We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was that it!!!!”
Review of Special Tours

Special Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$101.95*
and up
Northern Lights Viewing Cruise from Reykjavik
More Info
$101.95*
and up
Whale-Watching Tour from Reykjavik
More Info
$101.95*
and up
Reykjavik Shore Excursion: Whale-Watching Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Special Tours operates sea adventures from Reykjavik city centre with over 20 years of experience. Whale Watching tours all year round and then Northern Lights by Boat, Puffin Watching, Sea Angling, Reykjavik by Sea and a New Years Fireworks Cruise. Special Tours Wildlife Adventures is known amongst passengers and partners for its ambitious & hard working team, aiming for great adventures for every tour and for every client. Our main focus is comfort and personal service, while making sure we protect and respect the environment. We have a skilled & friendly crew, as well as an experienced guide on every tour.
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Reviewed October 15, 2012

There was many upset people who managed to get a second chance to view them if didnt see them before. We had a lot of cloud 13/10 and a stupid guide yelling 'there, over there' but never saying which direction. The lights were not clear, but they said that qualifies as you've seen them. Not what you see on tv.

1  Thank DavidUK2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Special Tours offers only Northern Lights by Boat from Reykjavik´s Old Harbor and we did not operate our tour on the 13th of October - therefore we can not comment on behalf of other tour operators, offering northern lights by bus.

We have had a great season for Northern Lights in Iceland, but the perfect conditions are clear skies and darkness & high aurora activity.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and if you come back you should check out our adventures on sea:)

Kind regards
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 383 of 400 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We went twice with Flybus, each time from 9.30 returning 1.30 - 2 am. The first time it was very cold and cloudy so no luck. The second time it was -3, cold, clear and frosty. We saw a curtain-like arch across the sky which came and went. The stars and milky way were exceptionally clear, so although the lights were not spectacular, it was still enjoyable. You are offered another trip if the first time is cloudy.

1  Thank jethornber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Special Tours offers only Northern Lights by Boat from Reykjavik´s Old Harbor - therefore we can not comment on behalf of other tour operators, offering northern lights by bus.

We are glad that you got to see a bit of the lights, it is the nature that controls them but we have had a very good season this year in Iceland!

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and if you come back you should check out our adventures on sea:)

Kind regards
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

you go out to see the northern light with a touring bus.. This tour is not necessary if you already have a car. The guide is quiete funny but only explains the basics about iceland (not extra info about the nortern light). If you do not have your own (rental) car, than I can advise this tour, otherwise you can just go with your car to pingvellar and wait there for the moment between 22.00 and 00.00 (which is much cheaper)

2  Thank Carlvondutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whalewatchingexpress, Manager at Special Tours, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Special Tours offers only Northern Lights by Boat from Reykjavik´s Old Harbor - therefore we can not comment on behalf of other tour operators, offering northern lights by bus.

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Iceland and if you come back you should check out our adventures on sea:)

Kind regards
Special Tours Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The tour was brilliant and great value as if the northern lights were not spotted, you could return for free on the next excursion until you did see them (or you went home). We were lucky enough to see the northern lights on our third attempt and it was spectacular. We saw 4 different types and it was like fireworks going off in the heavens. The guides we had on each occaision were very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this tour. It is a must for anyone who visits Iceland!

3  Thank T75_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

WOW and thank you Dooley you were great. If you do one thing when in Iceland during the winter go and book a trip with GTI to see the northern lights, they will do their upmost best to track the lights no matter what or how late your out. We read lots of reviews on companies before we left and I can say 100% to go with GTI as you will not be dissapointed. Please do not blame the driver if its cloudy-thats mother natures fault. Take warm clothes and prepare your camera first-not like me who could not get any photos as could not see to change the settings on my new camera!!!! Gutted. Enjoy and experience an experience of a lifetime. Please rememebr that the lights show up more in photos so may not be as bright as you are expecting, be open minded and enjoy.

4  Thank andfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Special Tours also viewed

 

Been to Special Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing