We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful Staff, Good Location”
Review of Fosshotel Baron

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fosshotel Baron
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The #1 thing I liked about this hotel was the staff. They were all very nice and helpful. Very patient and professional with all the hotel guests and always made you feel welcome. The room we stayed in was pretty small, but I was already expecting that. All we really need is a comfortable bed and we got it. Plus, they provided extra pillows, so I was happy about that!

The location is excellent. Right by Sun Voyager sculpture and shore walk, which was beautiful!! It's about a 10-15 minute walk to Reykjavik's city center, but there's plenty of restaurants to eat at along the walk. Right in front of the hotel is a fast food restaurant called Aktu Taktu which had some good food and they were open pretty late. There's also a Domino's pizza right next to the hotel. The best part about the location was that you were away from all the noise. Downtown Reykjavik gets pretty loud and rowdy at night on the weekends, so it was nice to come back to a hotel with peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crys94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,358 - 1,364 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Baron for several nights during our 10 days in Iceland.

The location is perfect, about 15 minutes to the city center and restaurants. The hotel itself is clean and well kept like everything in Iceland, the staff are all friendly and helpful. Get over the sulfer comments now dear readers, you are in Iceland the water is heated via volcanic action it smells of sulfer. Some places are worse than others the Baron was not bad at all.

What is great is the iceburg cold water quality. This is the best out-of-the-tap water I have ever drank in all of my travels!

I agree with other comments about the internet access specifically the wi-fi being an extra charge and the single desktop in the lobby. But as my wife and I always say, we're on vacation and the point of it is to get as far away from reality as possible. However, sometimes it is nice be able to look something up about a particular location we are trying to get to and to wait in line for someone reading every email in their account did get tiresome.

On that note, you will be pleased with your stay at the Baron.

High points:
-Great Location
-Great staff
-Good breakfast to get your day started
-Rooms that are comfortable (although the one we had was very small, like you stand over there while I go that way small)

Loved Iceland!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Family and I stayed here for 6 nights (4 in a row, then went off to other places, then back for 2 more nights). The place is about a 15 min. walk from the main center of town, which is great especially after stuffing yourself full from eating out! So location wise, was good and it's right by the harbor too which made it convenient for evening strolls.

Reception/lobby: I found everyone at the front desk very helpful. They helped me book a few rsvps and call up tour operators that were not on time. Check in/check out was easy.

Rooms: On the first part of our trip, we stayed at a room on the 2nd floor w a balcony. We thought the layout was perfect for us (three travelers). There were two twin beds in each of the two bedrooms, a small living room area w a couch, ad a kitchenette. Bathroom was big too. The windows had black out shades and the heat was sufficient for the cold windy night we arrived on. Be warned though--there is sulfur smell in the hot water. I think that's common throughout the city. Just get over it. On the second half of our stay, we stayed on the first floor and found it to be similar and liked it too. My mom did complain about the noise though, but that was from inconsiderate neighbors that were up all night next door. The next night it was quiet.

Breakfast: Compared to what you would get here in the states at like a Days or Holiday Inn, the breakfast was amazing! The fruit and cold cuts were fresh, you can also make your own waffle, and I am pretty sure they bake their own croissants, which were SO GOOD. A lot of choices for beverages--apple or orange juice, milk, coffee, hot chocolate, espresso, etc. It may not sound like anything special but quality wise, everything just tastes better in Europe than in the US! Yes after the third day I got sick of the same menu but it's included in the room rate. We stayed in 3 other hotels as we traveled throughout Iceland, all served similar menu (cold cuts, cereal/bread/fruits) but Fosshotel Baron had the best quality food.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and the only complaint I have is that the wi-fi is not free. The other hotels we stayed at (and more remote places) all had free wi-fi! You can get free wi-fi in other places downtown like Cafe Paris. There is one computer for anyone to use but you need to be there at the right time when no one else is using it. It served as a great base during our stay and a lot of times, because of the location, you'll most likely be the last one picked up/first one dropped off by the tour operators/buses.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We stayed at the Fosshotel Baron for four nights at the beginning of June as part of a package deal with Icelandair. The location is excellent. Just a few minutes walk from the main street where you will find shops, bars, and restaurants. There is also a 24 hour mini-supermarket just behind the hotel which is handy for snacks and drinks. The Baron is also far enough away from the bars that you get a good nights sleep on the weekend.

The service was fantastic. The reception and bar staff are very friendly and more than happy to answer any questions and to phone tour operators and the flybus people to confirm and book your seats/pickup times. When we asked them to confirm our seats on the airport bus they let us know that our flight could be delayed as there was an engineer's strike in the morning.

The breakfast was really good with lots of selection including cold meats, fruit, toast, bread, cereal and a waffle maker. No hot traditional English but there is more than enough choice to make up for this. The only thing I would say about the breakfast is that the one day we got there half an hour before it finished, there wasn't and fruit or cold meats/cheese left.

The rooms were as you would expect in any 3* hotel. Our coffee/tea and mugs were not replaced a couple of times but we just asked for new stuff at reception and they were more than happy to give us replacements. The room was not vacuumed for the four days we were there which is why I have given it 4 stars and not five; although it was spotless when we got there. The other minor downside is that the shower stall was tiny and the curtain sticks to you when you are showering.

We elected to not pay an extra ISK4000 per night for the ocean view, but if you can afford it I would recommend doing it. Our window overlooked an apartment building (photo attached), so we tended to keep the curtains closed for most of the time. Again, this wasn't a massive issue as we were only in the room in the early evenings before dinner then back again to sleep!

Also, my lonely planet guidebook said free wifi was available in the hotel - this is not the case, you need to pay for it. The PC In the reception area is fine for short use - even if people are using it, they tend not to stay on it for long.

Brilliant value for money - I would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EthereaI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011

First, the quiet location was superb for my needs. I stayed for four nights including a weekend, so I wanted to stay away from the party noise that is characteristic of Reykjavik on Fridays and Saturdays. The hotel is placed on the edge of downtown, one block from the shore and two blocks from the bus station.
The room has an adequate size for a single person. TV has very few channels on english language. The greatest problem was the window - there was no curtain and the venetian blinds did not close completely, turning insufficient to block the light. My room was at the west side; as the sun at this time of year only sets near midnight and comes up at three, that is a problem for a good sleep.
Breakfast had good variety of cold itens, but no hot stuff, except for the presence of a toaster and a waffle maker. On the last day, they provided an early breakfast, at 4:00 AM.
Reception got really overcrowded at weekend. If you had a problem/doubt, you had to wait several minutes to speak to the staff. There should be two persons attending at reception at these times.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marsrio62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

I booked this hotel based on reviews (the positive ones unfortunately). Our room on the second floor was claustrophobic - it was an attic style room - no windows, just two sky lights over the beds with a thin curtain over each letting in lots of light. Front desk staff were very unwelcoming and unhelpful. It was reasonably quiet, we enjoyed the breakfast but overall it was poor value for money. Had I known how pokey and small the room was - I could barely put on my coat without hitting something - I'd never have booked and paid for this hotel. No wi fi in the rooms unless you paid for it. There was one computer with internet access in the foyer with a worn keyboard. An unfortunate introduction to Reykjavik.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happy2travel53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manager_at_Baron, Manager at Fosshotel Baron, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2011

Dear Guest, thanks for leaving us your review. It help us to improve the service.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us at Fosshotel Baron.
The room you are refering to is one of our so-called historical rooms. They are located at the attick of the first barn built in Reykjavík. A few years ago we re-decorated the rooms to be in this antique style and have some information about the history of the place.
The rooms are on the smaller scale and as you mention, only have skylight windows. Therefor there are very different opinions about the rooms, either our guests love them and find the rooms to be very romantic or they disslike them, mostly because of the size.
The historical rooms account for only 18 rooms out of a total of 120 rooms at the hotel, so if you would ever like to return then please contact me at eva@fosshotel.is and I will make sure that you will get a bigger room with a great view and big windows 

For the viewers of this comment, I kindly ask you to always contact the reception if you are not satisfied with your room type. We do offer a variety of different rooms, scaling from small single rooms to 2 bedroom apartments with a kitchenette. The reception will be more than happy to assist you finding the room type that suits your needs.

Best regards,
Eva
Hotel director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We booked our stay as part of an Icelandair package. There was a choice of hotels and as all the 4* ones were booked we chose this one. The reception staff were friendly, efficient and helpful and available 24 hours a day. Our rooms (we had booked two doubles, one for us, one for our two teenaged daughters) turned out to be small apartments, so we could have actually shared one. However, the girls loved having their own space and not having to share a bedroom.

There is a computer in reception and although you have to take pot luck whether anyone else is using it, there was never a problem finding it free whilst we were there.

The decoration was simple and plain throughout the hotel but everywhere was very clean. Both 'apartments' were spacious, the girls' more so than ours, but they were at the side of the hotel and we took the one at the front with the view! Both had parquet flooring everywhere, except bathroom which is tiled.

The bathrooms were large. Neither apartment had the warnings about the sulphurous smell of the water, but we worked that one out for ourselves!! There was plenty of hot water and the towels were nice and white and, if you so desired, could be replaced daily. They provided a wall mounted dispenser of body wash/shampoo at the basin and in the shower, shower caps and flannels. You'll need to take any other toiletries or purchase on arrival.

The kitchenette areas had a two ring solid plate stove top, fridge, microwave, kettle, coffee machine (and our room had a toaster). They provided plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and creamer (there is a 24hr 10-11 store at the back of the hotel which was useful for milk etc, but be warned, it was the ONLY place we shopped that wanted id when using a credit card!) There were enough plates, cups, bowls, cutlery, saucepans and utensils for 4 people provided. Also a supply of washing up liquid, brush, cloth and tea-towel.

The sofa in the living area was clean and great for reading or watching the tv. Ours wasn't tuned properly, but it didn't bother us as we preferred to read. The one in the girls' apartment worked fine and there were plenty of English programmes shown.

The dining table was basic white formica, and the chairs had possible seen better days (varnish a bit faded, but it is what you expect to see if guests have hung wet coats etc over them to dry). However, everything was clean.

The bed linen was soft, beautifully white, smelled fresh and the beds were comfortable. Furnishing in the bedrooms was basic again but clean and serviceable; no wardrobe doors in the double room (they weren't missing, the fitted furniture was made that way) and a hanging rail in the twin rooms. The curtains were very good at blocking out the light - very important at this time of year when it is light right through the night.

Breakfast was really good. A buffet that you could help yourself to. We saw other guests using bread and meats/cheeses to make sandwiches and take them with them. There was a good selection of teas, coffee, juice, water, meats, cheeses, pate, cereals, fruit, yogurt, Icelandic herring, salmon etc, various croissants, biscuits, crackers, various breads, and to the delight of the girls a waffle maker with fresh batter that you make yourself.

It is ideally situated. The main shopping street starts a short walk behind the hotel and takes you right down in to the old town, or you can walk along the bay towards the old harbour. We found plenty of restaurants, and nowhere was very far to walk at all.

All in all, we are extremely happy with the price we paid, the standard of the accommodation and the breakfasts. Staff were friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and we would definitely stay here again. Our rooms were 108 (with balcony) and 110 (no balcony).

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bluerhinodoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Fosshotel Raudara
#41 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,145 reviews
Fosshotel Lind
#35 of 54 in Reykjavik
974 reviews
Háaleiti
Reykjavik Lights by Keahotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
CenterHotel Klopp
CenterHotel Klopp
#34 of 54 in Reykjavik
922 reviews
Hotel Hilda
#42 of 54 in Reykjavik
167 reviews
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#33 of 54 in Reykjavik
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fosshotel Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fosshotel Baron

Address: Sigtun 38, Reykjavik 105, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Reykjavik
#13 Romantic Hotel in Reykjavik
Price Range: $137 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fosshotel Baron 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fosshotel Baron with its 120 rooms and apartments is an official year-round 3-star hotel in downtown Reykjavik. We are located only a few steps away from the main shopping street Laugavegur and the main attractions in Reykjavik's city center. All of our rooms and apartments have a bathroom with a shower, TV and there is free Wi-Fi in all areas of the hotel. Fosshotel Baron is a family friendly hotel and offers special features for families and children. Our reception is manned at all hours for the convenience of our guests. All rooms and areas of the hotel are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fosshotel Baron reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fosshotel Baron Reykjavík
Fosshotel Baron Hotel Reykjavík

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing