We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation in the heart of Reykjavik”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rey Apartments Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2012

What a surprise this place was! A really modern apartment within walking distance of everything. Pubs, shops and restaurants all on your doorstep. The bathroom was huge! It was a great place to stay on our last night in Reykjavik. If you're looking for somewhere central, then look no further.. this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaThorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (522)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 522 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

Geir, the owner was just so helpful and patient. Explained everything we needed to know about this attractive, smart, efficient apartment. Slept 6 of us comfortably; 4 adults, 2 children. Walk one block to the main street, shops, restaurant, bookstore.
Highly recommend this little hotel. Kathy jensen, Portland Oregon aug 10, 2012

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Kathy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed in Iceland for a week With our extended family of 7. We had 2 apartments, both fully equipped with everything we needed during our stay. We shopped for groceries at a local market and ate out a few times as well. The guys running the Rey were so accommodating when we arrived early. They got our rooms ready for us and we had a nice nap, since we had taken the red eye from DC. It was nice to rest u before hitting the town. The apartments were furnished all in IKEA, which meant a very clean, crisp feel. The location was perfect, walking distance to so much in Reykjavik. Nice shops and bakeries very close.
The only issues we had were road construction and the acoustics. The road construction was only a minor inconvenience and the small lack of sound proofing in the building was also minor. We stayed there during summer, so if you like it dark when you sleep, I recommend you bring n eye mask.
We absolutely a loved Iceland, Reykjavik, and the Rey! If...no, when we go back to Iceland we will stay at the Rey apartments!

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed at the Rey apartments for two nights and in would be back again! The apartments are clean and modern and the location is perfect, close to all shops and the harbour.

Reykjavik is very expensive but I found these apartments to be quite reasonable, and its so useful to be able to have breakfast or snacks in your apartment as eating out is really crazily expensive in the city!!

One thing to remember: take your own shampoo etc, this is not provided

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lapeltje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Really helpful in every way - our luggage could be left there while we were away on a glacier trip and everything went smoothly with finding someone to let us in and give us advice.
We booked into these apartments for a total of 3 nights and stayed in 2 different apartments. Snorri could not have been more helpful and obviously takes a real pride in the decor and cleanliness of the apartments. They are extremely clean and stylish with really comfortable beds and well equipped kitchens. The apartments are central and have been thoughtfully designed and decorated and are spacious. Great TVs and wifi throughout.
There are lots of good restaurants and bars nearby and a little local shop for milk and groceries. (There was coffee and cereal and pasta in the cupboards). An outdoor sitting area in a courtyard was just being finished and I'm sure if it is as stylish as the rest of the apartments will be a great place to be on those long summer evenings. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter - particularly on a Friday night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Judith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Justine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Enrico R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 55 in Reykjavik
679 reviews
Centerhotel Midgardur
#10 of 55 in Reykjavik
1,036 reviews
Hotel Laxnes
#1 of 1 in Mosfellsbaer
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rey Apartments Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rey Apartments Hotel

Address: Grettisgata 2a, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Miõborg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Reykjavik
Price Range: $183 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rey Apartments Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Rey Apartments Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing