We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A pleasant surprise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

We had a lovely, but small double room on the 4th floor overlooking the ship repair slipways. Other people mightn't like this but we loved it. How often do you get a close up view of ships undergoing repair/refurbishment? We were there on a Saturday and Sunday night and found it was very quiet and peaceful.
Our room had a little balcony which in keeping with the quirky nautical decor, had one of those orange ship's life rings attached to the railing. Both the door and a window open onto the balcony and there is a little bench for sitting on and admiring the view when it isn't raining.
The room had the usual Icelandic double which is two single beds put together. The room had excellent lighting, 2 bedside tables each with its own lamp, a suitcase table, a usefully sized counter above which are several power points and a USB charger port and an enormous flat screen TV which we had trouble making work. NB to start TV in Iceland you usually have to press 1. Mind you we have found in Iceland that our days are so full that we don't want to waste time watching TV.
There is free wifi in the hotel but this might just be a trial. Ask reception how to access it as it is slightly different to the other hotels with free wifi.
The room also had a bar stool and an armchair. The bathroom had a hair dryer, tissues and lovely smelling pump pack soap and pump pack shampoo. The bathroom is unusual in that it doesn't open from the passageway from the door but from the room itself. The door and the wall facing the room are of frosted glass and even though I have read some people don't like this, we did rather like it. Mind you if we were 2 singles sharing a room we wouldn't have felt the same way.
The staff at reception were about the friendliest we have come across in Iceland. The breakfast (ours was included) was equal to the best we have had in Iceland. There was a range of hot food too including a delicious mushroom mix and a potato and bacon mix. For those of us who have horribly early flights you can select a range of items from the open fridge beside reception. Our shuttle bus was at 4 am and we were to help ourselves to Skyr (delicious Icelandic joghurt, although this was the low sugar variety which isn't as good as the usual Skyr), sandwiches, long life juice in popper-style packs, and hot drinks from a machine. Just make sure you eat the Skyr and drink the juice before you go through the scanners at Keflavik airport!
The hotel is about 3 minutes walk from the Vikin Maritime Museum (if you are interested see my review on this) and maybe 10 minutes from the 871 +/-2 Settlement Museum (see my review on this too if you are interested). I'd recommend a visit to both if you are interested in history and culture. It is maybe a little bit over 5 minutes to the main shopping area for tourists. We thought the hotel's location very convenient.
I can't comment on value for money as I don't know how much the hotel cost.

Room Tip: We were very happy with room 404 for a Saturday and Sunday night as it is very quiet. It is on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marjorie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Hello!
Thank you so much for your excellent review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us this much! Glad you liked your attic room and seeing the ships in the slip from your balcony, that we can say is authentic Icelandic experience for sure - and that´s our mission completed ;)

Hope to see you again,
best wishes,
Erla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    814
    668
    134
    38
    30
See reviews for
253
864
103
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (579)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Construction noise was deafening. The hotel should not have been open or at the very least one should have been warned in advance and been offered steeply discounted rooms. Parking was off-site, if one could find it on the street. On the positive side, the staff was very friendly and the breakfast was excellent (though not inexpensive, it was worth it ).

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WingnutHonolulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear traveler,
thank you for your feedback and thanks for mentioning our friendly staff and excellent breakfast, we really appreciate it.

We are sincerely sorry about your experience with the noise from the constructions. We know that when most of the ground work was going on, it was noisy, and we truly apologize for that disturbance. At the moment the Reykjavik Marina is undergoing an extensive enlargement and unfortunately that can be disturbing for our guests.

Now, most of the ground work, which has been causing most of the noise, is completed, so there will be much less noise and disturbance from now on, but 60 new rooms will open in a new building in spring 2015.

Our best,
Erla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was a very disappointing stay. We booked 6 nights and only stayed 1. The location is not good. Hotels are much better in the city center. This is not a good value for the money. Very expensive and like a poor college dorm. We moved to a beautiful brand new hotel in the city center and saved over $100 per night. We would say that this hotel needs a big renovation. The ceiling is gross and there are wires hanging from the ceiling. The only thing that this hotel is good for is the breakfast

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SandG12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Booked our final night in iceland here as a splurge after a week of camper van living. Was recommended here from a friend. Quite pricey, maybe $300usd, but thought a nice last night was worth it. We got one of the rooms overlooking the marina with a little balcony. The rooms are quite small, to be expected, but barely enough room to move around and sort our luggage. It is very cute, nicely decorated, and the view over the harbor is excellent.

A few things: literally right next door on the west side of the hotel is a giant construction site, and the banging of rock digging was awful. As we were not spending any time in the room it was ok, but if you are there more than one night or want to spend any time at all between 11-7 make sure you get a room as far away from that side as possible.

Also, the bathroom is cute but poorly designed. It is just a shower stall with a toilet and sink. They should have a little lip to keep the shower water from going all over the floor. And a little shelf inside the shower would be so easy and so helpful to place your shampoo etc while you are in there.

The bed was very comfortable, but there were two twin sized blankets instead of one that covers the whole bed. Not great for snuggling under the cover.

The best part of this hotel is the downstairs main floor which is beautiful and has several sitting areas.

We heard the restaurant is quite good but the kitchen closes at 10pm and we were out on a whale watching your until past 10.

Overall, the staff was very friendly and helpful and the location is great, but beware the ongoing construction and maybe best to stay elsewhere and go for dinner or a drink instead.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reebs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear traveler,
thank you so much for your nice review. We thank you for mentioning the best part of the hotel as our friendly staff and nice bar and restaurant area. It sure is true that our restaurant is good, and we are known for our great cocktails! And may we say that we are so happy that you slept well in our beds despite two covers and that you could enjoy the view over the marina.

We are sincerely sorry about your experience with the noise from the constructions. At the moment the Reykjavik Marina is undergoing an extensive enlargement and unfortunately that can be disturbing for our guests. Now, most of the ground work, which has been causing most of the noise, is completed, so there will be much less noise and disturbance from now on, but 60 new rooms will open in a new building in spring 2015.
We hope to see you again,
Erla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salvaterra de Magos, Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

The location is quite unsual...it is not a marina but actually a dock, the old port of the city. The rooms are confortable with a modern decor. In every detail we can find the nordic design and peculiar sense of humour. Very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Gulf Coast, Florida
Level Contributor
187 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

The reason to book this hotel while visiting Reykjavik is for its location in the Old Harbor area. It is very close to many restaurants and a short distance to City Center. It is just an interesting and quirky spot, and a starting point for many good walks.
We ate at the breakfast buffet each morning-an additional charge. Although the self-serve buffet was essentially the same spread each day, we enjoyed it-fruits, breads, cheeses, skyr, cold cuts,porridge, coffee ,juices, salad, potatoes, omelet and breakfast dessert bars!
Now up to our single rooms on 2. Picture a very, very small, and very clean, dorm room with a window, no closet, and a one room bath behind a slider. The bed was covered with a duvet, which did not stay put on me! There were hooks and hangers and cubbies (cubicles). There was a stool next to a very small desk. and a tray table that slid over the bed. The big Phillips TV was a treat,providing an amazing variety of UK, Iceland, German, Russian, French, Japanese programming.. I quite enjoyed the tv since night never fell! Now into the Bath, which flooded daily because the shower was just the other end of the bath room! The overhead shower and the hand held were quite deluxe, but, alas, there was no soap dish! I had to do a balancing act each morning, reaching and replacing the soap and facewash and washcloth on the sink ledge, while standing under the shower! A very nice liquid hand soap, a shampoo dispenser, kleenex and a hair dryer were provided.I brought my own bar soap. Room was quiet some nights, and noisy with thumps on others. Large suitcase had to balance on narrow shelf-problematic when packing! Despite all the water in the bathroom and the constant rain, the rooms smelled fresh and wet clothes dried overnight.

Room Tip: Single rooms are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TripInsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

The Icelandair Reykjavik Marina Hotel was, for us, a fittingly upmarket place to end an energetic holiday of Icelandic hiking. Its arty retro-modern industrial look in the reception and bar areas provide a warm contrast to the clean, crisp white of the rooms which overlook the working harbour and the hills beyond Reykjavik.

The hotel is extremely well situated in relation to the main shopping and eating streets of Reykjavik, while its location beside the harbor allows it a less claustrophobic city air. The Volcano House, Saga Museum and Viking Museum are only a block or two away. The hotel bar and restaurant is popular with trendy locals and tourists alike, but the music carries upstairs, so better to join them than to try to avoid the noise if your visit coincides with a weekend night. The menu is brief but excellent and the gourmet flatbreads highly recommended.

Our room was sufficiently spacious to accommodate two very large duffels and peripheral bags and backpacks without blocking all the floor space and the abundant plug points meant that almost every electronic gadget could be charged simultaneously. Our attic room did have one major design flaw though: the en suite bathroom is separated from the bedroom by a piece of semi-opaque frosted glass, and the toilet is less than a metre from the bed, making ablutions a rather exposed affair. While this may be acceptable in some cultures, it presents a distasteful situation in ours, and on several occasions I opted to use the facilities in the restaurant downstairs.

Breakfast was sumptuous, particularly after the meagre morning offerings of some of the country hotels we stayed at. Sadly though, and it seems to be a country-wide problem, the small coffee cups meant continual trips to the counter for refills.

Those travelling in hired cars should be aware that the hotel has no parking and that cars must be parked a short distance away adjacent to a construction site (for no charge). Bags can be dropped off in reception first though.

All in all, a very good experience. I would defnitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Attic rooms have balconies and lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#16 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,165 reviews
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#2 of 59 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 893 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#7 of 59 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Black Pearl - Reykjavik Finest Apartments
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 59 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing