We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* Value”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Brighton
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“3* Value”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Other reviews have said it all and you just need to weigh up if this is the right option for you.

We spent 3 nights at the Baron on an Icelandair package. It was a great deal and we are glad we chose it. It was clean, comfortable and warm. The breakfasts are good and reception can help with booking trips, checking your tour reservations, checking in with your return flight etc. Their English is great, sometimes they were really helpful and sometimes indifferent.

Having read reviews we chose to contact the hotel before and upgrade for ISK 4000 a night for a double ocean view room. The large windows look out over the seafront and mountains, the room was larger and to us this made it worthwhile. We also took our own tea/coffee mugs and were glad that we did. Free wifi is also a bonus although it can be weak in the rooms and once I had to go down to the reception area to use it.

Overall the Baron is a good 3* option. It is not a sprawling luxury hotel but it ticked all our boxes. All the tours pick you up from the hotel and the location is good, a road back from the seafront, the main shopping/restaurants only 2 blocks behind the hotel and a 10/15 minute walk to the main harbour and centre.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms cost ISK 4000 extra per night and are pleasant, quiet and roomy. However the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    834
    351
    78
    29
See reviews for
246
792
107
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
wilmslow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having just returned today from a three day stay at this hotel, can only say it was an underwhelming experience. The receptionists were unfriendly and provided the minimum of help and information. The rooms were clean but very basic event to the extent of providing only cardboard cups in the room. Even greater concern was that the entrance to the hotel was like an ice rink and lethal as the unswept snow froze. I would expect this to have been salted and gritted as other hotels were to prevent a potential serious accident to their guests. This typified the penny (or krona) pinching culture of this hotel.
The breakfast was just adequate between 7 am and 10 pm, but if you had to leave early before this time for an early flight, the breakfast choice was far from from adequate.
The location was convenient with a good choice of restaurants nearby.
I would imagine that a youth hostel would be no worse than this hotel.
Look elsewhere!

Room Tip: If you so not want a view of the car park, you can upgrade for an extra £20.00 per night. But you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Title says it all; the hotel is very centrally located - only 2 blocks from the waterfront in one direction and the main shopping street in the other. The desk staff were very helpful in recommending restaurants, booking tours, etc. and did so with a smile and sense of humour. Happy hour in the bar was good value and breakfasts were very adequate. In the negative camp, the room was very basic with not a lot of storage space. However, it was clean, warm and comfortable, and this is a 3-star hotel, so you shouldn't expect luxury.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bb1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

Just returned from 5 day stay at this hotel not expecting the Ritz but chose it due to other reviews recommending the location. This hotel is very basic,although very clean and warm (we had 3 days of snow) our room was very small and the furthest away 231 with only skylights for daylight which made it extremely dark as there were only 3 small lamps,to our amazement on viewing from the outstanding it was over the local 24 hour supermarket,albeit we heard no noise at all. The bar was much to be desired and was very very expensive apart from happy hour 5 - 7pm, although closed one night with no notification,this room also doubled up as the breakfast room!! Where the breakfast buffet was arranged was such a tiny are it was hectic every morning so not really an enjoyable experience although the food was alright with a reasonable choice which was replenished quickly. The hotel is in the downtown area which is close to the main shopping street, it is value for money compared to other hotels but has no facilities at all so I would consider this to be more like a guesthouse,I have no complaints with our stay but as the saying goes " you get what you pay for"

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brisca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its central location in Reykjavik and the discounted web-price that included a 2 bedroom apartment.

Although we were expecting the hotel to be fairly basic and lacking any "frills", we were generally surprised at how little service was offered at the place. The rooms were clean and tidy, but sparsely furnished, draughty and plain.

The reception areas are understaffed, so they do not have enough time and resource to help you make the most of your stay. On the first night, I asked if they could recommend any decent family restaurants in the area, and they suggested that we walk down the main street until we find somewhere. I asked if there was somewhere I could charge my camera (as I only had a USB lead) and they replied blankly "No". Service was all dead-pan, neutral. Nothing to complain about, but nothing to recommend.

The breakfast range was surprisingly good, but the breakfast room was inadequate. Twice we had to wait around for tables but there was no official queue, no-one around to help sit you down, and the buffet itself was a free-for-all. Staff came and went to help top-up the various offerings, but didn't help with any service at all (again, they wouldn't have had enough staff to do so).

Some of the other residents were, frankly, quite rude too. Elbows jostling for position as people piled their plates before heading off to attack the next experience on their bucket list. No time for 'hellos' or 'good mornings'. Depressing.

The same room turns into a happy-hour bar between 5pm-7pm and that's worth popping along to. It's fairly quiet then, and the fellow holiday-makers seemed more happy to pause and reflect on enjoyable days spent. (And the drinks are fairly priced for Reykjavik.)

All in all, we really enjoyed Reykjavik, and would love to return to visit Iceland in the summer. There's nothing wrong with this hotel, but we've also stayed at Youth Hostels that offer a better all-round experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Knowing it was a 3star we were slightly sceptical however firstly I would state if your wanting a delux hotel with creature comforts then no don't book but if you want a clean friendly hotel with a breakfast that does the trick and a happy hour 4-7pm for when the weather is bad then it is perfect.my main point is its location!!!3min walk to Main Street perfect!plus 2 doors down the Kex Hostel (before dominoes)brown door labelled "Kex" easily missed does amazing food and decor to die for!hostel it is not!!had a folk night when we were there amazing!!!Icelandic ppl are lovely friendly and sooooo relaxed!! One thing I would say is be prepared to spend money,we stayed 3 nights and food is not cheap unless u eat £2 hotdogs daily.head for happy hours in bars usually 4-7pm £6.35 for 2 pints doubles after this time.food about £6-12 per course BUT I never had a bad meal!!!!!big up to Jon in the bar of Fosshotel Baron for his hints tips and genuinely nice guy!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Fabulous hotel! Great location just a short 5minute walk to shops / bars / restaurants. Staff were awesome, and very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast was great, loads of choice and didn't disappoint. Would highly recommend it ;-) x x x

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayLamont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
906 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,296 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,090 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing