We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Vik Arctic Comfort
Nearby Hotels
$458
$377
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel(Reykjavik)
$228
$209
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Reykjavik Centrum(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$267
$210
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CenterHotel Klopp(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$225
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Fosshotel Baron(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$211
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$328
$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hlemmur Square(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$183
$177
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
City Center Hotel(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$217
$196
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica(Reykjavik)(Great Value!)
$320
$284
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$567
$497
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveler rating
82
255
187
51
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
82
255
187
51
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrehot waterminute walkthe busbuilding next doorsecond buildingdropped offhour supermarkettea coffee making facilitiesseparate buildingquiet areacleaned every dayhired a carbreadmini fridgeshort breakdecent hotel
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 598 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Rooms are rather small, shaby and very dusty. Housekeeping was terrible!!! We stayed there 3 nights and during the period nobody changed neither bed linen, nor the towels - even the ones that laid on the floor! Dust laid everywhere - it seemed, that nobody has cleaned the wardrobes for a couple of months. There was a couple of teabags on the table, but just on the first day - after we drank it we have not received any more...

Overall impression - dirty, shaby, unpleasant and having a terribly lazy housekeeper. Do not recommend for anybody.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vaivorykste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights with my teenage son. We used this hotel as a base for some day trips to the volcanos and glaciers. The room are neat and very clean - fresh spring water drinkable direct from the tap! We found a sports bar just around the corner showing live Champions League football. There was a choice of budget sandwich bars and grills within walking distance. It was about a 30 minute walk from central Reykjavik but we only did this once as everything we needed was close by. Our tour guide hosts collected us from the hotel. Our room was quiet at night. Breakfast was a continental style buffet. Basic but more than adequate. There was a kitchenette in the room too, so if you didnt want to eat out, you could cook your own. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheshire2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

staff very good,very helpful,spoke good english.the hotel was good quite a good walk to town about 20 mins,no restaraunt basic breakfast.but good value for money

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenG50_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Hotel Vik is a pretty far drive from the airport in Reykjavik if you take the complementary airport shuttle, but it was made longer by the fact that there were a number of closer hotels that the shuttle dropped people off at first. A taxi ride would have been shorter, but no taxis were running when we arrived late at night for our stop over in Iceland. The hotel is decent and clean but has no frills, so I wouldn't recommend it for romance. Our room had about six twin sized beds in it, so it was very large, and two beds were pushed together for my husband and I to sleep in, each being separately made, which was a pain. There was a kitchenette in our room as well and it was stocked with dishes, pots, and silverware, so if we had stayed longer that could have been convenient. The hotel was very quiet and included breakfast with our room, which was fairly basic but was adequate enough for our needs. This hotel was priced great, so I would definitely recommend it for backpackers, traveling friends, or people who are looking for a no frills bed and shower combo, but try another hotel if you are hoping for romance, extra comforts, or modern ammenities.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eighthwonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2010

Misterlar's review (titled "All the Info on this hotel, location, bus stop, rooms to avoid, etc.") was accurate. The things I liked about this hotel were:
1) The room size and kitchenette (once we switched over to the main building)
2) Melica, one of the many reception staff. She was sweet and very friendly.
3) Wi-fi in the rooms
4) A couple of PC's in the lounge
5) Very quiet street which is great for sleeping!
6) Domino's pizza delivers!
7) Cabs arrived quickly when the desk staff called for them
The things I didn't like about this hotel were:
1) No elevators. This isn't such a big deal if you take the first room you are given on the second floor in the new building on a nice day. It was a pain in the butt on an icy day after dragging all of the luggage up to the second floor in the new building and then lugging it all back down and up to the third floor in the main building.
2) The lounge and front desk close up at 11 PM. This means no access to the computers they provide.
3) No tub - just a shower with a very slow drain.
4) Not the cleanest place - bring slippers and don't leave any clothing around. I found white powder on several items including a nightgown that was left on the bed. I'd guess it was carpet freshener. Bags and piles of dirty linens were left on the second floor landing - they never moved from that location.
5) The location is inconvenient and cab fares were expensive.
6) Aside from a great cafe a couple of doors down which closes at 6 PM, dining options are limited and require a 10 minute walk. Not a big deal unless your butt is chapped from the wind and you're very tired from all of the walking that you have to do to get anywhere from this hotel.
7) The furniture, including the nightstands, were "reupholstered" in puffy vinyl fabric.
8) Card keys don't work well at opening the front door if you come in after hours. The desk staff made it clear that it was an imposition that they had to let us in.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews