We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Loved the breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice hotel,staff are very helpful and will arrange all trips for you door to door. Close to the center and harbor. I loved the local breakfast set us up for a long day traveling. Good selection of bars and restaurants near by.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skf87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    813
    342
    75
    28
See reviews for
239
775
100
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
375 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

I agree that the rooms here are small and our bathroom was on the cramped and shabby side (cracked and chipped basin and rather short shower curtain) and the old TV kept freezing but in every other way this place was fantastic. The location is superb - close to a 24-7 supermarket, minutes walk from the main shopping and restaurant street and only about 20 minutes from the old city centre. The breakfasts were far better than we expected and we were even more surprised when they laid on breakfast for 5:00 am on our last morning. The staff were all lovely - friendly and informative. We spent 4 nights at the hotel, beginning on a Friday night, and although there were quite a few young party animals around it wasn't a problem. Also the place is scrupulously clean.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I stayed there for 4 night/3 days and had to pay a little extra for an upgrade to a room with a view of the mountains but it was worth it! My room was always warm, bed was comfortable and the shower was amazing! Hot and powerful. I was on the 5th floor which was reasonably quiet although I could here people in their rooms (not sure how it would be in peak season)
The front desk was manned at all times and all staff were approachable, friendly and helpful. Even managed to give me a plug adapter as I had picked up the wrong one from home.
Free wi-fi in the lobby although somewhere warm to sit would have been nice. The chairs always got a draft from the door, wherever you sat, and the only other option was sitting in the bar.
Breakfast was good. Big selection of fruit, pastries, bread etc. and the coffee (although out a machine was very good)
Hotel was in a good location and everything was within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

An excellent experience all round, clean bathroom (essential ) and room, comfy beds, and extra pillows when I needed them. The location is easy access for the shopping, walking around to the harbour along the sea front, and within easy reach of a number of restaurants, both for fine dining and simpler food.
The breakfasts had been mentioned in previous reviews from other visitors and did not dis-appoint. The staff are very pleasant and could not be more helpful. I am going to return to Iceland and will stay in this hotel again

Room Tip: Ask for one at the front of the hotel as you get a view of the mountains and sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spent 3 nights in this hotel with a great view of the sea and snow covered mountains. Staff excellent, location and breakfast good. Only downside (but not a problem) was the small shower tray but the water pressure was brilliant. Comfy beds and good pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front near the top of the hotel for a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MairGravatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Fosshotel Baron is well located, near both the waterfront and the main shopping street, Laugavegur. It's also just a short walk from the Hallgrimskirkja church (the one that looks like a space shuttle to me- be sure to take the lift to the top for the views). Walking to the Tjornin lake and to the harbour is also very easy- in fact walking anywhere in central Reykjavik is easy as it's so small!

The room was mostly good: it was cosy and warm despite the freezing temperatures outside; comfortable single beds pushed together instead of a double provided a good night's sleep; and tea, coffee and a kettle were provided, as was an electronic safe.

The bathroom was a disappointment though: it had a tiny wash basin and the shower was just a small shower tray in the corner with an old shower curtain to make up the other two sides of the 'cubicle'. Moreover, the curtain was slightly short so you had to be careful to ensure it stayed within the confines of the shower tray, otherwise the whole bathroom floor would get soaking wet. However, the actual water was good: a strong flow and more than hot enough. Coming from geothermal sources, its sulphurous smell can be a bit offputting, but you get used to it. And the water is meant to be good for you, so it's like having your own natural spa.

Breakfast was pretty good, even if it was the same every day: a good selection of warm sausages, cold meats, cheeses, jam, rolls, bread, croissants, cereals, yoghurt, fruit salad etc. For some reason, they cut unpeeled bananas in half, which makes them go brown and very unattractive. The breakfast room can get very busy with people eating before going out on their coach excursions.

The hotel's clientele seems to be mainly English, or UK-based, many on package tours via Icelandair.

Wifi is not free, though there is a free Internet terminal in Reception.

All in all then, it's a decent hotel; and despite the sub-par bathroom, I would have no objections to staying here again, but I would also look around for possible alternatives...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jezster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Just got back from a brilliant few days in Reykjavik. Stayed at the Baron as part of an Icelandair package.

Location
Excellent location close to the main shopping street and also the ocean. Ideal location for seeing everything in the city. 24/7 shop round back of hotel, Dominos next door and fast food restaurant across the road.

Room
Room was always warm and toasty. V dated furniture but I expected this from reading the reviews. Small but perfectly adequate size bedroom. Bathroom was tiny and had possibly the worst shower ever - small shower tray, fixed height shower head (shower caps were a necessity) and a shower curtain wrapped round that you had to be careful you had all of it inside the tray and stuck to the wall or you'd get water all over the floor. The shower would be better and less claustrophobic with a proper cubicle there. Hairdryer in bathroom was actually decent at drying hair.
Double bed was very comfy but very confused as to why we had a single duvet each and not a double duvet.
Only hotel I've ever stayed in where you have paper cups in your room for your tea/coffee.
TV had 3 British channels - Boomerang for kids, BBC entertainment and Sky News. Good variety but unfortunately they kept freezing so had to be reported to reception.
Really liked the view from my room as we were on the side of the hotel so could see the ocean and mountains one way and the city the other.

Cleanliness
Couldn't fault - always very clean.

Breakfast
Excellent choice of breakfast - cereals, fruit, waffles, choice of breads, pastries, sausage and weird omelette as well as various cheeses, meats and fish mixtures. The juices were nice and coffees good. My other half said he would have liked to have had the option of porridge but you can't suit everyone!
The early morning breakfast (at 4.30am) was also very good. Although not as much choice as above, it was still a lot more than I expected to have at that time of the morning.

Customer service
Staff were amazing - all friendly, knowledgeable with excellent English and a smile. Enjoyed being taught some Icelandic by the barman and the receptionists were excellent at sorting out trips, taxis, any problems etc

Facilities
Always a jug of water on reception - very refreshing.
Happy hour in bar was good and nice to relax with a drink at the end of a long day/before you go out.
Free wifi and a computer with internet in reception.
Loads of tourism leaflets to help yourself to.
Pick up for trips/Airbus from hotel so ideal.

Downfalls
Unfortunately, there were two elements of our stay here that affected our enjoyment. Firstly, arriving at the bar for a nice couple of relaxing drinks before bed on Friday night, we were greeted by a large party (about 16) of people in their late teens/early 20s. Very noisy chatter, occasional singing and when a couple of the girls started screaming, I got up and left the bar straight away as I couldn't stand the noise any longer. Other guests had already downed their drinks and left too for the same reason (with a couple wishing us luck on their way out). Obviously the groups noisiness was not the hotels fault, but nevertheless, I would not return to this hotel on a weekend again if these groups are normal as our planned relaxing night was anything but. Prob just getting old but was just too noisy for a hotel bar - more suited to a normal bar/nightclub.
The other downfall of the hotel is the noisiness of the room doors when they close. We were woken several times each morning (earliest at 4.30am) by people going on trips/to the airport/etc. Just as you drift back to sleep, someone elses door will bang and then you're awake again. I myself tried to shut the door quietly as I left early this morning and it doesn't happen. If I return to this hotel, I must remember ear plugs next time to ensure I get a full nights sleep.

Overall, ok rooms, exceptional staff, excellent breakfast and location. But remember to take earplugs! The customer service, location and breakfast makes this a 4*, as without these, the hotel would be very much average.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wheretonext1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#22 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fosshotel Raudara
#38 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Laugardalur
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
Storm Hotel by Keahotels
#8 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#28 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing