We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and relatively inexpensive hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The Arctic Comfort Hotel in Reykjavik is quite nice for a three star hotel, the rooms have shower, toilet, tv, wireless internet. It's clean and quiet and not very far from Reykjavik so it's possible to take a walk down town from the hotel.
Internet worked fine and there were some international chanels on tv.
The big downside is that breakfast is not included - doesn't make you feel very welcome. But when paid as extra the breakfast is ok.
The view is boring - but on the other hand, I didn't go to Reykjavik to get a great view at the hotel. All and all Im happy with my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JofenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

445 - 451 of 568 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

Pro:Quite, spacious room, free wifi
Con: Old decoration, far from city centre,

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Rooms are rather small, shaby and very dusty. Housekeeping was terrible!!! We stayed there 3 nights and during the period nobody changed neither bed linen, nor the towels - even the ones that laid on the floor! Dust laid everywhere - it seemed, that nobody has cleaned the wardrobes for a couple of months. There was a couple of teabags on the table, but just on the first day - after we drank it we have not received any more...

Overall impression - dirty, shaby, unpleasant and having a terribly lazy housekeeper. Do not recommend for anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vaivorykste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with my teenage son. We used this hotel as a base for some day trips to the volcanos and glaciers. The room are neat and very clean - fresh spring water drinkable direct from the tap! We found a sports bar just around the corner showing live Champions League football. There was a choice of budget sandwich bars and grills within walking distance. It was about a 30 minute walk from central Reykjavik but we only did this once as everything we needed was close by. Our tour guide hosts collected us from the hotel. Our room was quiet at night. Breakfast was a continental style buffet. Basic but more than adequate. There was a kitchenette in the room too, so if you didnt want to eat out, you could cook your own. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshire2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

staff very good,very helpful,spoke good english.the hotel was good quite a good walk to town about 20 mins,no restaraunt basic breakfast.but good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenG50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Hotel Vik is a pretty far drive from the airport in Reykjavik if you take the complementary airport shuttle, but it was made longer by the fact that there were a number of closer hotels that the shuttle dropped people off at first. A taxi ride would have been shorter, but no taxis were running when we arrived late at night for our stop over in Iceland. The hotel is decent and clean but has no frills, so I wouldn't recommend it for romance. Our room had about six twin sized beds in it, so it was very large, and two beds were pushed together for my husband and I to sleep in, each being separately made, which was a pain. There was a kitchenette in our room as well and it was stocked with dishes, pots, and silverware, so if we had stayed longer that could have been convenient. The hotel was very quiet and included breakfast with our room, which was fairly basic but was adequate enough for our needs. This hotel was priced great, so I would definitely recommend it for backpackers, traveling friends, or people who are looking for a no frills bed and shower combo, but try another hotel if you are hoping for romance, extra comforts, or modern ammenities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eighthwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Misterlar's review (titled "All the Info on this hotel, location, bus stop, rooms to avoid, etc.") was accurate. The things I liked about this hotel were:
1) The room size and kitchenette (once we switched over to the main building)
2) Melica, one of the many reception staff. She was sweet and very friendly.
3) Wi-fi in the rooms
4) A couple of PC's in the lounge
5) Very quiet street which is great for sleeping!
6) Domino's pizza delivers!
7) Cabs arrived quickly when the desk staff called for them
The things I didn't like about this hotel were:
1) No elevators. This isn't such a big deal if you take the first room you are given on the second floor in the new building on a nice day. It was a pain in the butt on an icy day after dragging all of the luggage up to the second floor in the new building and then lugging it all back down and up to the third floor in the main building.
2) The lounge and front desk close up at 11 PM. This means no access to the computers they provide.
3) No tub - just a shower with a very slow drain.
4) Not the cleanest place - bring slippers and don't leave any clothing around. I found white powder on several items including a nightgown that was left on the bed. I'd guess it was carpet freshener. Bags and piles of dirty linens were left on the second floor landing - they never moved from that location.
5) The location is inconvenient and cab fares were expensive.
6) Aside from a great cafe a couple of doors down which closes at 6 PM, dining options are limited and require a 10 minute walk. Not a big deal unless your butt is chapped from the wind and you're very tired from all of the walking that you have to do to get anywhere from this hotel.
7) The furniture, including the nightstands, were "reupholstered" in puffy vinyl fabric.
8) Card keys don't work well at opening the front door if you come in after hours. The desk staff made it clear that it was an imposition that they had to let us in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
4th Floor Hotel
#48 of 54 in Reykjavik
406 reviews
Metropolitan Hotel
#50 of 54 in Reykjavik
368 reviews
Laugardalur
Hotel Cabin
Hotel Cabin
#47 of 54 in Reykjavik
2,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Háaleiti
Hotel Island
Hotel Island
#36 of 54 in Reykjavik
585 reviews
Háaleiti
City Park Hotel
City Park Hotel
#21 of 54 in Reykjavik
342 reviews
Hotel Leifur Eiriksson
#25 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort

Address: Sidumuli 19, Reykjavik 108, Iceland
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik > Háaleiti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $109 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vik Arctic Comfort Reykjavík
Vik Arctic Comfort Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing