We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excelent Sushi”
Review of Sushi Social

Sushi Social
Ranked #31 of 464 Restaurants in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Open at the end of 2011 and a hot favorite on the Reykjavik restaurant scene, Sushi Social - samba & grill offers a deliciously unique take on homegrown ingredients, fusing Iceland's freshest flavors with Japanese and South American influences. The menu offers a great selection, tempting smaller courses, traditional and "Juicy- Sushi" , amazing steaks and sweet desserts. If you can't decide what to go for, the Icelandic feast is a perfect solution - six courses form an incredible taste experience that includes the national aperitif 'Brennivin' and an Icelandic Skyr panna cotta for dessert. Fabulous chili mojitos and a gorgeously eclectic interior are the icing on the cake at Sushi Social. Hand- carved Brazilian curios and some 50 pretty Japanese birdcages complement the contemporary lines and gentle feel of the place.
Keflavik, Iceland
2 reviews
“Excelent Sushi”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great Sushi place offering all kind of sushi and Japanese food with a fusion of South America cuisine.
Absolutely the best sushi in town!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EinarHallsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    214
    54
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place with great food!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first restaurant visit in Iceland. Obviously a very popular place. On our way, we stopped to do som shopping and I asked one of the staff members for directions to the street where the restaurant is. The anser was "oh thats where Sushi Samba is right?" I told her thats where we are going where she replied "You are going to love it! " And right she was... The food was great and the staff was great as well. We were also given very good wine recommendations both for the sushi and the Brazilian meat that we had. Go check it out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great food and great service.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We showed up with a party of 7 with no notice on a Friday night, and thankfully, they were able to fit us in at a table which was booked pref in the evening. 3 had the Icelandic feast which looked and tasted excellent, and I had the tenderloin, which was massive (must have been about 500gm), cooked perfectly and tasted delicious.

The best meal we've had in Iceland!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bloke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Great Food! Fun, upbeat, trendy restaurant with great sushi and food overall! Another great meal in Reykjavik!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lrdNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Not quite sure what all the fuss is about.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This restaurant is next to the Center Hotel we were staying at so it seemed convenient and we had a difficult time getting reservations days before.

We unfortunately, ordered sushi - which was terrible ... the rolls were basically all rice. The portions were large but very little fish.

Service was terribly slow.

Throughout our stay in Iceland this by far was our worst meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Social also viewed

Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 
Reykjavik, Capital Region
Reykjavik, Capital Region
 

Been to Sushi Social? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing