We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2014

Arrived after a few days travelling from the Far East of Iceland and booked a 'deluxe double with balcony' as a treat. I had high expectations given how highly this place has been rated by others. I couldn't have been more disappointed. They don't tell you when you book that :
1) they are extending it so beware, you are right next to a building site. I don't think they expect to finish until sometime in 2015.
2) consequently the car parking is either on street or a hike away on what looks like waste land ( no secure parking option) - and dream on if you expect to get any offers of help to load/unload your bags from your car (or for valet parking).
3) the interior decor is nice but the outside of the hotel is straight 1970's concrete and pebble dash.
4) the deluxe room was tiny and the bathroom smaller still. Worse the bathroom doesn't have a proper wall - it makes do with opaque glass that isn't quite opaque enough. Furthermore the shower has a curtain rather than a glass so you get that horrible nylon 'stickiness '.
5) breakfast, a substantial extra cost, is pretty basic. No pastry options and very limited fresh fruit ( they ran out if pineapple one morning before I could grab any).
6) the rooms could be better soundproofed - there were kids next door to us who made a racket until quite late.
I could forgive all of the above in a different price bracket, but at the price I paid and given the other positive reviews I really expected much better.
There must be better options for you to choose if you are heading to Reykjavik.

Room Tip: Top floor ( 4th floor) with views to harbour and beyond but beware - its noisy when the ship repair...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank GDM70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Dear traveler,
we are truly sorry to hear that you didn´t like your stay at the Reykjavik Marina. We always try our best to serve guests with a smile and we hope that you at least noticed that, although you don´t mention our staff or service. Our breakfast buffet is by most guests considered as very hearty, with or without pineapple, and the price is in line with other such Icelandic buffets. Yes, we are extending, and that takes time and we know it can be disturbing to some and we are sorry about that. However, the ground work is done and so is most of the noisiest constructions. We will be opening 60 new rooms with great facilities in 2015. The noise from the ship dock is just a part of our micro environment and being placed by the marina and in the center. To us, the ships and the work being done in front is both warm and welcoming.

Again, we are truly sorry that you didn´t manage to feel the quirky and cool, warm and welcoming atmosphere in our Reykjavik Marina, or mention some of our positive sites. We are sure we could have done something for you if you would have spoken to us at the time.

Warmly,
Trausti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,093)
There are newer reviews for Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,298 - 1,304 of 2,093 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2014

I had the chance to spend two nights at Icelandair Hotel Marina in Aug. And the experience was very good. First of all the Staff at the Reception very professional and polite. The check in was quick and the room very nice, clean and decorated by interesting and designed wall paper. The bathroom not very big but extremely clean.
Breakfast was very interesting because I could find typical local food, but also very good cakes, home made.
I suggest this Hotel to all the people who wants to spend one or more night in a modern, trendy and very comfortable hotel in Reykjavic.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4 th floor with a balcony facing the port.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bobosand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

The location is really great, only a couple of blocks from Saga Museum, volcano movie center, boats to see whales and puffins, the famous-but-casual Sea Barron restaurant, Grayline bus tours, and start of the main shopping street. For keen walkers, it's really near enough every tourist sight.
We found the desk staff outstandingly helpful and cheerful. The lobby decor was also quirky, with comfortable seats, and having huge ships right outside provided a great atmoshere. My only suggestion is that the hotel provide a few more items in the rooms, which are not overly large for the somewhat high cost -- for instance, a clock, more toilettries, room coffee/tea and iron.

Room Tip: Worth getting a room with a harbor view, especially first-time visitors to Reykjavik.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel does not look the best from the outside as the grey colour is a bit off putting, however the decor inside is lovely and welcoming, the rooms were clean with fresh towels every day. The bathroom was also clean and had a big shower head which was good! The rooms had quirks such as signs about what the hotel had been previously and one side had some old fish hooks in to show the links to the marina. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel stocked skyr which became my favourite Icelandic product after a few days! However the best thing about this hotel was its location. It was easy to walk the 5-10 minutes into the centre of Reykjavik, you could see the harbour from the hotel and the sea and it was easy for trips as the main road meant pick ups could be made and for the whale watching we could just walk down to the boat! Definitely recommed staying here.

Room Tip: Rooms on the harbour side would be quiter as the other rooms face a road, although it was not too no...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Bee232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear traveler,
thank you for your excellent review, we really appreciate you recommending us to others as a good choice considering location, cleanliness and welcoming atmosphere. We strive to be both comfortable and cool and so glad you enjoyed all of our quirky designs.
We promise to have lots of Skyr on stock for you also next time!

Warmly,
Erla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is in an ideal location near to the centre of Reykjavik. It was clean and well organised with very helpful, well trained and polite staff. The unprepossessing exterior gives little hint of the stylish, cultured interior. The breakfast was awesome with everything you could wish for beautifully presented in the Satt dining room. The design of the rooms is well thought out with impressive attention to detail. Beds are superbly comfortable, so comfortable I checked out the manufacturer on the mattress - R. Bjornsson if you're interested. We stayed in another Icelandair hotel while on holiday and it seems to me that they are consistently of a high standard.
If only other hotels in Iceland were of this calibre!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the airport - very interesting watching the planes.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear traveler,
thank you for your excellent review and recommending the Reykjavik Marina, we really appreciate it. Yes, our beds are comfortable, thank you for mentioning that, and R. Björnsson is an Icelandic producer that we are proud to use for our hotels. Happy to hear that you experienced us as a both comfortable and cool choice, that´s exactly our goal!
See you next time,
best regards,
Erla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

If I ever return to Iceland, as I would really like to, I will definitely opt for the hotel Marina, and thus for several reasons: it is located practically in the center, it has excellent playful funny design features, charming friendly staff, excellent food. I would pick the room towards the marina, because the rooms facing the street are a bit noisy in the morning when the road turns into a major traffic artery. Otherwise the hotel is not above reproach. I do not even mind bathroom with the glass doors. Gangi þér vel Marina hotel :)

Room Tip: I think the rooms towards marina are quieter.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Petr K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear traveler,
thank you so much for your great review and recommending Reykjavik Marina. This is exactly what we want to feel like to our guests: Comfortable and cool, so glad you experienced that in such a positive way.

Best regards,
Erla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Our double room was immaculately clean with modern furnishings, and there was plenty of comfy nooks to relax in the lobby. The service of all staff members was professional. Arnar, the front desk staff for nights, especially deserves to be recognized for his outstanding and personable service.

The breakfast was a varied buffet of both hot and local foods, all deliciously prepared, especially the bread! I appreciated that the hotel was loyal to Icelandic products, and the hotel introduced me to some quality skincare products and a beautiful wool blanket that we later purchased. Close to the infamous pylsur hot dog stand and downtown Reykjavik!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank gracefulflirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Dear traveler,
we want to thank you for you great review! So glad that you experienced personal service and mention our local feel, an atmosphere that we are very proud of, both at Slippbarinn and with our local products as you mention. Nice you took some home with you!

Best wishes,
Erla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 54 in Reykjavik
3,711 reviews
Hotel Odinsve
#15 of 54 in Reykjavik
1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
Kvosin Downtown Hotel
#5 of 54 in Reykjavik
586 reviews
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Miõborg
Canopy by Hilton Reykjavik City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range: $171 - $443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone and Evoline ltd so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing