We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”
Review of Special Tours

Special Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.92*
and up
Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik
More Info
$101.92*
and up
Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik
More Info
$101.92*
and up
Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Tours operates sea adventures from Reykjavik city centre with over 20 years of experience. Whale Watching tours all year round and then Northern Lights by Boat, Puffin Watching, Sea Angling, Reykjavik by Sea and a New Years Fireworks Cruise. Special Tours Wildlife Adventures is known amongst passengers and partners for its ambitious & hard working team, aiming for great adventures for every tour and for every client. Our main focus is comfort and personal service, while making sure we protect and respect the environment. We have a skilled & friendly crew, as well as an experienced guide on every tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Taking a boat out from the city proved to be a great way to see the Northern Lights. You could walk around outside on two decks. There was inside seating with a snack bar. They picked us up at our hotel entrance and took us back after the tour. If you did not see the lights, you could use your ticket for another night. Dress warmly as it is windy at sea. They have overalls to put on for warmth if needed.

3  Thank djteach531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We thank you for your review and for joining our northern lights by boat tour from Reykjavik!

Its so very true that its nice to be able to stay inside or outside as you please, check out the snackbar/café and get the cozy warm overalls, they are a must!:P Its a different way of viewing the northern lights, and when they appear its something you wont forget:)

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and will get to visit us again someday!

Kind regards
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

375 - 379 of 417 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The phenomenon that is Aurora Borealis was an awe-inspiring experience I'll hold dear for the rest of my life. The boat tour was cancelled due to rough conditions out at sea, however, the alternative proved better - considering the difficulties of keeping your camera/tripod still on a rocking boat.

The offer of another tour ticket (should you not experience the northern lights on the first attempt) is given to you. I can quite understand that we cannot control the weather or the solar activity from above; but on this occasion, I'm glad they sorted themselves out for us :)

I highly recommend this tour. The crew are professional yet friendly. The enthusiastic approach is quite cheesy at times, but hey, whom am I to complain?

Check it out!

2  Thank cubdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Many thanks for your review and happy that you got to experience the wonderful Northern Lights on our tour, even though it was not possible on the boat that night.

Its great to be able to get good photos for memories, and as you said sometimes its difficult when the boat is not completely still - although we do have some great photos from our tours, but it takes a good camera and experimenting as you go on the tour:)

We would love to get your picture sent so that we can post it on our sites/facebook.

Hope you had a great time in Iceland and will visit again in the future!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Obviously there is no way of guaranteeing seeing the northern lights, but my wife and I went on the Northern Lights by boat trip in September. The crew were extremely helpful, and the feeling of being at sea on a fast boat in the dark was great fun. And for about half an hour we did see the lights which were beautiful... On the way back the boat was running very fast and making some sharp turns, which was great fun.

3  Thank Jonny_Seagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

We thank you for your kind review and for joining our Northern Lights by Boat tour here in Iceland!

We are always glad when our customers get to see the magical northern lights, as it is of course a weather dependent activity. The great thing about taking the boat tour is that you can stay inside, outside - get our warm overalls to wear and even check out the café on board:)

Hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and will have a chance to visit again!

Kind regards
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very impressed with the organisation of this tour.

The first night we were due to go out by boat the trip was cancelled by boat - but we still went out on a coach tour in search of the lights.

The all in one waterproof and very warm protective suits are AMAZING! Much need though - couldn't have done this trip without them. They were clean and available in all sizes.

We didn't see the lights on this evening - but the next day we were invited to go out onto the boat at no extra cost - absolutely superb.

It was a great experience - maybe not one for those of you who are sickly on boats. It's very dark way out at sea and the swell was a little strong! Take travel sickness tablets!

This is the best way to see the lights though - you get away from the land and light pollution and increase your chances of seeing the lights.

We only saw them very very faintly in the early hours of the morning. It was a shame but it was no fault of the company.

The boat was spotless and warm (inside at least) with a nice selection of hot drinks and snacks.

4  Thank Amy_Lea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Many thanks for your kind review and for joining our Northern Lights tour from Reykjavik.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the tour and got to go on both the bus and the boat - of course we hope that all our customers get a chance to go on the boat if weather allows:) - and great that you go to see the lights, even if they were faint they are still worth seeing!

We just got these brand new overalls this summer and they have come in handy as it can get quite chilly out on sea!

Hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and will visit again:)

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Everything during our Iceland trip was wonderful except for our experience with Special Tours. We were booked to see the Northern Lights by boat, but instead received an email saying it was too windy and they would be taking a bus instead, or wait to take the boat another day. We opted to take the bus that night because it was predicted that we would see the lights that night. So a small bus came and picked us up late, then drove us to the bus terminal (where all the other bus tours gather). The diver had us get out and he pointed to a woman and said, “She will take care of you.” The woman then said these 3 buses are full. So our group waited without a clue as the 3 Reykjavik Excursions (big tour) buses left, finally a fourth bus showed up and as we entered the bus tour guide seemed to not know about our tour group and asked most of the people that signed up with ‘Special Tours’ questions about our vouchers and questioned if we have paid. From there we arrived late and saw the Northern lights for about 5 mins. We spoke with a couple that was on one of the first 3 Reykjavik Excursions buses and they said they saw many of the Northern lights prior to the 4th bus arriving, which we were on.

So my issues are this: My biggest issue is with the email sent about possibly taking a bus tour instead of a boat tour, why was it not specified that we would just join a big Reykjavik Excursions tour group? If we knew these details, we would of opted to not go on the tour that night since we booked with Special Tours for a smaller group and more personal experience. We also each paid about 2500 isk (5000 isk in total) more for Special Tours than Reykjavik Excursions to get the small group personal experience, go on a boat, and receive the drinks and snacks mentioned in your website, but instead we received the same experience as those who booked with Reykjavik Excursions, the only difference being the unorganized treatment prior to leaving the bus terminal and therefore missing most of the Northern Lights.

MOST IMPORTANTLY: I have emailed Special Tours multiple times about this informing them about their very poor service and the poor experience we had, but they have not responded. These people clearly do not care about their customers and their experiences, they only care about the money. FIND ANOTHER TOUR!!!!!

8  Thank R L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Many thanks for your review and for joining our tour.

Our sincere apologies for the experience you had on our tour - as that is absolutely not how we want people to experience them - but we always welcome any comments that our customers have and thank you for pointing these things out as we will of course take this all into consideration for our next season of the Northern Lights tours.

This was our firt season on the boat and due to high demand we had to join up with our friends at Reykjavik Excursions when the seas were too rough for the boat - they have been managing these tours for many years now and have great experience in operating them. We do however always mention that you can go on the bus tour and also join the boat tour again another day - and if our customers do not prefer the bus tour and dont have a chance to go on the boat again, they get a full refund.

We have had many compliments for the Northern Lights tour this winter and also for our customer service - so I am truly sorry that this was your experience.

I understand your comments fully and would very much like you to email us again so that we can solve this matter - as I have not seen any emails from you regarding this, we always reply to all emails that we receive so I want to check if you have the right email address.

We sure hope you had a lovely time in Iceland despite the disappointment of the bus tour.

Greetings,
Special Tours & Life of Whales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Special Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing