We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Certificate of Excellence
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel is good & it's located close to the airport. It is a walking distance to the marina & the hotel staff are nice. The food choices in the hotel restaurant is sparse & the breakfast is just average.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    964
    751
    157
    47
    32
See reviews for
313
1,008
114
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Level Contributor
63 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had pre- booked one night at this hotel as a treat after a 2 day South Coast Tour. Because we actually saw the Northern Lights on our return journey we arrived at the Hotel about 1am. Saturday night reception were friendly but we were disappointed that there was no facility, except for a vending machine, for a beverage and snack. "The bar was just closing". It was disappointing to wake next morning to see the view that we had paid extra for was a rusty old ship that was almost parked on our verandah - don't waste your money expecting to see any water views! The hotel decor is interesting and quirky but you can experience all of this on the ground floor as a restaurant visitor. Translucent bathroom walls partition the shower and toilet off the bedroom. We had the Sunday buffet breakfast. Although we arrived half an hour before finishing time, the buffet was not restocked. Therefore, I would recommend that you make a selection of ALL foods that you might like in the next hour. There were no cakes or pastries left and the fruit was very diminished - when I asked about this I was told the kitchen was closed and the staff had finished. Another recommendation is to ensure that Reception submits your name when booking the shuttle transport for the airport. We waited nearly an hour for this confusion to be sorted out ! We had stayed 3 nights at another small city centre boutique hotel for half the cost per night before our South Coast Tour so our expectations were very high for this "waterfront" location and "brand name" hotel. Unfortunately, they were not met. We had a wonderful 6 night stop over in Iceland though and these "issues" did not spoil our experience !

Room Tip: Do not waste your money on a double attic PLUS room if you are hoping for a water view as opposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear travelers,
thank you for your review, we really appreciate hearing what we can do better! The attic rooms do display a nice view over the ocean and Mt. Esja, but of course you can see the slipway and the ships as well, we are truly sorry that you didn´t enjoy that. The slipway and the marina is what we like to link ourselves to, considering the location of the hotel by the old harbor.
We´re glad you enjoyed Iceland that much and hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Reykjavik Marina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Sask.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

- Location.
Right on the Marina.
Whale watching tours half block away.
Bike Rental half block away.
At least a dozen great restaurants, including the Slipbarrin (which is located in the hotel), within walking distance.
Harpa (the concert facility) and downtown within a 10 minute walk.

- Rooms
This is a room that is of specific taste. Of all the hotels I’ve been to, I love this one the most.

Size - the rooms may be small for some
Clean and simple. You’d be hard-pressed to find a speck of dust.
View - we had the view of the Marina and shipyard. Some may not find the shipyard appealing but we actually quite liked it.
Quiet - Could not hear any noise coming internally from other rooms and/or hallways. Even with a band playing in the lobby on a Thursday evening, we didn’t hear them from our third floor room which was located immediately above the stage.
Bathroom - some may find this awkward. Two opaque doors that close at the corner. However, the doors don’t close all the way so you’ll have about a half inch opening. It doesn’t leave much privacy.
Closets and Drawers - everything is in the open, shelves replaces drawers and an open closet.

- Food
Breakfast Buffet (may or may not be complimentary, depending upon what you booked with the hotel). A great assortment of the Icelandic faire. You will get the best fish, breads, fruit, yogurt, Illy coffee, teas, juices, cereals, vegetables, cold cuts, salads, cheese and boiled eggs.
Canteen - available 24 hours. It has great selection of drinks, coffees, sandwiches, yogurt, chocolate bars, etc.
The Slipbarrin is a popular restaurant. On the weekends, the hotel sets up the lobby area as a bar. If you like a good time, this would be your place.

- WiFi
The hotel provides complimentary daily WiFi, you would have to do a quick signin everyday to receive this. The speed was excellent. I only had an issue on the last day. After I signed in, it kept asking me to sign in again even though it clearly showed that I had over 23 hours left.

- Staff
Friendly and helpful. We had originally booked a night at the Icelandair Hotel Herad in Egilsstadir. The last minute, we changed our minds and decided driving to the other side of the island was going to be too long. Unfortunately, our last minute decision was past the cancellation time. I asked the desk clerk if she could contact the hotel and see if they would be willing to make an exception and cancel the reservation for us since it was the same hotel chain. Within half hour I got the cancellation confirmation by email. This was a $270.00 saving for us.


I love the interior decor of the whole hotel. It had great character. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProsaicTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi ProsaicTraveller!
Thank you for your visit and incredible feedback. We are so happy you were here glad you liked your stay - and rate your room as your favorite! Thanks for taking the time to write and give us your amazing feedback, we really appreciate it.

Our best!
The staff of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2014

Trendy, cool decor and atmosphere. Rooms (but not windows!) clean and functional and view interesting (so long as as you have harbourside rooms find a large boat in refurbishment interesting) but lacking beverage making facilities. No bath, which is a shame in this land of virtually free hot water. Large TV in room, but poor signal meant picture kept freezing. Staff mainly very friendly and helpful with the odd exception (rather up himself young man in the bar). Location is a little out of the very centre, but it's only a 5-10 minute walk and means one is away from the night-time mayhem of Laugavegur.

Good breakfast buffet selection with cheery staff in attendance.

I would definitely stay again, and with a few tweaks could be outstanding.

Room Tip: Harbour side and floors 3 and 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevgti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trausti K, Public Relations Manager at Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Hi trevgti!
Thanks for pointing out those things that could obviously be better and fixed, we´ll work on that! We´re so glad you liked your stay with us and thanks for your positive feedback.

Until next time,
Staff of Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights recently and can thoroughly recommend this hotel. Yes the rooms are a bit small and the bathroom is partitioned off the main bedroom but don't let that put you off. The staff at breakfast, at the reception desk and in the bar were all really friendly and helpful. Even though the bar was busy the staff would find us a wee table and the reception staff checked the details of our trip and flybus pick up times and also booked us taxis. The decor is lovely and the bed was comfy too. The breakfast was delicious and set us up for the day. If i am lucky enough to return to Reykjavik I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazh64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in April. Good location near the old harbour and easy walking distance to everything (Reykjavik is quite small!). Every night we popped down for happy hour cocktails between 4 and 6pm- probably some of the best we’ve ever had. Also loved the buffet breakfast which had a great choice of hot and cold food – blueberry skyr, granola and the fresh bread were our favourite things. Our last day involved an early start before breakfast opened, but we were able to grab a sandwich, skyr, coffee and juice from the lobby area which was handy. The room itself (standard double) was functional for our needs, was a decent size and was light and airy. Only slight niggles were that there was a bit of noise from the street outside and the blinds let a bit too much light in, but generally we slept well as the bed was very comfortable. Overall it was good value for money and would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

We just returned to Texas from a great visit to Iceland. The room was perfect. We didn't have any problems with the size of the room or bathroom. We could hear the cars driving by outside but it did not bother us. We were walking distance to everything we needed. The breakfast was great. Was really nice to have that included. All of the staff were wonderful. Hrefna Sif at the reservation desk was very helpful. She helped with our tours and helped locate a store I was searching for. She even called the store to see if they had what I was looking for. She saved us a cab ride across town because it was out of stock. We would stay here again. Hopefully we will be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kkpookey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reykjavik hotels
Reykjavik Residence Hotel
#1 of 52 in Reykjavik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hilton Reykjavik Nordica
#15 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,485 reviews
Alda Hotel Reykjavik
#6 of 52 in Reykjavik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Miõborg
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Natura
Miõborg
Skuggi Hotel by Keahotels
Miõborg
Reykjavik4you Apartments Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina

Property: Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina
Address: Myrargata 2, Reykjavik 101, Iceland
Phone Number:
Location: Iceland > Capital Region > Reykjavik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 Hotels in Reykjavik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina, steps from downtown Reykjavik, is situated in a completely renovated four-story building that has become a landmark among local residents. It is located next to the historical, and still fully functioning, dry-dock called Slippur. With an emphasis on blending the dynamic, creative atmosphere of this rapidly developing district with the country's strong fishing traditions, the Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina offers everyone the opportunity to see and experience the capital at its most creative and colorful. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Icelandair Hotel Reykjavik Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing