We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feb 2013 (Valentines Weekend)”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #36 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Feb 2013 (Valentines Weekend)”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Coming from using 4* hotels this was a fantastic hotel. The receptionists were friendly and knew when every bus/excursin coach would arrive. Free wifi in lobby and dining area (option to pay in the room was available) fo personal devies but they also had a desktop in the lobby should you wish to use one (i assume it was free).

Location was 5 minute walk from city centre and there was a large 24/7 local grocery store behind the building (equivalent of a Teso or Sainsbury's local). Breakfast was great, really good pain au chcolates and crossants omlettes however were quite weird.

The only mistake they made was giving us a twin room insteadof double however as the room and shower was very clean (and I mean spic 'n' span) I was happy to not ask for the double as the twins were already put together (plus i enjoy my space).

There are two restaurants outside the hotel and having visited te trendy restaurant I was impressed. I had lasagne and g/f had cod with couscous-very nice. Do remember all meals range fro £10-£20, there are no cheap meals out there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhairy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    829
    345
    75
    29
See reviews for
243
786
103
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I spent a brief weekend in Reykjavik at the Fosshotel Baron.

The hotel is located across the street from the bay. I arrived before my room was ready, so the staff invited me to have breakfast in dining room while I waited. It was an impressive spread or a continental breakfast.

Despite only having 1 elevator and an uninspiring typical hotel hallway, the room was absolutely charming. The valted ceiling with beams over the bed. It was clean and comfortable. Since a large number of icelanders speak english, there were plenty of english speaking channels on the TV. Watch out...hot water was HOT, HOT, HOT! Definitely organic in aroma.

The only down side was that the bed had indvidual sized comforters. It was like sleeping under a sleeping bag. I would wakup in the morning with my legs cold since the comforter was wrapped around me.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TXNN312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We had a large double room with excellent views of the sea and snow capped mountains. The service, cleanliness and position of hotel was very good. The breakfast was of an excellent nature that kept us going for the day. One minor fault was the lighting in the room was poor. The trips were also very well arranged with lots of adventures to be had. If we ever come back to Iceland we would definately book in the FossBaron.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on at least level 3 facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Colcar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice hotel,staff are very helpful and will arrange all trips for you door to door. Close to the center and harbor. I loved the local breakfast set us up for a long day traveling. Good selection of bars and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
378 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I agree that the rooms here are small and our bathroom was on the cramped and shabby side (cracked and chipped basin and rather short shower curtain) and the old TV kept freezing but in every other way this place was fantastic. The location is superb - close to a 24-7 supermarket, minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant street and only about 20 minutes from the old city centre. The breakfasts were far better than we expected and we were even more surprised when they laid on breakfast for 5:00 am on our last morning. The staff were all lovely - friendly and informative. We spent 4 nights at the hotel, beginning on a Friday night, and although there were quite a few young party animals around it wasn't a problem. Also the place is scrupulously clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed there for 4 night/3 days and had to pay a little extra for an upgrade to a room with a view of the mountains but it was worth it! My room was always warm, bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing! Hot and powerful. I was on the 5th floor which was reasonably quiet although I could here people in their rooms (not sure how it would be in peak season)
The front desk was manned at all times and all staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. Even managed to give me a plug adapter as I had picked up the wrong one from home.
Free wi-fi in the lobby although somewhere warm to sit would have been nice. The chairs always got a draft from the door, wherever you sat, and the only other option was sitting in the bar.
Breakfast was good. Big selection of fruit, pastries, bread etc. and the coffee (although out a machine was very good)
Hotel was in a good location and everything was within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

An excellent experience all round, clean bathroom (essential ) and room, comfy beds, and extra pillows when I needed them. The location is easy access for the shopping, walking around to the harbour along the sea front, and within easy reach of a number of restaurants, both for fine dining and simpler food.
The breakfasts had been mentioned in previous reviews from other visitors and did not dis-appoint. The staff are very pleasant and could not be more helpful. I am going to return to Iceland and will stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel as you get a view of the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,266 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#27 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing