We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #37 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Me and my friend booked this through an offer with Icelandair and we were very happy with the whole experience. Our twin room was very spacious and very clean.The hotel staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was plentiful and delicious. We did a couple of trips and each time the coach would collect us from the front door of the hotel. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the main shopping area where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. All in all a fantatic weekend and if I get the chance to go back there is still plenty to see and I would book to stay in the same hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristbjorn, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very glad to hear you and your friend enjoyed your stay in Reykjavik at Fosshotel Barón. Iceland has a lot to offer in the winter so I am happy to hear your trip to Reykjavik in dark December was a success.

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel and for this excellent feedback.

Best Regards from Reykjavik
Kristbjörn
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    834
    351
    77
    29
See reviews for
246
792
107
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We got a Sea view, and although we ended up liking the hotel for its other benefits, we were slightly disappointed with the room as it was quite small and basic. But it was clean, warm and quiet and the beds although not the most inviting were very comfortable, so much so i struggled to get out of bed. Breakfast was good, but be prepared for a scrap if like us you stayed in bed a little too long, especially Saturday as we waited 20 mins for a table with no service on hand to help, once seated you then have the problem of getting round the rather small self service area where a good selection of food is on offer but with around 30-40 people trying to do the same. That however was the only down side, the staff were helpful and the rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. Our shower was amazing on full blast it actually hurt, albeit smelling of Sulphur (this is normal in Iceland). Location wise perfect, quiet enough away from the busy down town area but literally 1 minute away from the relatively busy Laugevegur street where all the main restaurants, coffee shops and shopping is to be had. We fully recommend the Buddha Restaurant/Cafe the evening set menus were as good as its gets for me. Everything is a short enough walk away, it took us about half an hour to get to the Glass domed Pearl (Perlan) which is also fully recommended for its views and also the national museum inside.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Just got back from a week in Iceland staying at this hotel. The trip was awesome and the hotel was great. The room was basic (I went for the cheapest as you spend very little time in the rom) but the bed, which to me is the most important part, was extremely comfortable. It was also spotless. We had a minor unforsen issue with our toilet and we were moved rooms without hesitation. The staff couldn't do enough for you and assisted us with booking trips and changing existing bookings. The breakfast was really good, amazing coffeeand fresh juice and lots to choose from and really set us up for each day. All in all, I will be going back and will be staying at a Fosshotel (there are 7 I think) as they are a really good place to stay. I was really impressed.

Room Tip: If you pay extra you can get a sea view room, however, we had 2 different rooms, each with different...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

First visit to Iceland staying in reykjavik, first review on tripadvisor so you,re getting it warts and all . left a day earlier due to snow forecast for our area (south Wales ) good decision as it turned out ,stayed the first night at the premier inn at heathrow very nice stay ,2nd night at the renaissance where we parked the car , as you know the weather was,nt great and lots of flights were cancelled thankfully ours left on time ,we flew with iceland air, very good airline.book the fly bus to get to the city they will drop you off at your hotel very easy to use.Stayed at the Foss Baron hotel not the highest rating of hotels but very clean and reasonably priced, very good staff always willing to help in booking trips etc,Continental breakfast plenty to choose from and the chance to make you own waffles, room was comfortable and the water very hot , but the best thing about the hotel is its location close to the front and just off the main shopping street. Pre booked a trip with superjeep to see the northern lights great fun the guys searched everywhere trying to find the lights but they were being very elusive took us up to the top of a mountain overlooking the city bitterly cold and very windy, wear loads of layers and tie your hat on mine is on its way to greenland . then off to a beach to see the sea . then into the countryside still in search of the lights, be warned getting in and out of the jeeps can be a bit awkward quite a step up ask them to get the small steps if you have difficulty.on the way back to Reykjavik when we did get to see the lights albeit for only 5 minutes so be prepared for not seeing them as they are very unpredictable, also we did not get back to the hotel until 1.15 am so if you have a trip booked for the following morning you will not get much sleep. booked blue lagoon next day at the hotel great fun cold and windy cover your face in mud stand up and feel the mud setting on your face, then smile and feel it all cracking, funny. also booked the Golden Circle tour with Iceland guided tours this tour is a must taking in the geysers ,national park , craters and the waterfalls. a big mention to Odin our guide brilliant very informative and funny, check out their website they have a special price for January well worth it. Food and beer prices , a beer will set you back around 950isk but all the bars seem to do a happy hour between the hours of 5 and 7/ 8 even the bar in the Baron has it. food is a bit on the expensive side lots of fish and lamb dishes but then you choose what to eat and at what cost, do go to the hot dog stand by the flea market everyone seems to go there great. also a mention for the svarta cafe in the main street they do a cobb roll filled with soup of the day lovely on a cold day....so remember wrap up warm and get out and see the sights Cracking...: )

Room Tip: ask for a room in the front lovely views of the mountains and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank willwales53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just back from a northern lights weekend with icelandair. A very well organised trip and the lights are amazing when you eventually see them. The first night was wet and the trips were cancelled but we were not booked on this one anyway.

We explored Rekyravik on Friday which is a very nice city. We mostly explored downtown which has great restaurants and coffee shops. The Loki cafe is definately worth a visit, would recommend the rye icecream.

Stayed in Fosshotel and couldn't fault it. The breakfast was good with a choice of juices, bread, cereals, sausage and cubed egg, didn't try it and alot of biscuits and cheese and meats. The rooms were quiet, we were facing the car park.

Friday evening we went out to see the Northern Lights and stood from 9 to 1 am and saw nothing. Beginning to think there was as much chance as seeing pigs fly we went back to the hotel with very little hope. Then the next night we went out again free which was a nice surprise and were we glad. It was amazing and well worth the 2 and half hours sleep we had before having go check out to catch our flight.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smiler552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The service was very welcoming and the reception team were willing to do anything and everything to help us make the most of our time in the city.
Well located, short walks to lots of great places and short taxi rides to places like The Pearl (worth a visit).
Good breakfast too, included. Suite was ok, had kitchenette. Modestly sized.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clodaghinlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Stayed 4 nights at FossHotel Baron in January. Reception (24 hours) staff friendly and helpful throughout stay. Room was clean and spacious, with view across car park to fantastic church (great views of Reykjavic from the top of the tower). Sulphur smell of hot water took a little time to get used to. Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of choice, although hot options limited. Easy stroll to restaurants in centre, with choice of seafront or interesting shopping street. Nice bar for nightcap drink on return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Lind
#33 of 52 in Reykjavik
905 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#36 of 52 in Reykjavik
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Laugardalur
Fosshotel Reykjavik
Fosshotel Reykjavik
#21 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,292 reviews
Fosshotel Raudara
#39 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,090 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#14 of 52 in Reykjavik
1,140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Property: Fosshotel Baron
Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is a official 3 star hotel down town Reykjavik, open all year. Located only few steps away from the main shopping street and other interesting attractions in Reykjaviks city center. All rooms and apartments are equiped with shower/WC, TV and WIFI which is free in the bar and reception area. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. All guestrooms, restaurant and bar are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing