We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, clean, private accomodation with impeccable service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
ShanIn
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, private accomodation with impeccable service”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed here for four nights. We were met by one of the owners who let us into the building, and showed us our very comfortable, well furnished and very well maintained studio apartment style room.

We really appreciated how much privacy we had during our stay, even though we had daily maid service etc. We felt like we could've been in our own home.

I'd really happily stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShanIn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    112
    15
    2
    1
See reviews for
126
191
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed here one night in a 3 bedroom apartment and it came equipped with a functional kitchen. I really like how the apartment is furnished - modern yet cozy. It was very clean too and plenty of towels were provided. The only downside was that for a 3 bedroom apartment, there was only 1 shower. Other than that, it was a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank palliechen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

The apartments are centrally located within two minutes of the main shopping street, and no more than 5 minutes of Hallgrimskirkja. Clean, comfortable furnishings and beds, free wifi. Very happy with the choice. I would echo the comment made by a few others, the walls between apartments are thin, so if you have noisy neighbours who like late nights, then you will hear them.... It's not a huge problem, as our bedroom was the room furthest from the "noisy" wall. If you struggle with stairs, check with the owners before booking, our apartment was on 3rd floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GATFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

My husband and I spend 4 nights at the Rey Apartments on our honeymoon. This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in all of iceland. The rooms were incredibly clean, the staff was friendly and went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable. We walked everywhere from this hotel, it's very central to shops and restaurants. We were also never kept up at night with the street noise. If we are to return to Iceland ever again this will be the place we stay, no question about it!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTopham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Rey Apartments for 3 nights during our short visit to Iceland. It is just what you need- comfortable rooms decorated in neat yet stylish Scandinavian style; very accessible location (2 minutes walk) from the city centre; very helpful owner/manager - Snorri.
We were extremely satisfied with our stay here especially thanks to the friendly manager Snorri, he was available night and day to answer any questions we had. Loved the simplistic decor too. Definitely a better experience than one of the chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalyani S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

Just one block from the main shopping street(Laugavegur). Room had everything you need and very clean and neat. Surprisingly big room. Washroom and shower was big and bright. Rooms had fun and modern decoration. Big TV with satelite channels. Kitchen had everything you need.
We arrived from Halifax, so flight arrived early in the morning. Stopped at the Blue lagoon for the whole morning just in case, because we reserved this hotel via internet and were not sure what time we could check-in the Hotel. We arrived there early in the afternoon and the manager said the room would be ready in half an hour. Checked-in and parked the rental car to one of the two parking places the hotel had on Grettisgata. If those were taken, there was no difficulty to find a parking place next to the hotel. Parking meters accepted credit card, so no need for coins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Rey Apartments provided everything we needed in our Iceland stay. When we arrived, we were led up to our room by one of the owners, where he showed us the room and let us know that the keys were in a basket, and checkout procedure was to put the keys back in the basket and leave.

Every other day, a cleaning service would come in and tidy/replace linens. Other than that, it felt just like a normal apartment. The provided kitchen tools came in very handy since restaurant food in Iceland is very pricey. A single trip to the local grocery store, and we had basic supplies for lunches and dinners.

Rey apartments was a crucial part of making Iceland feel inviting comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
985 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 52 in Reykjavik
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#4 of 52 in Reykjavik
544 reviews
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Property: Rey Apartments Hotel
Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and HRS so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing