We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally-the Northern Lights by boat!”
Review of Special Tours

Special Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$107.81*
and up
Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Tours operates sea adventures from Reykjavik city centre with over 20 years of experience. Whale Watching tours all year round and then Northern Lights by Boat, Puffin Watching, Sea Angling, Reykjavik by Sea and a New Years Fireworks Cruise. Special Tours Wildlife Adventures is known amongst passengers and partners for its ambitious & hard working team, aiming for great adventures for every tour and for every client. Our main focus is comfort and personal service, while making sure we protect and respect the environment. We have a skilled & friendly crew, as well as an experienced guide on every tour.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Special Tours were brilliant-we arrived in Iceland on Friday night in pouring rain, not expecting to see the Lights anytime soon, although we had booked on the Northern Lights by boat tour that night. Special Tours allowed us to defer our tour until the weather was good, keeping us well-informed by email throughout our stay. Finally, last night, on our last night in the country, we went out on the boat and were treated to a spectacular display. The overalls provided kept us snuggly so we could just enjoy the show. It was AMAZING! To end the trip, Capt Magnus opened the throttle for an adrenaline-fueled trip back to Reykjavik. Brilliant!

4  Thank salwilms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Many thanks for your review and for joining our tour.

Im am happy to hear that it cleared up for the northern lights during your stay:) - We always try and make sure to keep our customers up to date every night regarding the weather conditions, as the Northern lights are very dependent on the right conditions, especially having clear skies!

We hope you had a very nice time in Iceland and hope you will visit again!

Greetings
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

472 - 476 of 507 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

It is an hour drive but worth the trip if the lights come out. When I got there I was worried because my night was rated a "one" for visability....luckly I was not disappointed. We were there for 2 hours standing in the cold (in and out of the cafe to warm up) then all of a sudden the sky filled with green lights and they starting dancing. Either way, I am from NYC so just seeing all the stars would have been enough for me!

4  Thank ComeTravelWithMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

Special Tours only operate Northern Lights tours by Boat - therefore we can not comment on behalf of other tour operators offering bus tours. We are glad that you had such a nice experience:)

We hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Standing in the dark at minus 8c in a strong wind was worth it to see the lights. Had a good display after a postponement a couple of days earlier. Although some people with a good camera could get colour on their photo, to the naked eye it was just a milky white. However it moved in sheets and whorls as expected and lasted a good while. A coffee in a filling station afterwards was very welcome. It would have been better to have been told that the lights are not always coloured to the naked eye. But have fulfilled a lifetime ambition.

1  Thank dermott q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your review.

Special Tours only operate Northern Lights tours by boat - therefore we can not comment on behalf of other tour operators offering bus tours. We are happy that you had a nice experience:)

We hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Went out with my wife and parents to see the northern lights. Having wanted to see them for many years, I tried to steel myself for the fact that we might be unlucky with the weather. We were only in Iceland for two nights.
First night, an hour before tour, the weather was very poor- wet and overcast. Thankfully it miraculously cleared and we were away. Good organisation, very friendly and helpful staff. Aboard a lovely little boat, within minutes of leaving the harbour, we were all being invited to hit the upper deck to view the lights...and there they were.
For about an hour and a half to two hours, we had a fantastic show, a great experience. After that, small amounts of cloud began to obscure the views. Having had such a good viewing up until that point, the crew decided it was probably best to head back towards the shore. We stopped halfway back as we were treated to one brilliant last showing, as the skies temporarily cleared up. After this point, it was time to head back inside for another quick hot chocolate!
All in all, a very well managed tour, i would recommend. Fingers crossed for clear skies. Finally, take the clothes you think you will need, and then take a little more. It can get very chilly. Also photos will obviously be affected by boat movement, particularly on long exposures. Thanks for reading.
D. Powers

5  Thank Dezzy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your kind words & review.

We want to thank you very much for joining our tour and happy that you got to see the Northern Lights - they are quite amazing:)

We hope you had a lovely time in Iceland and will visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We were very lucky to see the northern lights and were really happy we chose the boat tour to see them. The tour was well organised and hot drinks were included. I would recommend seeing the northern lights by boat rather than bus if you have the opportunity.

4  Thank kerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Many thanks for your kind review.

We are happy that you enjoyed seeing the northern lights on our boat, it sure is a different experience and a lovely 2 hour cruise out from Reykjavik city. We thank you very much for joining on the tour!

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and that you will have a chance to visit us again:)

Kind regards,
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Tours also viewed

 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Special Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing