We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #41 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I think this is rated as a 3 star hotel which is about right if you just look at the rooms but the location and staff make it 4 stars. Everywhere is clean and tidy and as others have said the breakfast is plentiful if you can bear to go without a full English.
The rooms are a reasonable size with adequate cupboard space but you will spend little time in your room as there is so much to see over here.
If the couple that asked me to send a couple of Northern Lights photos happens to read this I have loss your email address please get in touch

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. I´m glad to read that you enjoyed our location,liked our breakfast and that you were happy with our staff.

Hopefully the person waiting for the northern lights pictures will see your review. Not everyone is lucky enough to see the northern lights in their short stay in Iceland and they can be quite breathtaking on a clear winter night.

Best Regards from the team at Baron
Kristbjorn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,704)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,704 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a busy hotel catering for lots of tourists. In fact we were upgraded to an apartment as the hotel was overbooked. It was very clean and comfortable. The reception staff are excellent and provide a friendly helpful service. They speak very good English.
The breakfast is continental buffet style and is very adequate. On leaving we had to make an early start (5 am) and a breakfast was still available although understandably fresh croissants etc. had not yet been delivered.
The hotel is very conveniently located just a couple of blocks from the main shopping street and just a 10/15 minute walk from the city centre. There are plenty of restaurants in this area. There is even a small food supermarket open 24 hours just a block away where you can buy some essentials if necessary.
We would certainly stay here again should we return to Rekjavik.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gargar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at the Baron for 10 days in February 2013 and were quite satisfied with our visit.

The location is just a pleasant walk from the downtown core and is quite close to the waterfront.

Our room was comfortable and well-attended; the only difficulty I experienced was a sore back as I adjusted to the different bed.

The breakfast buffet was a nice way to begin each day.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Backpackrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. I´m glad to learn you were satisfied with your visit to our Hotel.

I however sincerely hope that the sore back didn´t bother you too much and that you adjusted quickly to the bed.

Again thank you for your review and your recommendation is greatly appreciated.

Best Regards from Reykjavik
Kristbjorn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Clean rooms and beds. Rooms very warm, but windows did open. Friendly and very helpful staff, plenty of breakfast, if a little short on hot food. Close to city centre and good value. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deadlegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Stayed her in feb 2013....the rooms with the sky light are a little small and there is little storage.....but nothing else negative to say!!!...The hotel,,,, the rooms and the bathrooms are very warm and clean.....Staff very helpful speak excellent English too....The breakfast although continental is ample. Plenty of everything up until 10am....the warm croissants...mmmm....The Fosshotel Barron is in ideal location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very positive review of our property. I´m happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our location was ideal for you.

You are right that the rooms with the skylight are a little smaller than our other rooms, These are our so called historical rooms and these rooms are actually very popular as many like the cozy charm of the historical rooms. However for those looking for a more spacious experience we have other rooms more suitable.

Still glad to read the room was warm and clean, and that despite the lack of space you still did enjoy your stay. Of 120 rooms in our Hotel only 20 rooms are in the historical category so if you ever come again we will have a more spacious room waiting for you:)

Thank you again for posting your review.

Best Regards from Barón
Kristbjörn
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

very good hotel , rooms are warm ,clean ,staff very helpful and freindly , breakfast very good and plenty of it . good location 5mins from main shopping street , resturants . a very 5 nights stay . just across the road to the bay a nice walk by the sea with the mountains in the background , 10 mins more shops cafe paris very good lunch

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thusclub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

A good if simple hotel which was clean, friendly, and convenient for the town and tours. The room was simple, and a little dated in appearance and the shower room quite small. The rooms which are featured on the hotel's website are special upgradable rooms and I was a bit confused by that when booking, but the room we had was comfortable nevertheless. The breakfast was excellent and a simple breakfast is arranged for those leaving before 7.00. Good range of tours. A 24-hour supermarket selling all manner of fresh food is directly next to the hotel which is handy. On the website, soup and bread is promised in the bar at night. We had this on the first night but did not feel it was worth the price charged. Good sleep and room was quiet. Limited number of TV channels. The wifi in the room is chargeable and not all that reliable. However, on the whole a good hotel and I recommend it and would be glad to stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you check if your room is one of the themed historical rooms featured online
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyWildman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
955 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,131 reviews
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#37 of 54 in Reykjavik
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,462 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $140 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing