We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fosshotel Baron
Nearby Hotels
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$458
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$225
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Fron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$261
$218
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$328
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$332
$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$217
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$320
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$497
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,860)
Filter reviews
1,860 results
Traveler rating
393
935
403
91
38
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
935
403
91
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaffle makerbreadthe main shopping streetnorthern lightsdomino's pizzasea viewhot watermake your own waffleshappy hourpaper cupsthree startwo blocksblue lagoonherringbreakfast buffetsulphur smellexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
1,414 - 1,419 of 1,860 reviews
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed at the Foss Baron Hotel in Dec 2011. Would definitely stay here again and recommend to family and friends. Location of Hotel is excellent for Downtown Reykjavik and also the long shopping street is just behind the Hotel.
Rooms are basic but adequate and clean, plenty of hot water, also have kettle and hairdryer (not stated in review I read so needn't have taken). Breakfast buffet ensures that there is something for everyone and is of a good quality. Service of staff goes above and beyond and is probably one of the best I have experienced in my many and varied hotel stays. Booked various trips whilst here (Reception did this for us), would recommend the Golden Circle Tour. Opened breakfast buffet for us at 4am in the morning as had early flight home. Overall an excellent stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sqwirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Fosshótel Baron is a medium sized hotel, part of a wider chain across Iceland. It certainly ticked all the required boxes for our stay.

Firstly, the location is excellent. Reykjavík is perfectly sized for a small "city break", there aren't any real major sites "to do". The Baron is a couple of hundred yards from the centre of town with many cafés, bars, restaurants within easy walking distance. Reykjavík isn't noisy at all, it's really a big country town of 100,000 people. Didn't hear a thing here at all at night, very peaceful sleep.

The room would be best described as cosy, comfortable and clean. The duvets are singular on a double bed, which was actually a refreshing change - no rolling over and uncovering your partner! The only hassle I had with the room was a free-standing post on my path to the bathroom - I very nearly collided with it on nocturnal trips to the bathroom. Open the skylight with care, especially if there's a foot of snow on top. Other reviewers have mentioned the smallness of the room and bathroom. To me that's a bonus, I prefer hotel rooms as snug dens to kip in. When travelling I'd rather spend more time visiting sites, not admiring the hotel room.

The bathroom itself was perfectly serviceable and basic. There's a notice on the bathroom wall warning you of the sulphurous smell of the hot water - I guess it's a feature of all Icelandic hotels. It was quite gopping to shower in, but the smell does dissipate after a few minutes.

Room Tip: If views are a big thing for you then go for "an ocean view". Personally, I can't see the attraction, walk outside if you want to look at the view. Hotel rooms are for sleeping, not gawping out of.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cangarwbach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_at_Baron, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we value your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location, the historical room, and our housekeeping service.

As you mention, not all our guests are pleased with the historical rooms because of their size and skylight windows but they sure are cozy and guests are more than welcome to contact the reception at any time to request for another type of room if they do prefer the view.

We hope to earn your repeat business and host you again during any future travels to the city

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

we spent 4 days here at the end of november 2011 great location, very friendly helpful staff all english speaking + various other languages. breakfast lots of variety very good, our room was in the historic (dairy) part of the hotel and while i agree with some previous posters that the room was small, it was clean, warm, ensuite & with tea coffee making. everything needed for a base while exploring this wonderful city.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The best thing about this excellent hotel was the reception staff - all of them, day and night. They were warm and friendly, spoke perfect English (and, I suspect, other languages as well), always cheerful but, above all, really knowledgeable about Iceland and Reykjavik. We followed their advice on where to eat - brilliant; on hiring a car - much cheaper than the Lonely Planet 2010 Guide suggested and much better value than the really expensive coach tours; on what to see in this amazing country. There's an expectation in Iceland that hotel receptions will book everything for you, and they did, cheerfully and efficiently. It was one of our best holidays, and much of the thanks go to these guys - and their amazing country.
The room was not huge, but well equipped (tea- and coffee-making facilities) and with a good shower. Comfortable beds. And as good a Continental Breakfast as we've had anywhere. And a stunning view over the water.
The hotel is very well situated, and Reykjavik isn't huge, so everything in the city centre was within walking distance.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for rooms on the front of the hotel, and on the 4th or 5th floor.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ACM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

Fosshotel Baron is a small hotel located in downtown Reykjavik near the harbor and the main shopping district. The hotel staff was professional, very helpful, and provide excellent service. The room was large, clean, and very comfortable. The continental breakfast was the best I have experienced with a large selection, and a large clean dinning area. The concierge services at the front desk arranged our tours and airport transfer. All the staff was helpful and were obviously trying to please.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y2772RQkevinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews