We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #38 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Were transferred from the Lind to this hotel for last night of trip due to over booking - a little miffed at the thought but needn't have worried. Much better hotel than the Lind and a great location. The room was far superior - very big with a kitchenette, sofa, coffee table and balcony AND a balcony with a side view of the ocean.
Good beds, very large bathroom with a decent shower. Only downside was that three different room attendants arrive to clean the room well before checking out time, whilst we were still in bed - knock briefly and entered the room.!!
Breakfast was the same as the Lind, so very good. Only downside is that the breakfast is laid out in a cramped space so a bit difficult if lots of people arrive for breakfast at the same time.
R.

Room Tip: Room 212, - see above review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam050950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,783)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

954 - 960 of 1,783 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for four nights in February and found it welcoming, clean and comfortable.
The room decor was a little dull and the bedside reading lights only 40 watt! The brew kit was basic with a kettle, paper cups and plastic stirrers So bring your own if you want a decent cup of tea/coffee.
The staff at the front desk were always very helpful and, of course, their English was impeccable.
The hotel is situated about fifteen minutes walk from the centre and in harsh weather this could be a disincentive to going out.
Breakfast was very enjoyable with something to suit all tastes; even a bottle of fish oil for those with a taste for it! One could even make one's own waffles, and there was marmalade too!
There is no restaurant at this hotel but soup is available at the bar.
It may be useful to know that there is a small supermarket immediately behind the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank razala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have just returned from a trip to Iceland staying in this hotel. The hotel is in a good location on the harbour front and only a few minutes walk to the centre of Reykjavik. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we were lucky enough to be allocated one overlooking the harbour. The breakfast was substantial which included a hot option. I would certainly stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Try to get one overlooking the harbour as the rooms at the back overlook a car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have just spent a fantastic long weekend in this slightly out of the main town hotel. We had a package booked through Icelandair but before arrival I had contacted the hotel who responded very swiftly to arrange an upgrade to an ocean view room. Well worth the extra £60ish for 3 nights. The view was amazing but also meant we were able to spot the northern lights from the warm rather than waiting outside for them to come out. We were very fortunate to have seen them every night we were there and being in such a great location we were able just pop outside to the sea front and capture some fantastic photos.

The hotel itself was clean, warm and welcoming. When I wanted to check the pick up time with one of the trips we had booked the reception staff were happy to contact the operator and confirm the details for us, nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel itself was just slightly out of the main town centre, but only a 10 minute walk along the sea front and you were in the middle of it all. For us we found the location perfect, easy to access everything we needed but just far enough out to be quiet. As has been mentioned before, it would be nice if they provided proper cups in the room rather than paper cups, tea coffee and creamer were all in good supply and you could always ask for more if needed.

Breakfast was really good, continually being topped up and lots of choice. We found going about 8.15 seemed to miss the main rush as most trips seem to pick up guests about 8.30.

We were in room 512 which I was a little concerned about to start with having seen a previous review which said the lift noise disturbed them. I am a light sleeper but I didn't have any problems at all, I have stayed in 5* London apartments in a room next to the lift which caused more problems.

All in all we had a fantastic weekend and will be looking to return to the Baron in the future.

PS. Useless bit of information time, we visited the National Museum and discovered that the 101 supermarket at the back of the hotel is the oldest concrete building in Iceland and was originally a cow shed!

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend paying the bit extra for the ocean view rooms, even if the northern lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t1nkerbe11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This hotel is in a great position and provides all that is required including clean rooms, helpful, knowledgeable, polite staff and an efficient service.
We stayed in one of the original rooms (231) which was adequate if a little on the bijoux side. Think the other more modern rooms may be a little more spacious.
The situation of the hotel would be difficult to be better placed. Absolutely ideal for the city visitor.

Room Tip: See review
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SusanTunnacliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

The room was clean and warm and we were lucky to have a view across the harbour towards the mountains which were spectacular. Staff were very helpful. Only complaint would be the lack of proper cups, spoons and milk with the tea and coffee.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 260HelenS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

the hotel was great clean tidy and warm the staff at the hotel were very helpful, friendly and just couldn't do enough for us . we had trips booked which they would check to make sure they were going ahead and they helped us when we had to check in online .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joannat702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,005 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,164 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
405 reviews
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
691 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $138 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing