We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel for a resonable price”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 55 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed April 25, 2014

When you go on Iceland you will experience very soon: all the prices are 2-10 times higher than in your country. This is not the case in this hotel. price is reasonable, hotel as well. I mean: not a luxury, but you will have all you need for a reasonable stay: room is warm (which is much appreciated after a cold island tour), bed is super, bathroom clean. The basic needs. We stayed there in April for 5 days. Furniture is simple, but you have all you need when you jump tired and frozen in the evening. As they had several teenage grops I expected to be noise in the evening. In contrary: noise isolation is very good!! You can sleep in silence.
If we can complain it is beacuse of breakfast: hotel is hosting several groups in the mean time, but they can not handle them in the breakfast room. It is a mass, it is dirty and it is crowded in the morrning!! You wait often 20 min for a table, then you sit a really dirty one - or you clean it yoursef. Then you queue up for some low qulaity food for other 20 min.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kito9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn G, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review. We appreciate your feedback and I am glad that you were happy with your room and our prices. But you are correct about Iceland, in general it is very expensive compared to many other countries.

I am however sorry you had such a bad experience at breakfast and this is something we can learn from. We had problems on some dates in April when large groups were coming to breakfast at the same time which caused the breakfast room to be overcrowded and I am sorry you had to experience that.

Again thank you for your review and hope you enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik.

Best Regards
Kristbjorn
Manager at Fosshotel Baron

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,809)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

931 - 937 of 1,809 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in February. Even the hotel was full of people, receptionists are pleased to help you, to tell you anything you need. The room old fashion style, in white, very confortable, very clean, and with ketle! I had a lot of tea. Sometime not enough air. I didn't mint of the smell of hot water, it is normal in a volcano thermal zone, the sulfur.Breakfast was a feast! The croissants'' smell and the 4 fish salads taste made our stay excellent! Thank you all for kindness!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Millana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Iceland was great and the people couldn't have been friendlier. Didn't find the prices too different for most things - didn't buy alcohol though. Hotel is average but breakfast is very good - make your own waffles in the morning. Visiting the Blue Lagoon and Golden Circle are a must.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Liked the hotel a lot. Stayed here for 5 nights, staff was very friendly and helpful. Location is excellent, you're 2 minutes from the main street, 5 minutes from the harbor and the rest of the center so all in walking distance. Breakfast was good and they kept filling it up (very crowded but they handled it well). There is also enough parking place in front of the hotel for your rental vehicle. Rooms are nice and clean, nothing special (standard twin room)! Would absolutely recommend it.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rogier H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed in the two bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities and could not fault it. It was lovely to get in from a long day out and be able to make yourself a drink of tea/coffee or grab a beer from the fridge. It was a great location on the edge of the town but close to all the amenities. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great, a wide variety to choose from. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

A last minute booking for 3 nights stay only cost me Euro 81 per night (2pax). My room was as beautiful as the professional picture shown with a very comfy bed. This is very important for a soundly sleep to prepare for the long walk on the next day. Me and my bf joined the Geoiceland excursion who picked us up daily and this does the same to the round trip coach booking to the airport. The restaurant, flea market, harbour, shopping places, and church were in the walking distance and u can have a sea view from the loft window if u got a similar room to my room. The most exciting thing is their breakfast which including a range of basic breakfast foods, but also waffles, scramble eggs and ICELANDIC fishesss! This breakfast should cost you at least 15-20GBP if u get it from the local restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jiahui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We arrived after 2 bus trips from the airport to find, after a prolonged wait, that ourselves and a young couple had no rooms. We had both booked through a city break deal with Icelandair, dating back to December 13 for an easter break. The youngish blonde lady at reception at first didnt want to speak to us and when she did, just casually said we had no rooms. She then procceded to spin us tales of it was everybodies fault but theirs, that they only found out we were coming the day before and that it was icelandairs fault. We questioned her hard and she started to say that it had been full for ages?? So why had we not been informed before, by the hotel or by the airline. She said we were being transferred to another better hotel, but no views and not central, so how was that better? Then we were told to get a taxi?? Sorry but that needs to be arranged at the hotels cost not ours. We as couples agreed that we had lost a central location, views of the harbour and mountains, but the lies, tales and total disregard for the CUSTOMER by the staff and hotel was disgracefull. As we were leaving we saw a large party of students arriving requiring an enormous amount of rooms, there was our answer, bumped out of ours to accomodate a large party. Be warned the hotel has no idea whst honouring a booking means. A very poor advertisement for Iceland

Room Tip: Book another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martinc265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#36 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,017 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,180 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#33 of 55 in Reykjavik
981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,103 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 55 in Reykjavik
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $163 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing