We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel. Good Location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here with a friend for 4 nights at the start of Oct 2013. Hotel is in a great location with beautiful views just a short walk round the corner.
There is a 24 supermarket at the back of the hotel which was really helpful for the occasional snack and drink.
The rooms were small but very clean, warm and comfortable, just what you need after a day of exploring. The staff were also very helpful. We had a buffet breakfast included in our cost which was brilliant as we were able to fuel up before heading out into the cold!!
All in all great value for money, would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Salsa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,755)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

982 - 988 of 1,756 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

The hotel certainly met expectations and delivered what it promised. The location was adequate enough for me and was within walking distance of the central tourism areas. The room was clean and was adequately furnished. The bathroom had a lingering fan noise, but the front desk offered to change my room without a fuss. This is a solid base hotel that should allow you easy access to enjoy Iceland and have a good night's sleep afterward.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wheelsupUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We got relocated here from another more central hotel which had been overbooked so initially we were unimpressed however we really liked the hotel and the staff were top notch. There is a handy 24 hour supermarket just around the corner which was invaluable as we only had an hour between checking in and going out on an excursion. There is also a Dominos nearly right next door where we got a pizza when we got in late and tired the following night. The main shopping street is only two block up from the hotel so it is handy for cash machines, eating, drinking and shopping. The staff were very helpful getting us rescheduled for pick ups due to the hotel change and giving us directions and were friendly as well as efficient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pound_Witch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Baron after Christmas 2013 and it was exactly what we were looking for.

The rooms are fine - smaller than many but not cramped. Tea/coffee facilities were replenished every day, though the television had no sound the one time I tried using it. Not a huge issue though as you'll seldom be in your room as there is so much going on in Iceland. The bathroom was small and was unheated - with the strong ventilation to get rid of the hot water sulphur smell it got a bit chilly, and it was looking a touch tired, but neither spoiled the stay. My room was on the 2nd floor at the end of a long corridor, seemingly the only floor to have rooms here atop the supermarket behind. The skylight and sloping roof was a bit noisy from the snow and wind so a room in the main building is probably a bit better.

Breakfast was excellent with hot eggs/sausages to compliment the extensive complimentary spread. The buffet was replenished often and whilst seating could be tight at peak rushes the staff coped very well. They even provide a limited cold option for bus departures to Keflavík from 4am - unexpected and really welcome.

The location is pretty good. You're 2 blocks towards the water from the main shopping/restaurant street, and no more than 10 minutes from key central sites. In deep winter the pavements can be a bit treacherous with hard packed ice, particularly the Baron's car park, but roads are typically quiet an clear for walking. If you're going on a tour Reykjavik Excursions seem to be the biggest, and tied in with most hotels. Reception book tours for you and it all worked fine, including the early airport departure. One tip - pay the extra for Flybus+ if arriving from Keflavík as they'll take you to the door, it's a mile up and over a hill from the bus station to the Baron.

All in all a very solid 3* hotel that gives a good base for a city break. I'll return next time I go to Iceland.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the bay don't suffer the weather on skylight windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed at the Baron for 3 nights and it really served us very well indeed. A warm, friendly welcome, with very helpful staff (we mentioned to reception we were headed to the bus terminal to go to the Blue Lagoon, they offered to arrange a pick up from the front door at no extra cost, which we took them up on) and absolutely terrific value for money.

The room wasn't the largest, but absolutely fine for what we needed; there was WiFi and tea/coffee making facilities, basically everything you'd expect from a hotel room these days, and it was spotless clean, if spartan in decor. The breakfast was decent though very much contintental (that's not a criticism) and although it was "7-10" they make exception if you're on very early flights and can start from as early as 4am. Airport transfers are, of course, arranged to pick you up from the hotel.

Reykjavik isn't exactly a big city, but some hotels really are quite a walk from the centre - not the Baron, however. Less than 10 minute walk and you're at the heart of Laugavegur and Bankastræti, where the majority of bars, cafes and restaurants are situated. It's also a block from the sea front.

Overall this was the perfect base for a long weekend in Reykjavik and I'd definitely stay here again if (when!) I return to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 10MC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice and not very expensive hotel in front of the ocean.
Good and complete breakfast included.
Bathrooms could be more spacious but in general the rooms are fine.
Some of the rooms have a beautiful view to the ocean.
Islanders are very kind!
Do not hesitate to stay here.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Andres S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

A simply fitted out hotel, the Baron is nevertheless comfortable and quiet. The staff were all very friendly and seemingly able to organize anything the traveler needs. Free WiFi which worked well (loads of this in Iceland) and an excellent breakfast. Location is very close to the main shopping street and there is a car rental place just outside. Don't expect the facilities of a five star hotel and you will not be disappointed - an excellent place at a reasonable budget!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter M Grant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,154 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
987 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
CenterHotel Skjaldbreid
#38 of 54 in Reykjavik
667 reviews
Miõborg
Hotel Fron
Hotel Fron
#28 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $138 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing