we especially liked their options for Eco-friendly attitudes to towels etc, in our room. The reception staff were very well informed about transport arrangements & tours, efficient & helpful with any queries and departure arrangements for the airport. Breakfast was extremely good - with a wide choice of cereals, fruit, a cold buffet, homemade bread rolls, and hot or cold drinks. The staff worked hard to maintain a good supply of food, and cleared /cleaned tables quickly and without fuss. We would recommend this hotel to visitors and hope to return there before too long.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RuffordLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Dear RuffordLancashire,

What an excellent feedback! Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Fosshotel Baron and hope you will have the chance to visit us again in the future.

Best Regards from Reykjavik
Kristbjorn Gudmundsson
Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews